The Loss Series : Is Technology Your Friend?

11 30
Avatar for Maxline
2 years ago

Hey guys! Happy second day of the month. I know I sound weird right now cos nobody says that but don't you think everyday is worth celebrating? I think so though. I mean why should only the first day of a new month be celebrated? I don't know about you but I will celebrate everyday like its October 1st.

How has your day been? Hope it's going great? Well the sun shining at my end is so hot right now that the beads of sweat running down my face would be enough to fill up a swimming pool. Well, you must have guessed right there is no light and of all days to have a hot weather, it has to be today. I'm presently out of my hostel to look for a place to charge. I don't know about you but I'd be bored to death without my phone. Well what can I say, I'm grateful.

Thinking about how boring my day has been with my phone dead and how distraught I've been, made me wonder how addicted this generation is with their gadgets. I'm sure you reading this right now cannot stay a day without your phone, laptop or any other gadget you're used to operating on a steady. As I spent time thinking about this, i started to see a lot of things I didn't see before that I'm afraid to say are negative.

negative really?

Yes you heard me right negative and I can't help but put the blame on technology. Now I know you are asking, what harm has technology done? I know it has its great perks, i mean I'm only able to do this now because of an advancement in tech. But I really want to show you the effects it has, had on the family and the immediate society.

Family and tech.

Lemme tell you a short story. I was home one day in the living room and my younger sis was downstairs with her friends gisting and doing all their girl chitchat. My mom needed to send her on an errand and asked me to call her. Guess what I did? I brought out my phone and literally dialed her number on my phone.

I know some of you might say it was stress free but I'm guessing you don't see how much physical conversation this so called advancement in tech has introduced into the family certain. Parents and their children under the same roof now hold family meetings on social media platforms. Siblings in the sitting room abandoning each other and chatting with other friends abroad and wherever they may be without saying a word to each other.

Look at the family certain of old, how kids gather around an elder to listen to tales and stories, how they play together under the moon, singing and clapping their hands, how they converse together and you can literally fill the love and true bond in the air.

In most families these days, its easy to be in a house with your siblings and know nothing about their daily activities or what they are going through. That's because everyone is busy with their phones, headsets, laptops and many more inventions, all thanks to technological advancement.

A busy mother feels okay to pacify her bored child with her phone instead of sparing time to play with the child. A father would deliberately buy their child an ipad to keep the child occupied because he has no time for the busy child. And said children grow up and do same, enacting an endless chain of technological dependency.

Tech and society

People live in the same locality and not know each other. They are all too busy to make physical friends and have cordial relationships with each other. Complaints and congratulatory messages are sent through the mail, parent-teacher complaints are sent through non physical means and so on and so forth.

The church is somehow not left out from all these occurrences. People now stay at home and hold their services with whatsoever means that they have within their disposal. What I actually find funny about this is how people conveniently call it a service while they are probably cooking and doing church at the same time. Imagine we all did this? Sounds weird right?

In all this we all see only the sweet and beautiful aspects in tech growth like access to the net, better and evolved communication and information circulation. We forget the bad exposure kids get from said tech advancements, the internet dependency and more.

I believe more time should be invested in physical communication and even more in family relationship outside the realms of technology.

4
$ 0.14
$ 0.05 from @Xzeon
$ 0.03 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.03 from @Ling01
+ 2
Sponsors of Maxline
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Maxline
2 years ago

Comments

You speak the truths here. Those things happen during these tech era and it's quite alarming because we are indeed connected with technology but disconnected from physical interaction.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It gets so bad, people actually lose the ability to hold conversations for a few minutes

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had this same kind of topic on my draft yet... I understand what you are pointing out. Most people are letting the gadgets separates them from their loveones even inside their homes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a pandemic in itself

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Technology is my bestfriend, but if we really don't know how to manage it then it became out worst enemy. I even chat my younger brother when he is in the next room, just to send funny videos :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The ability to create a balance between using our gadgets and still having a good communication skull is not so easy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything that has an advantage also has a disadvantage, it's just about how we use it to create a balance in our life. Technology is neither friend nor foe, it all depends on the person that is using it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very true. But people tend to let themselves get carried away

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People like me 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Surprisingly I'm guilty of spending so much time with around people and not talking to them. Pressing my phone just seems to be easier. Now you've mentioned I'll try to engage more

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everyone should learn to become better at physical communication

$ 0.00
2 years ago