Things I Wish I Should Have Known Earlier

14 23
Avatar for Marts
Written by
1 year ago

We often say that regrets come later in life. After all the things we have done in the past - whether beneficial or not, it's always the latter part do we realize if we fared good or bad. 

I too have my share of what-ifs and should-haves. But as much as I can, I don't let these things spoil what I can become. I know that no one can turn back the hands of time so we just have to make the most of what we have now. 

However, there are times when I look back and tell myself, "I wish I have known about this earlier!". Here are some of them.

That it's OK to take risks

I wanted to be sure most of the time. Instead of carving my own path, I go where people have already walked. When I was younger, I am not a fan of taking "the road less traveled." I thought since many have tried this path, then it would be safer and easier. 

Yet taking the easy path means shying away from new discoveries and adventures. Plus, like in investing parlance, the higher the risks, the higher the returns. I wonder where would I be now if I took risks in the past? 

To save earlier

I've been hearing about compound interests while I was in college. We even spent a lot of time learning about it in Mathematics of Investment. But I rarely gave a thought about it. Only until when I am paying for my own bills and scurrying for additional sources of income for major life decisions have I realized that I wish I have started saving earlier - and compound interests could be my greatest tool! 

I know young people, as early as high school and college, venturing into investments and financial instruments I haven't given much thought about when I was younger. Generational privileges? Maybe. But good for them. Better days ahead. 

To specialize in my chosen field

It took me long years before I finally embraced my calling. I know in my heart that I wanted to be in the ministry since I was young. But instead of looking ahead in one direction, I made several detours in life. 

I was once a preschool teacher, a BPO employee, and accounting staff. When given a chance to take my theological training, I did not think about taking it continuously. It took me longer than I suppose to. And now that I'm planning to enroll in graduate studies, I look back and realize that I wish I have taken this earlier. I have plenty of time before and I wasted them doing other stuff. 

If you have heard about being a "jack-of-all-trades, master of none," I consider myself one. I wanted to know everything. But I'm wondering what difference it would do if I specialized only on one goal.

To invest in yourself

I consider myself an all-out person. I sacrifice a lot for friends and loved ones. But sometimes, I think there were times when it seemed I neglected myself. I rarely buy clothes and shoes for myself. I wear the same set of shirts (because I'm after comfort than fashion), and seldom buy things for entertainment or pleasure. The only things I buy for myself are books. But when it comes to my family, I give everything I can give. 

Bonus: To invest in Bitcoin

This is a major what-if in life. I learned about Bitcoin during its early days and did not give it much thought. I wonder if I purchased Bitcoins back then? I can only imagine!

7
$ 2.55
$ 2.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @DennMarc
$ 0.02 from @kli4d
+ 3
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

We can always start doing the things we thought we should have done earlier. We should be thankful that we were given a time to realize what we missed. Others don't have that chance.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang pinakamalaking regret ko yung VIS haha. Kunng winithdraw ko siya nung malaki laki oa, siguro matagal na akong may laptop ngayon. Natuto na ako sa mga ganyan honestly

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe sayang nga yun kung may hunch ka na na mag-withdraw tapos di mo pinakinggan! Ipit hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wait, what? Are you going to be a pastor po? Kapag kasi calling mo na po talaga kuya, hindi mo na sya mapipigilan. Ipupursue talaga ng heart mo yon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pwede naman teacher, or sa para-church, but I'm open to the idea ng pastoring :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same here much better to wear the clothes that I am comfortable wearing it that following all the fashion things. I also love giving more to my family rather than to myself as I love making my family happy buy yeah I often forgot myself

$ 0.00
1 year ago

kaso minsan we need to treat ourselves din from time to time. cheers sa mga gaya nating family first!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

cheers sa atin Marts

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I guess this is the sign to finally get out of my comfort zone hahaha. Medyo nagdadalawang isip ako sa course na kukunin ko since wala akong any background don tas nagdadalawang isip din ako sa school na papasukan ko kasi baka mahirapan din ako mag adjust. Pero siguro hindi talaga ako maggrow pag di ko ichachallenge sarili ko hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ay yes! you'll never know unless you try :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Taking risk most times is scary especially when you don't have a clue of what lies ahead.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

that's what makes it scary in the first place, the fear of the unknown :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aww. I can relate to some of them. But what got me was the idea that it is okay to take risks and specialize in my chosen field. I always wanted to take Mass Comm, but I was too afraid to take the risk. It is not yet too late, and I hope I can take some units on this field after I graduate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

it's not too late, you still got plenty of time to pursue what you love :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago