Are your children your investment?

11 28
Avatar for Marinov
2 years ago

And we traveled again just to have an internet connection. Yeah, so hassle but can we do rather than waiting for the internet connection to get back to normal? We can't just stay at home and do nothing especially that we have a baby and we should have enough savings. I guess this is what my grandma said before. That I should be successful in life first before entering the married life. Though I am not yet married, it is like I am because I and my boyfriend already had a baby and we live together in one home. But, what does it really mean when we say, 'successful'? What does it take to be called successful? Well, for me it's so subjective. I mean we have different meaning of success. What success to me is maybe just a pie for you and what is success to you is maybe not what I dreamed of. You know we have that kind of mindset that is very different to others.

For my grandma, her definition of success is when I and my sisters already had a stable job, a home, and be rich and we would just provide them with money a month. This is not bad because it's for our own good. What makes it bad is when she will question our decision in life just because ours are different from her. Just recently, we had an argument because of my pregnancy. I learned that my grandpa still had a bad feeling about me getting pregnant. According to him, it feels like he's getting back to zero again for he thought he will get rich because I am here, working. After hearing those, I felt annoyed because it feels like they are only making us their investment. I mean we are just like a piggy bank for them. I understand that we must look back to them and give back the favor but pressuring us, me to work and get rich just because it's their dream? It's a no no for me. I have my own path to take and my vision is beyond that thinking of being rich. It's wider than that.

But I don't want to sound disrespectful so I just pretend that I didn't knew though I am bit pissed when my grandpa gets close with Clea. How can he be that hypocrite? I am sorry for this. The wound is new and I am hurting for real. What can heal me is to distance myself again from them. Right now, we are doubling our time to hassle, or where can we earn money so we can live by our own just the three of us - me, Clea and her dad. After all, I never really dreamed of living with my parents or with my in-laws in the same roof. So I guess it's time for us to separate, to be independent and for these wounds to heal. I don't want to live in a home where I feel like having a baby means that I will not succeed in life anymore. Come on!, It's still the same me. Nanganak lang ako!

I promise to myself that I will not let Clea feel that we are her obligation when she grows up. I will not let her feel that to be successful means to get rich. I know she will create her own life and I am here to guide her in achieving her dreams. I am with her when she's working for her dreams. I am not the one creating dreams for her.

Are we on the same side?


Thank you fam for supporting me. I may not be able to respond immediately but I promise I'll make it up when I have the time. Thanks to my sponsors and to those people who upvote my posts. You guys are big help.

Sponsors of Marinov
empty
empty
empty

Ciao! ❤️

12
$ 3.97
$ 3.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
+ 8
Sponsors of Marinov
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marinov
2 years ago

Comments

Same vibes. Hahaha I have written related article for this just two days ago. Ommyyy hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nope. They shouldn't be. Make it a point that your kids will be in a good situation so that they don't have to depend on you and you don't have to depend on them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa point of view ko naman baka na discourage lang granparents mo parang sudden rush of emotions lang kasi iba yung akala nila, pero may sarili kang desisyon sa buhay mo na di nila dapat pakialaman kundi supurtahan dapat at igalang. sakin din kasi nasabi ni mama yan sakin dati, pero hindi naman tumigil ang support ko sa kanila kahit na may anak nako, in the end they apologized for saying those to me. Ma re realize din nila sooner na tutulong ka pa din sa kanila kahit may sariling pamilya ka na.. Don't let your anger control you mamsh...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hayyssttt, so crazy mentality mamsh, filipinos really do think that way especially our past generations, but of course we as mother and parent we shouldn't make our child our investment never. We should stop that mentality because it's toxic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

By reading this I know for sure that you are a good mother to your baby. You know and you don't consider the idea of making a child as an investment. I hope some parents will also be like this. People now adays kasi make their child as a retiring plan, an investment rather.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm on your side dn sis. Dreams, success and responsibilities na pinapasa sa mga anak or younger generations. Sana marealize nila na successful na sila sa pagpapalaki ng mga anak or apo nila na magkaroon ng maayos na pamilya, regardless of financial status. Haaay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Relax dear! You are a good mother and I know you will be more friendly with your kids.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di sad ko ganahan nga ma-feel nila na obligado sila maghatag sa Amoa Puhon sis. Samtang buhi pa mi naningkamot mi para sa kaayohan sa Amoang mga anak para di sila maglisod Puhon. Responsibilidad natong mga ginikanan nga tagaan ug maayong kinabuhi ang atong mga anak Dili kay sila ang maghatag ug maayong kinabuhi para na'to sa umaabot na panahon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same, because in the first place kids didn't demand us to let them born, we created them 😂 they are innocent and as parents we are responsible to give them the best in life, it's up for them if they look back on us or not.. thinking children as Investment is a crab mentality a Filipino culture has so sickening.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same ta memsh.di sad ko ganahan na inganaon ahung anak. Mao maningkamot jud para mamaayo kaugmaon sa anak. Ambot uie. Naa jud mga ginikanan na ingana nuh?? Sakit paminawon ba. Pero thankful lang ko kay di ingana sila papa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your in perception on dream is very good every one have to decide for themselves we should not create dreams for them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago