You Need A Garden Inside Your Compound

21 102
Avatar for Maxdevalue.BCH
2 years ago

Depending on your environment and location. If you can, please you should have one.

Peppers šŸŒ¶ šŸ«‘ from my home garden

Life is meant to be lived happily, life should be satisfying. But when such statements are made, some people often thinks itā€™s all about money and wealth. Is money and wealth not okay? Theyā€™re absolutely okay, but happiness and a fulfilled life can still be achieved in many other ways. I will tell you how.

Long time ago during my full time in my accounting career, I heard a statement that I took to the bank, but today, Iā€™ll share it with you; but please keep it safe somewhere in your heart. ā€œA man is not rich by turning his LEDGER, but by the richness of his heartā€.

I cherished this statement during those days that it propelled me to explore life in a more realistic way than venturing into mirage and fantasies.

I love nature a great deal that I determined to work with nature more than I worked with my boss at the office. I admired becoming a successful farmer one day; which makes me to uphold farmers to a higher esteem.

During those days, as bachelor, I was living in self-contained apartment; not having the opportunity to express my life the way I wanted. Nevertheless, I utilized the little opportunity that I had to communicate with nature through gardening.

Gardening could happen even in flower pots

I used to plant šŸŖ“ in ceramics and in flower pots; placing them at the corridor of my apartment. I used to plant carrots šŸ„•, ginger, turmeric, pepper etc. but right then, it burned in me to have a place where I could express my lifestyle in a more better way. So I needed an enabling environment.

I left the city šŸŒ† for those that itā€™s meant for, and went into a nearby community; in search of a more fulfilled life. Donā€™t get me wrong; living in the city is fabulous, but that doesnā€™t equate to fulfillment. Life is a choice that should be respected. Choice could be said to be relative; my choice is to work both in the city and in a community setting, but I prefer to live in a community setting.

At my new environment, I finds it more fun in that it is an enabling environment where my life can thrive; in respect to how Iā€™ve decided to create my own paradise of happiness and a fulfilling life through nature.

I started by raising some mini gardens around my house which many of my friends here have also witnessed.

My house garden

You could also see a window from the picture, thatā€™s to tell you how close that I am with nature and my home garden. Though a farmer, but I do not travel far to my farm lands to gather for vegetables and other necessities each time that my family needs such.

I have almost every of our choice vegetables, seedlings and herbs šŸŒæ around us. Oh, maybe I could even show you some of the plants right away.

Please note that pictures used in my articles are always original, from me, and truly snapped for the purpose of the article in question. You can use any; as long as itā€™s being used for good.

Tomatoes šŸ… plant

This species is gotten from Jos; Plateau State, Nigeria. Thatā€™s where the best species of tomatoes emanates from and goes to many farmers market in the country. So, I have this tomato plant in my home garden which supplies the family with enough fresh tomatoes at a go.

This particular one is tender and has not gone through much pruning. Pruning is a process of removing unwanted suckers off the stem to enable a concentrated and a healthy growth taking effect on the choosing suckers.

Maybe we can discuss these plants one by one later in my subsequent articles.

Cucumber šŸ„’ plant also available in my home garden

Another nutritious fruit that is obtainable from my garden is cucumber šŸ„’. Just like you can see from the picture, I have this noble plant in my garden; allowing them to climb my little fence, while others beautifies the environment. Flowers on the stem is an indication that itā€™s about to produce an edible fruit known as cucumber fruit.

Fresh English peppers from my home garden

Iā€™m not a vegetarian, but I always feels like one. As man with a family of 5, + relations and neighbors who counts on me for some of their daily bread, I tries as much as possible to have these vegetables, fruits and herbs šŸŒæ in a good quantity always.

In my house, we have freezers, but we seldom use them to store cooked food; reason isnā€™t far fetched; we eat fresh foods more often, and we do not store cooked food on freezers except for few uncooked proteins (like frozen chicken).

Potatoes šŸ„” are also obtainable from my home garden

This year, I was so surprised to see giant sweet potatoes being harvested from my garden. I have both Irish and Sweet potatoes in my home garden which makes it possible to get a quicker breakfast for kids. Sweet potato is a root plant; itā€™s very easy to plant, and it produces within a short period of time.

I got these species from one of my good neighbors when I came newly to this community.

Why herbs also?

Kalanchoe piƱatas

The miracle leaf šŸƒ (Kalanchoe Pinnatas)

Most parts of Africa is known for their ability in utilizing herbs for healing. As you may know, itā€™s always safer to treat with Natural Medicines, than those chemicals from laboratories.

This magic herbs was originally found in Madagascar šŸ‡²šŸ‡¬ many years ago, but has circulated around tropicals and rain forest of Africa. This herbs is a jewel of inestimable value, in that itā€™s used to remedy many illnesses which may form a whole article if we should venture into its usefulness. Iā€™ll try as much as possible to write about this miracle leaf in one of my articles.

So, I have this natural medicine in my garden which helps my family and my neighbors in remedying many health challenges.

Congratulations for being motivated

I know that by now, you may have found one reason why you should also have a garden close to you. For a healthy lifestyle, itā€™s recommended to take fruits, vegetables, and a good quantity of potable water per day, but this demand could be scarce and wealth consuming if you should spend money on buying them daily. So trying to cultivate and to tend for your own gardening could be a plus to a healthy and a happy living for you.


Time is not at my side as I wish not to make this article a very long read. But I assure you, Iā€™ll write about how to get started in raising a gardening without spending much money on seedlings, manure and water

Conclusion

Dare my gardening instincts if you can, and thank me later. Nature is lovely and itā€™s awesome that weā€™re part of it.

Iā€™ve found a great measure of happiness, joy, peace, and fulfillment in these little things that some may not appreciate; and my joy is complete as Iā€™ve shared it with you.

Thanks for reading.

11
$ 27.02
$ 23.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 2.00 from @emergent_reasons
$ 1.11 from @Telesfor
+ 4
Sponsors of Maxdevalue.BCH
empty
empty
Avatar for Maxdevalue.BCH
2 years ago

Comments

Wowww what a wonderful garden you have. I loved sweet potatoes, a lot. Farmers are one of our heroes here in the Philippines. But peppers is quite expensive here but you plant it also in your house and thats great šŸ‘.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly. Thanks to the pandemic more people have realized such. Even in the city we should have some vegetables planted nearby.

Tomato is one of my favorite food! Haven't tried growing it though as it grows quite tall haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Esta prƔctica ahora mismo en Cuba paƭs donde vivo tiene mucho Auge devido al deficis de alimentos que tenemos en este momento. Gracias a la jardinerƭa y sus producciones muchas familias pueden comer. Feliz noche te deseo y sigue asi con estas siembras que Hasen bien. Te deseo lo mejor de este mundo salud y prosperidad para ti y tu familia besos y abrazos desde Cuba.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Muchas gracias por venir amigo. El hambre y la escasez de alimentos son comunes en muchos paĆ­ses del mundo en este momento. Solo la jardinerĆ­a y la agricultura familiar pueden remediar la situaciĆ³n. QuĆ©date bien y extiende mi amor a tu ser querido en Cuba.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is one of the most beautiful hobbies. So at least for me. Raising fish in the aquarium, angling and gardening and growing things. My garden has been a bit delayed due to work, but I want to make a place to eat with new arrangements next spring. Right now I just have to get through the winter. It was a nice effort and arrangement for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Iā€™m making plans for fish farming, do you have enough information on fish farming?

Thanks for coming around, and thanks for those encouraging words.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If what you mean by raising fish is an average 500 liter aquarium, yes, I have enough knowledge. I have 3 aquariums between 200 liters and 500 liters.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for fast reply

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here in Venezuela, we call Kalanchoe Pinnatas Liberator. The diversity of plants that you plant in your home garden is impressive. I wonder if you grew potatoes, and I would love a post about it. I have mostly decorative plants and trees at home. I loved your post, greetings!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I have potatoes, those ones in the article came from my garden. I have other plots of land filled with potatoes

Thanks for coming around

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't have a lot of space in my garden, could you make an article for growing potatoes in small spaces?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You could do much with just a little space.

Iā€™ll find time to discuss about potatoes šŸ„” and it plantation.

Thanks for reading through. Happy 2022

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy New Year! :D Okay, thank you very much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is really good reading your article... You have many experience. Reading your article always encourage mešŸ™‹šŸ»ā€ā™‚ļø

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for your understanding. Iā€™m glad that my articles helps.

Stay safe friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome my good friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Enjoyed reading about your garden. I didn't know you used to live in the city!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks @emergent_reasons for coming around. Iā€™m glad that youā€™re able to know more about my life through this article

Thanks for being a wonderful person.

I appreciate your support to me, to this community, and to the world at large.

Meanwhile, do you have a garden?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May the Good lord continue to bless your effort brother. You are indeed doing so great here and i pray you continue to do so even till the end of time. Moreover, the freshness of those tomatoe seeds in your palm shows how much of a wonderful agriculturist you are

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I derive so much joy in those simple and natural adventures.

Thanks Sammy1 for coming around.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you too sir. I'm loyalšŸ˜Š

$ 0.00
2 years ago