I wouldn’t want to spend much on things that I can produce locally.

5 63
Avatar for Maxdevalue.BCH
3 years ago

Sisal Fiber is being imported in Nigeria while we can cultivate it!

Learning they say is continual. I didn’t know the content of POP ceiling until recently that I applied it at my new structure.

It’s made from Molding Plaster and Sisal  Fibers 


Lockdown has made everything especially the imported materials to be scarce and to rise significantly in price.


A bag of white cement that sold for $10 per bag/45kg is now at $19 for a 45kg/bag, while Sisal fiber that sold at $1 per kg is now $7 per kg.


This ugly increase in price made me to start asking myself questions and went on little research on how this Sisal fiber is made because I noticed that it’s from a natural plant.


I did little research on how this fiber is made from a plant, and the country that it’s coming from. It’s amazing to understand that that these Sisal plants can grow in my farm. I also found out that it’s planted in Kenya 🇰🇪 in Africa, and other parts of the world.

Google image

It then means that it can grown in Nigeria too. My only concern is the long period of time that it takes before it can be harvested which is roughly 3 years.

I’m not good in spending money on what I can produce!

But I cannot plant these plants and wait for 3 years before I could use them, nevertheless, I may try cultivating them for future uses.

Pop ceiling is just a mixture of white cement and this Sisal fiber from Sisal plant. But the outcome is beautiful and eco friendly.

Pop will help absorb heat from the rooftops

This is the outcome of the pop ceiling on my structure.

Even though that pop ceiling which is a combination of cement and fiber looks beautiful in homes, but the main reason why It applied in Africa homes is because it helps in heat management in Africa. The sun is too harsh in Africa, and this kind of ceiling helps in absorbing the heat and the hotness from the roof.

Pop ceiling at my new structure

If could have my way, I wouldn’t want to continue spending money on Sisal fiber since it’s something that I can raise at my farm land. I may try cultivating it for export.

During the pop making, my workers demanded for a scaffold that will enable then work at high heights of the building. They expected that I should hire steel scaffolds; not knowing that I don’t waste resources that way.

I went to the forest and cut enough bamboo trees which i used to build strong scaffold for them.

My locally made scaffold

Isn’t that interesting? I want to spend my lifetime learning and teaching others on how to solve problems without necessary spending too much money.

My life is already built on this method and it’s helping me and my family a whole lot. Living in an environment where economy is hard. I’ll live to simplify my life and that of people around me.

I’ve learnt to be humble in life, and I strive to become better each day.

This structure has taken me more than 2 years to come to this level, but to me, it’s doesn’t really matter how long but how well. We’re more like homeless with my children ever since our landlord dismissed us from their apartment because he wanted to use his house for another business apart from leasing it out for tenancy.

I and my wife decided to take up this projet even without money at hand. We gradually process it to this level. It is challenge that has a lots of motivation in it. Soon we may finally break that yoke of house rents which is not friendly in Nigeria.

I hope to see other poor farmers around me who are homeless coming up with a courage to start something small without looking at financial their ledger.

Thanks!

5
$ 103.74
$ 100.00 from @MarcDeMesel
$ 1.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.11 from @Telesfor
+ 1
Sponsors of Maxdevalue.BCH
empty
empty
Avatar for Maxdevalue.BCH
3 years ago

Comments

Good luck.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Interesting. I wonder if you cannot use something else instead. The increased price is ridiculous but watch my words more raises will come our way.

Good post. 👍🍀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I believe your words.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good luck.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks friend.

$ 0.00
3 years ago