Gratitude Challenge - April

3 32
Avatar for Marts
Written by
1 year ago

The Gratitude Challenge is a self-imposed challenge I do every end of the month. While I know everyone else has their version of the monthly recap and updates, what I'd like to share are the things I might have missed appreciating if I do give them careful thought. Also, it is my subtle way of remembering and chronicling my month so I can get back to them if there is a need to do so. 

Here are the things I am thankful for the whole month of April.

Speaking Engagements

I had two opportunities this month to share God's Word before crowds. The first one was an invitation from a young professionals' group in one of the largest churches in our denomination. I talked about how they can be of influence to their respective circles, as "Salt and Light" to the world. The second talk was a preaching assignment for our church where I discussed Jesus' prayers to His Father. These two preaching opportunities were additions to my regular classroom discussion on Technical Writing and Research, so I have to take care of my voice by not indulging too much in ice-cold beverages, which I love so much. 

Yeah, at last, swimming!

After so many restrictions in the previous years, and of course, self-regulated preventions so as not to be exposed to the virus, at last, I had the opportunity to go on swimming in a public pool. I joined my girlfriend's family on their family swimming at Rancho Luisito Resort in Rodriguez, Rizal. It's just a jeepney ride from our place so instead of meeting them in Caloocan, we agreed to just meet at the resort. 

Aside from the fact that it's very close to nature because it is surrounded by Mts. Pamitinan, Binacayan, and Hapunang Banoi, there's nothing too special about the facilities. However, seeing children and senior citizens happily swimming and playing around imbibes a special feeling! I missed seeing crowds! And yes, of course, I missed swimming. 

They have an infinity pool, slides, kiddie pools, wave pool, and added attractions such as zipline and wall climbing. 

Finished New Life Lessons

I am mentoring one of our youth and we're using New Life Lessons. It is a 16-week lesson that we tried to cover since October last year. But due to differences in schedule and other adjustments, it took us until April to finish. At first, I felt left behind because other pairs finished the material earlier. However, realizing that discipleship is not a race nor a competition, we still had a reason to celebrate for we were able to finish the lesson. As a token of gratitude, I gave my mentee two books from my collection. Please pray for me as I lookout for a new disciple. 

Last payment for Housing Equity

To cap off the month, April 30 is our last day of paying for our monthly housing equity! Yay! It was a grueling 20 months of payments, having a short budget, juggling finances, and depriving ourselves of some wants for this expense. But now, my girlfriend and I have finished paying for our housing equity and we're on our way to having it installed with electricity, water, and internet. Because of this equity, we have to park our savings for our wedding, but now that it is paid, we can somehow resume our savings plan. It feels surreal! Knowing that you have a property you can call your own. And only by faith and God's grace we're able to pull this off. God knows how many months we prayed hard for provisions and finances really poured in through miraculous means. I can't over-spiritualize everything but you get the point. Everything is all by God's grace.

Since we're still not married, we have no plans yet of occupying the house but it's better that we prepare everything for next year. 

That's it! How about you, what are your thanksgivings for the month of April? Let me celebrate with you!

5
$ 2.39
$ 2.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.02 from @Momentswithmatti
+ 1
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I like this sir.. ano yung material na gamit nyu, is that from your church alone?

Congratulations and praise God at ok n ang equity.. in house ba yan? Or iapply nyu sa pag ibig

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hey, this is a great news! Hoping that everything planned will be granted. Keep snatching those goals!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What wonderful news this is, every part of it. I am looking forward to a swimming that is planned by the family as well. I don't care where as long as I can everyone enjoying and having fun. God is good!

$ 0.00
1 year ago