Limping for Two Weeks Now

14 66
Avatar for Marts
Written by
1 year ago

Two Sundays ago, I wasn't able to attend church because of a gout attack. My right toe got reddish and swollen, and every step I make is painful. Even a simple twitch and minimal movement feel excruciating. It was a nightmare. 

I have been diagnosed with gouty arthritis, I believe for almost a decade now. I know which foods are good for me and which are not. I know my triggers. But somehow, I still eat my trigger foods because - just because.

But as much as possible, I consume my trigger foods in moderation. I seldom eat red meat and organ meat. I even have to let go of my favorite gatang tambakol and sinaing na tulingan. What a sad reality :(

But I had a terrible mistake! I lost track of my beverage intake. I enjoyed C2 and Smart C too much that I forgot that they contain a high amount of fructose which is also a NO-NO. 

And as a result - tudum. Excruciating pain in the last two weeks... and counting. 

I have been limping on my right foot for two weeks now, after more than a year of being "clean." As a result, I wasn't able to bring my wife to the mall, or to the park. Our jogging sessions need to be postponed until my walking gets better. 

These two weeks got me thinking about how I make my food choices. Reflecting upon my ordeal, I learned that:

Your choices have consequences

In my case, I am free to choose which food will I consume. But this freedom to choose doesn't give me the freedom to choose the consequences of my choices. I ate too much of what's not allowed and healthy for me, and I have to suffer the effects. Pleasure now, pain later. That's life. We cannot choose the consequences of our actions. 

Same thing with life in general. You are free to do what you want according to your convictions. Obey or disobey rules, it's up to you. But don't be surprised by the consequences. You reap what you sow. 

Your pain has a purpose

I hate pain. Who doesn't? I hate limping and breaking into tears whenever I twitch my foot. But it serves a purpose, and I'm thankful for it. Pain is an indication that there's something wrong and I have to do something about it. If I feel numb, unable to feel any pain, I may be comfortable but I will never know that I am already deteriorating inside. 

If you've watched Derek and Coleen's movie Ex With Benefits, it was explained how pain plays an important role in our body. 

My pain now is an indication that I have been abusive with myself. I have to work my diet out. It's a painful reminder, I know.  

You'll know the importance of a thing once you lose it

I miss the feeling of being able to eat my favorite foods to my heart's content. I miss bopis, sisig, dinakdakan, and papaitan! But because I have to consider my health and my joints, I have to be careful with what I eat. 

Before this predicament, I eat too much organ meat and drink a lot of high-fructose beverages. YOLO. You Only Live Once. But I forgot about YAGO. You Also Grow Old. And now I have to live with it.

Always do things in moderation. It never fails. Don't be too obsessed with things and people. Have a healthy amount of intake and occasional breaks. Not because you are fond of something does it mean you have to put everything you have on it. Live in moderation. Do things in moderation.

I'm getting better. I can now walk. There's still pain, but at least I can manage to move now. Hopefully, this will be the last gout flare I will have.  

7
$ 2.45
$ 2.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Momentswithmatti
$ 0.01 from @Jijisaur
+ 1
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Too much is not bad they said. Recently I got in a mini accident while working out. Now I am a bit okay now. Hope you get well soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for the well wishes. Ingat Jiji!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well, we know our limits and as we aged we know we have to be more conscious with our health. Just like a friend of mine, she has maintenance meda already but still eat some trigger foods. Though when she almost cannot stand one day, this makes her realize that she really have to take the consequences of her act and better avoid those foods again. Now she is doing fine and did not feel pain anymore because she no longer eat whats not good for her.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Huhu hope I can manifest the same discipline your friend has. I have to. I need to.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes you have to and you can.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

my father has this too.. he can't walk for days... do you take meds sir?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes I do take meds. Colchicine, Feboxustat. But lately I also took pain relievers because I can no longer tolerate the pain.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good for. You to have in on your feet. I am. Worried I have osteo arthritis, I didn't visit the doctor yet, I'm still so young but I feel tingles on my spine whenever I eat heavy meat and beans.

I agreed with you, you should trouble shoot where you body is deteriorating. I guess you should lower your uric acid first, that'll be four your joints and kidneys

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's very difficult when pain and inconveniences like this attack our bodies. Please have yourself checked so you'll know what to do and what to avoid.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sorry for the pain my friend. I know how you feel because I've been there before. Take the appropriate food and meditation. Very soon, you will walk properly.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you! I need to discipline myself with regards to my diet.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good 👍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

And sometimes kahit alam na natin yung magiging consequences ng choices natin e ginagawa pa din natin.

Anyway, get well soon kuya para madala mo na si wifey mo sa park for jogging.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayun na nga e. Alam nang bawal sige pa rin haha! Yes, papakabait na ako para naman di laging umaaray kada lakad

$ 0.00
1 year ago