The struggles of being a Leftie

13 23
Avatar for Mayiee
Written by
2 years ago

August 13, 2021 is the " Left Handers Day" or the day for the lefties or left-handed person. I belong to the 10-12% left-handed in the world. Honestly speaking, sometimes I'm so annoyed for being a left-handed person because most of the things was designed for the right-handed person and it is very difficult for us to used such things. Or maybe ,I'm the only one who experiencing that. But on the other side, some of the people also believes that lefties are artistic, smart and your hand-writing is good. Some of the successful persons are left handers like Isaac Newton, Albert Einstein, Bill Gates, Justin Bieber, Oprah Winfrey and even Manny Pacquiao. I know that they are well-known on their chosen path. But it's totally opposite for me haha. Even I understand the lessons and situation, I didn't consider myself as a smart one and actually appreciate arts but my hands don't want to cooperate to be an artistic one. Lol 😂So maybe I'm the only exception on that matter.

Since I was the only left-handed on our family, it's very complicated to me. I remember that my mother has a hard time teaching me how to write because we have an opposite hands to used. So, she end up creating patterns and it become my guide in learning how to write. My mother also told me that I asked her before if I am adopted child because I am the only leftie to the family haha. As time passes by, I learn how to adjust myself.

So go back to the my title, as a Leftie, I've so many struggles in my life. Here are some of those stuffs.

Source: Futury.org

The Writing Desk

Since I went to school, it is one of the biggest struggle for me as a left-handed person. I can't write properly because it is really designated for the right-handed person. Then the chair is too small, so I had a hard time how to manage that thing. I can't rest my elbow too because it is on the opposite side. Sometimes my classmates thought that I was covering my answers to them haha.

Space when eating

So like what I've said earlier, I was the only leftie in our family so it's so difficult to me when we are eating because I need a some space to eat properly. Now , I'm living with my grandma and we are 11 members and the dining table is too small for us , so I've always eat on the living room or sometimes I insist myself to sit on the left side of the table.

Image from Shutterstock

Spiral Notes

I only used spiral notebook once and it's very annoying for me. I know that every lefties can relate to this. The spring is so painful every time I write something to it. So instead of using that kind of notebook, I much prefer to used the normal notebook or binder.

Ballpen in the Registrar

I remember when I enrolled myself and we need to fill up some information in the Registrar. I found a hard time to used the ballpen there because it is for right-handed person. And because of this, I broke the string that is attached on the ballpen. I need to adjust myself in order to write properly.And almost all of the ballpen in the establishment is also attached like that.

Cutting Objects

Using a scissor is also one of the most struggles for me. Every time that I need to cut something, I end to cut them wrong especially when I need to cut them straight. I don't know but I can't cut the objects using my right hand and I've been struggling using my left hand. So sometimes, I let my friend or my sister to cut something for me.

_______________________

Final Thought

Happy Left-Handers Days to my fellow lefties. Left handed person is uniquely amazing on their own ways. Maybe we've faced some struggles as being a leftie but we had also some advantages on being that. I also realize that sometimes it doesn't matter if you are a left-handed or right-handed because both of them experiencing some struggles and it is basically depend on us on how we handle that situation. On some point, I can say that even sometimes I am annoyed on being leftie, I can also say that it is actually good because some people recognize me for being that. Even you are leftie or not, we should treat each other fairly because all the things that a right-handed can do ,can also do by the lefties especially when you are determined to do so. I'm proud to be a Leftie at least Di ako marunong mangaliwa hahaha.

7
$ 6.63
$ 6.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @dziefem
$ 0.03 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
+ 1
Sponsors of Mayiee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mayiee
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I have a tita that can write both left and right. I don't know kung ano tawag sa ganun.. Pero halos lahat ng nakilala ko na leftie eh magaganda ang sulat..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ambidextrous person po tawag dun. Sabi po Nila na maganda daw po Yung sukat ko pero when it comes to arts talaga Hindi hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay lang yan, at least maganda sulat.. Hahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gusto ko maging left handed , apaka creative ng mga taong left handed ha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha ang saklap hindi ako kabilang dun sa creative na leftie 😅🤦

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayyy nakooo di ako naniniwala 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same kayo ng bestfriend ko, left-handed din siya. At yan din mga naging problema niya. Pahirapan sa pagsulat sa spiral na notebook tapos lagi nakakapagtamaan ng siko. Kaya minsan sa while writing on a desk is nag aadjust nalang siya, tumatagilid o kaya minsan magbibigay nalang ng konting space yung katabi para hindi mag-abot. Well, sanay naman na siya sa ganong set-up.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yung bestfriend ko left-handed but kasama ako sa struggles nya. Yung table ko, hati kami para di sya mahirapan sa pagsulat. Hahhaha, pero good thing medyo kaya nya rin magsulat sa right

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I am also left-handed and I am happy to know that I am one of those 10-12% that are left handed. I thought there are many left handed like us. I can most of the actions using my left hand but I can do certain things using my right hand just like playing guitar.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ohh that's great that you are able to play guitar using your right hand because I also try to learn playing guitar before but it's so hard for me because I still used my left hand

$ 0.00
2 years ago

both kaya ko magsulat, pero more onright talagaako xd

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Luhh ang astig naman nun kaya mo pareho, ako Kase halos lahat Ng bagay, left hand talaga ginagamit

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's very strange that humans have developed right-handedness and left-handedness. This is unique for humans, as far as I know. Neither Chimpanzees nor gorillas have "handedness" at all. Right or left doesn't matter.

$ 0.00
2 years ago