Freewriting as I Work Alone In the Office

4 31
Avatar for Marts
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Diary, Blogging

I have mentioned elsewhere how I love working alone in the office. Whenever I have the chance, I try to come to the office earlier than my boss and officemates (though sometimes, I come in very late!) I love quiet and peaceful environments, and I don't mind working in places where social interactions are minimal.

Don't misconstrue me. I am not antisocial. I only love solitude.

Today, my boss and my officemate are on leave. I am the only one in the office. Though there are other people in the other room, in our department I am alone. Also, no visitors came, and no urgent reports needed to be accomplished.

But I feel a bit disturbed. I don't know. Perhaps it's because I am not yet done with my manuscript for Sunday's talk. Or maybe because I woke up on the wrong side of the bed. Or is it because of the gloomy weather? I'm not sure.

This is one of the few times when being alone doesn't energize me. I barely even did any work today. If only I can just lay down on the couch and sleep, but there's a CCTV so I cannot do that.

I tried reading articles online to help with my message preparation but after a couple of articles, I got tired of reading.

Then I tried to devour whatever I can from social media. I fell prey to doomscrolling again. This should not be the highlight of my day!

Good thing that occasionally, one of my officemates from the other room requests a budget for whatever office needs he must purchase. At least I still have a productive contribution and not just consuming overhead and enjoying the aircon.

But other than that, what I do most is browse the internet, do casual work, and try to think of something I can do with the current mood I'm in. Sometimes, your body will demand rest when you've overworked it during the previous days. This is what I'm planning to do as soon as I get home.

Maybe you're wondering if he is too tired to work, why is he spending time writing an entry?

It is because writing for me is therapeutic. It relaxes my mind and lets out some steam so I won't burn out. Writing relaxes my mind even when my body is too tired to do physical work.

Looking back to my past weeks, I realized how many meetings I have attended. I processed several papers - from Meralco application to Funeral claims from SSS. I attended a two-part training in two weeks, facilitated weekly online classes, worked on devotional entries and manuscripts, and went to bed late for several days. This month also is my most traveled since the pandemic. I've been to Romblon, Antipolo, and Bulacan. I haven't had a chance yet to rest. What a busy month!

But thankfully, today's the last day of the month, and come tomorrow, I will have a new set of leave credits available. Though looking at my calendar for June, where I suppose there is barely any difference with the workload and busyness, at least I can squeeze in some VLs.

This entry is too random, I know. I'm writing this literally as my mind wanders. I just hope that later when I get home I can recharge for real and be prepared for tomorrow's new set of challenges.

I'm wondering what to do: a bowl of my favorite comfort food? A quick bicycle ride? A funny movie? Or an enjoyable nap? Glad that I'm just a few minutes away before I punch out my time card and hit home.

4
$ 3.29
$ 3.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Momentswithmatti
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Diary, Blogging

Comments

Those moments when you just hope its time to leave the office already...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pinu-publish mo din po ba mga articles mo from read.cash to your website?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hello. Yung iba lang na medyo related sa productivity :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Okay po thank you!

$ 0.00
1 year ago