Take Risks and Be a Better Version of Yourself

2 21
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Lesson, Thoughts, Dreams, Success, Blog, ...

I can no longer count the times I took a step of faith, counting all the risk and still give it a go. Sometimes I failed. Sometimes I end up winning. Risk is the bridge between wanting and possessing, between dreaming and making your dreams a reality. But the sum of all those decisions, of winning and losing, is what makes me who I am now.

When I was younger, a fresh graduate from high school, my mother told me that they can no longer support me in college. Though I fully understand where she was coming from, I still felt devastated. I have dreams. I wanted to finish my studies. But we're not financially privileged. My parents are just being realistic with our situation.

Photo Credits: Unsplash.com

So I took a risk. I applied for scholarships and took qualifying exams. If I pass the exam, at least I can go to college. Though I am not as smart and as confident as my classmates, I still pushed my chance. It paid off in the end. I got the scholarship.

But making it to college is only half the battle. I have expenses to meet and projects to finance. I cannot pay my daily sustenance with grades. I have to add an income stream. When I learned about school publication, I applied as a writer with the hopes of getting access to some office amenities: computers, internet, printers, supplies, and office space to spend time with. When I got promoted to an editorial position, I became entitled to a monthly stipend. It became to me as a side gig supporting me with my expenditures. Applying to the school publication was a risk then because I don't have any formal news writing experience, and I don't consider my English grammar skills as excellent. I just wanted to try because I need to.

College was never easy. It was a roller coaster ride. My last year was the most demanding - feasibility studies, tons of research work, and an unreasonable schedule. My monthly stipend no longer meets my need. I have to take risks once again. This time, to add a regular-paying job to my already demanding schedule. After looking for a possible job that accepts students, I landed in a BPO on a graveyard shift. During that time, I'm finishing my senior year, working out my thesis, filling the role of associate to the editor-in-chief, and working as a customer service representative. Thank God, I was able to make it alive.

I wonder how different my life would be if I just accepted the reality presented to me by my mother. Perhaps I need not spend my time thinking about trying to meet both ends and making my schedule work. Perhaps I will be spared from multiple rejections and days when my body failed because of overfatigue. Perhaps I will be more relaxed and comfortable. Or will I?

The risks I took made me who I am now. I can say I am more daring and confident with myself. I am more ready to take on new challenges. I am way better than who I am when my mother brought her bad news. Given a chance, I will again take the same route. It may not be an easy journey, but it was all worth it.

Photo Credits: Unsplash.com

Have I told you that at the end of my grueling years in college - times when I don't have any food to spare for the whole day, times when I have to walk not a few kilometers from home to school and vice versa, times when I all I have are 2 pairs of uniform for my four-year stay in college - that everything paid off in the end? I was able to reward my parents with a Latin honor. Their doubts were rewarded with joy. Their sacrifices were rewarded with parental pride. The son they thought would not be able to go to college has taken them to stage. And this is not because I am good or intelligent or fortunate. It's all because of God's grace working through me as I took risks. I believe it was He who rewarded my faith as a student.

Even until now I still take risks head-on. Sometimes I fail, but with every fall, I become better, stronger, and wiser.

Don't be afraid to take risks. You are setting yourself for success if you do. You'll never know how to swim if you do not plunge into the water.

Read my other blogs:


Hi, I am Marts! I am a writer, and aside from my stint here in read.cash, I also have my own blog - martsvalenzuela.com. I appreciate it if you pay me a visit! I plan on growing my readership as I learn to improve my craft and journey towards my passion to write and publish books that add value to people.

Let's rock! 


4
$ 11.25
$ 11.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.09 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.02 from @charmingcherry08
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Lesson, Thoughts, Dreams, Success, Blog, ...

Comments

Congrats po! But look at you now, you even have your own domain!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago