How to help your seedlings stay healthy and productive through vertical mulching

8 25
Avatar for Maxdevalue.BCH
3 years ago

See how Vertical Mulching and watering helped my orange tree.

Welcome to my blog page friend. How was your own activities of the day?

Mine was exciting because I continued from where I stopped yesterday. 

Let me quickly show you this orange tree at my compound. This is the third update that I’m bringing to you here on my blog; the first was when I purchased it 5 months ago. The second update was when I wrote on how it survive hard times that made me think that I’ve lost it.

It later survived the scourging dryness and became happy again. I bought this orange tree from a friend who is into permaculture, I adopted with $5.

My friend assured me that I’ll eat from the orange tree this same year. I’m glad to see that he wasn’t hyping anything then. The orange is drawing my neighbors attention considering it’s tender age but yet producing fruits already.


Help your seedlings with Vertical Mulching.

I helped my orange tree to survive dryness during the unusual August-brake through applying what is known as vertical mulching with biochar and chicken compost.

Vertical mulching is a process of digging holes around seedlings, and filling of those holes with biochar and fertilizers.

To understand the process of vertical mulching, you may want to view this little YouTube video on vertical mulching.

https://youtu.be/MxYcwiOXI-8


Thanks for reading through. I hope you’ve gained some insight from my activities somewhere in Africa. If not for anything, you’ve seen how you can help a dying plant revive through vertical mulching and watering.

I’m still your friend Max.

12
$ 0.61
$ 0.53 from @Telesfor
$ 0.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @wakeupkitty
Sponsors of Maxdevalue.BCH
empty
empty
Avatar for Maxdevalue.BCH
3 years ago

Comments

Am happy you shared this, I just added it to my bank of knowledge, I am agricultural student. In some cases we also call this method irrigation which is the application of water, but here you added compost and others. I will try and watch the video so as to have a broad and physical knowledge and experience about it. Am glad you brought topic which focus on my field of study

$ 0.01
3 years ago

This is lovely 😊 I’m to know that you’re an Agric student 👨‍🎓

Vertical mulching is very simple to apply and it helps a lot. I’ll recommend you study about Biochar which I’ll also bring the knowledge here.

I love agriculture because it has much to with nature, simple to understand, and remains the very basic in the issue of life.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And sir, sorry I forgot to ask you, please can you tell me which type of variety the orange is and where you acquired the seedling from. Because from what u can see, its a very good variety.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is a great tip I will keep in mind. Most of my trees died during the past years. I see the same at neighbors. Out of 12 trees 4 survive if lucky. This year is extremely dry plus I had no water for weeks in my well. We hardly had rain since last year. Thanks for the tip. 👍

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Oh, sad to hear. But nevertheless, there’s still hope. I’m glad that my article could help. Please try and apply this method, it will help.

About your well, how deep is it; how many ft down is it?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think it should be 80 meters deep but I wasn't present as they drilled it. The water problem is solved now. Let's hope it won't happen again.

My apple tree has a bad time and one young cherry too. I hope to plant some trees in October. With some luck we have rain plus winter didn't start yet.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I’m happy to hear that the water problem is solved. I myself is planing on solving same water problem; not just for me but for my community at large.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Do you know how to figure out if there is water? I know many their well is only 30 meters deep and they have enough. What you need is a well at the right spot where underneath earth is plenty of water. Just rainwater will not do the trick.

$ 0.00
3 years ago