Lazada Disappointments

32 38
Avatar for MarielB22
2 years ago

I had some spare time the other day so I decided to do a little online shopping with Lazada. What I received yesterday was very disappointing. Mind you, I am careful to read the reviews on all potential purchases and always check the photos, videos and seller's rating before I consider a purchase. I was duped anyway.

Fraud

When I do make purchases from @Lazada, I am typically satisfied because I am choosy. But nothing is more disappointing to me with respect to online shopping than people fronting as legitimate seller's and then scamming me. I won't name the stores here due to potential backlash.

Image: Pixabay.com

Lazada definitely has a major problem with counterfeit products and bogus sellers. Anyway, I ordered a pair of shorts for myself and a psychedelic t-shirt for my fiancee. Both arrived Monday afternoon, so the delivery was quick.

So I bought the outfit below. My plan was to add it to my beach collection since it was thin, and we know how hot it is in the #Philippines.

Image: MarielB22

But as I looked it over, look what I saw to my surprise.

Image: MarielB22

Whomever sewed the shorts serrated right across near the top. Although the image does not show it, you can easily see right through the material.

Then I purchased this psychedelic t-shirt. The seller stated it was an international size 2X, so that is my fiancee's size. I wanted to surprise him.

Image: MarielB22

My guy tried it on but while doing so stated right away that it would not fit. He was right. It is in all actuality a size 1X US. Scammed again!

Don't get me wrong here, the shirt is quality material but the size chart is wholly deceiving and inaccurate.

Lessons learned

No matter how hard one tries, even checking reviews and comments does not assure one of a quality product. After speaking with a Lazada executive, he advised that Lazada is removing bogus sellers. When I inquired about all the counterfeit products coming in from China he really had no comment. That left a sour taste in my mouth.

I've already dropped Shopee like a hot potato. There are so many scams on there they make a snatcher on EDSA blush because of Shopee's fraud and thievery.

One other thing is that in my province I see the authorities destroying counterfeit items with a steamroller via Bombo Radyo.

Finally, one wonders when DTI will step up their game, along with Customs (BOC) and get the fake goods out of the country and prosecute the bogus sellers.

Live and learn!

Sponsors of MarielB22
empty
empty
empty

10
$ 14.05
$ 7.72 from @Scotty17
$ 5.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.26 from @AceyDeucey
+ 4
Sponsors of MarielB22
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MarielB22
2 years ago

Comments

It must have been an awful shopping experience for you. I usually don't buy if the sellers' prices on the items that are too cheap and too good to be true, that might be a scam. 💔 although if it comes from a flagship store, the expectations are high.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are exactly right. I also don't like it when you choose another size and the price jumps sky high or the shipping fee is more than the item. Grrrrrr. lolz

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. That's true. Shipping fees are killing us 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some of the sellers are VERY sneaky. That is why I add to the cart and look everything over first. If the shipping fee is ridiculous, I don't buy. Simple as that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But the delivery time takes a while though. Usually, it takes almost two weeks when it's economy or standard delivery. But if it's not something urgent then that's fine. Hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I typically buy from stores in The Philippines, but do buy from China. It is then I expect 2 week deliveries. In country, delivery time is 2-4 days tops.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It really hurts, when you have to wait for your favourite order after that if you get this, this incident automatically can raise that person's anger. Once I was scammed too , that was my last time when I order something online.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I don't blame you at all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry for your loss dear friend, there are many scammers online there who claims that they sell quality materials but many of them sells sub-standards.

You can actually buy from quality clothes from China once you know how to do that. I am from west Africa but I buy goods from China and most of the times I do get exactly what I make payment for. I have a friend in China who makes selection on my behalf. It is just that I need to pay her 10 yuan for each purchase.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Good for you; I am happy for you. Did you hear about the kid who spent $2,000 online in the Philippines? Wow. At least my son hasn't done that...yet. lolz.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So sad to hear. It's not expected at all but in my country, we often suffer this. So, I personally stopped shopping online. But for being busy, offline shopping is not possible too. So, I ordered from the known sellers only.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Good idea. That's what I usually do but I really wanted the two items and it was a seller I wasn't familiar with. Oh, well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeah! i hope it never happens to you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Than you for your concern and well wishes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We've been burned by Lazada, too, everyone has. My neighbor is also an expat. He opens the package before paying and refuses it if it is not what he expected.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Seems to me the government is more interested in revenue than scammers.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

For realz. DTI and BOC are to blame.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You forgot our grifting politicians!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Darlin', them folk is all hat and no cattle. Reckon I'd be pitchin' a hissy fit were it me, but seems like you handled up on a bad situation well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You Texans are a hoot! Hissy fit. lol Haven't heard that is a couple weeks.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Recon some of us are alien to y'all in Asia.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't know what Lazada was until I checked it out online. Don't feel so bad. We have Amazon and eBay and there are plenty of counterfeits and scammers on both online shopping sites.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We do not have Amazon here but we have eBay, and that site is rife with scammers. Thanks for reading and commenting, Razor.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, okay. Yeah, eBay used to be great until retailers took over about 10 years ago. Now it is more of a buy site than a bid site.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That was before my time but I'll take your word for it.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks for the trust!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

When it comes to clothes, you should also look for the sizes (in CM or in inches). sellers usually attach the specific measures of it as well.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

No, not all. Many say "one size fits all" which is false advertising. Others give us an idea, but some do as you say and list specifics. Thanks, Khing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh yeah..they put false advertising to catch the eyes of the potential buyers...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Correct, sir! Darn shame.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes reviews don't help. Getting something from an online store is 50 50 chance.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, pretty much. I have about an 80 percent success rate but disappointments are the rule with online shopping. Thanks, Jerry.

$ 0.00
2 years ago