Risk For Bitcoin Cash = Up

Avatar for MarcDeMesel
4 years ago (Last updated: 3 years ago)

I've seen business models change from voluntary development donations to other funding sources in 2 coins before, NXT (launched ICO inflating supply) and BTC (raised Venture Capital reducing utility of main chain). In both cases the coin lost it's most valuable investors and users: the idealists. In both cases the coin lost serious market share. Is Bitcoin Cash next?

As a crypto investor I have been looking since 2014 for better business models for cryptocurrencies and solutions to freerider problem, where only a few donate while most others don't. I used to think having part of block reward / inflation go to infrastructure development, and even marketing and other projects creating adoption, is good way to get sustainable funding that aligns interests of builders with coinholders and avoids the tragedy of the commons problem that voluntary donations business model has, hence why I liked Dash, Decred and Zcash.

But now that these projects have been running for couple of years, we see that they make little headway and are steadily losing market ranking and significance. I think this is because, even when spending decisions are allowed to be made by coinholders, when piece of inflation is paying for everything, it causes voluntary donations in money, development and marketing, to collapse as now people expect the inflation business model to pay for it, and people now also expect to get payed themselves if they add any value.

Paying all bills via inflation also centralizes development and marketing as now everybody becomes dependent on this one funding stream. I also causes politics to emerge as now you have to sell yourself well in order to get funding from that stream, benefiting talkers over doers. For example if we look at Dash, few projects that got funded created real value, real adoption.

I believe the ideological drive to do better as fiat, to have no inflation business model, to not coerce other people into paying for stuff, creates much more adoption, as everyone needs to self finance, or succeed in getting voluntary donations. The ideological drive is also preserved if everyone knows there are no leeches, rent seekers profiting from their hard work. Ethereum as well as Bitcoin Cash prove that voluntary donations business model can work.

Despite the loud complaining by Amaury Sechet about lack of funding for development, the amount of development done on BCH is actually very impressive. We currently have several independent clients/implementations, large and small ones competing. Last 6 months we got CashFusion, SLP tokens, and BCH has by far highest amount of idealist promoting and spending it. True, financial donations are not high compared to market cap but:

1. Most devs are very happy to develop for free for Bitcoin Cash and do it mostly out of love, or to create value for their stash, or have other business depending on it. Same for most spokespeople and marketeers.

2. There was only 1 fundraiser to my knowledge where one could donate easily to different teams and it was actually quite successful raising an impressive 800 BCH or so in 2 months. However this success was not recognized as Amaury was causing trouble yet again complaining some parties should not have been on the list, KYC/AML regulations were not complied to (yet he did not follow up when I proposed to sign a paper as large donator), and didn't even thank the community for the 400 BCH his team got, nor did his partner David Allan from the Development Foundation who received 200 BCH or so.

The biggest problem for me with this 'proposal' (that is actually a 'fait accompli' decided by some miners without any debate with community beforehand) is that they plan to force all other miners, as well as all coinholders, to pay for something they deem good, via inflation. This goes against the very nature Bitcoin (Cash) was started for: fighting fiat inflation that always leads to a poor currency losing value over time instead of gaining.

Funding anything via inflation is a dangerous slippery slope that will likely lead to many other costs they deem necessary, by further reducing security (yes that is the trade off happening here by diverting piece existing inflation from mining/securing chain to development, a questionable trade off for a coin that is already at great risk to be 51% attacked) or when no more possible to reduce security, increasing inflation, creating a bigger and bigger group of parasites leeching from the system.

A much better solution I believe is launch not a temporary but permanent fundraise where builders (devs, marketeers, spokespeople) can make their case why they would like more donations, and donators can build a reputation based on their generosity. This embraces and cultivates the voluntary nature of the project and also has sound economic foundations: If your voluntary contribution is expected to benefit your bags more than the donation amount, you are incentivized. The presence of non-contributing parasites does not matter, ie: there is no tragedy of the commons problem, just donators who wished others would also give, but that does not mean one has to start forcing all. Also important, a freerider is per definition an investor, and that act of buying and holding the coin is supportive and pushes up the value to benefit of all, ie: the more freeriders/mere investors, the higher the value of the coin, the fewer, the lower.

One thing is sure, risk investing in BCH just went up considerably as this change in business model is likely to happen and is likely to drive away considerable part of the community, causing likely a drop in market ranking. If risk/reward ratio for BCH drops vs for example ETH and has now become lower overall, which is my opinion, it also justifies a lower exposure to it as well.

About me, Marc De Mesel:

I am mostly known for doing great market calls, pushing people to buy crypto close to lows of bear market, staying invested on the way up, and pushing people to sell close to tops in bull markets, for example at top in Dec 2017:

Started Investing in Bitcoin in 2012 at $10 and was one of the early Youtube Channels promoting it since middle 2013 when was around $100 (dutch):

Divested from Bitcoin Core early 2017 into many other coins, right before it lost lots of market share:

Invested in Bitcoin Cash on futures market before launch on August 1st 2017, when few of current BCH hero's promoting this disastrous business model shift, were supporting the project (that includes Roger Ver, Vin Armani, and many others):

Was largest donor in recent Bitcoin Cash fundraise that totaled 800 BCH:

https://www.reddit.com/r/btc/comments/c1ncgt/some_massive_donations_of_bch_just_came_in_to/erec3h4/?context=3

My twitter: https://twitter.com/MarcDeMesel

My YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/marcdemesel

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for MarcDeMesel
4 years ago (Last updated: 3 years ago)

Comments

I need workπŸ˜’

$ 0.00
6 months ago

Bitcoin Cash (BCH) exhibits a higher risk profile with potential for upward price movements.

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Discover Bitcoin Cash's potential upside amid rising risk levels. Diversify your portfolio and consult a financial advisor to manage risks effectively. Stay updated with the latest developments in the cryptocurrency market for informed investment decisions.

$ 0.00
8 months ago

I wonder why something that is built on the basis of love and voluntarily produces maximum results, is that really a law of nature?.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's amazing that you invested in bitcoin in 2012 and now 2022 from $10 to $45000 wow,,amazing,not to mention BCH and Etherium I can't imagine how successful you are now,I may be far behind you but I want to volunteer like you and dare to take risks from it, good luck and success always sir.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I heard about the fund raiser I wish I could donate but it was early this year I joined this platform. I heard about Bitcoincash around August but I was about seven years of age I wish my parents were not ignorant of crypto because they thought it was a scam since they invested once and they got scammed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love reading your article because it gives me more knowledge about Bitcoin Cash. Thanks so much. And also please check out my article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

good think this

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Beautiful you words are just so inspirational and encouraging, how I wish I know about this BCH CASH as earlier as 2012 as you did, but all the same, I thank God for you sir,may you keep winning, more wins to you sir, j just wish for one thing that you be my SPONSOR I really has this flair of being a great author in the future.πŸ™πŸ™,I pray that you consider me sir .best wishes

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article sir, can I post this article in another language in my Id. Please sir.πŸ™πŸ€β€β€ I like your article so much. I learned many thinks in this post. Thank you soo much❀🀝

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sir you are fantastic work. Thanks for sharing your thoughts

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much sir. You've helped us improve our work ethic here.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for this post.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is very important to change business model from voluntary development donations to other funding sources.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

am mostly known for doing great market calls, pushing people to buy crypto close to lows of bear market, staying invested on the way up, and pushing people to sell close to tops in bull markets, for example at top in Dec 2017

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks very much sir your article has really thought me so much but take for instance if Bitcoin drop today will it be a disadvantage to people?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great Article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the info

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are very good market analyst and have very good prediction of price movement. I hope you'll have success with crypto currencies. Videos are just fine. You choose great background and you give sense you are serious in some presentation that in very important in business world. We receive bitcoin cash here on platform, I hope good articles will be marked truly with its value. Cheers!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Are you interested in Bitcoin investment? Invest $ 300 and earn $ 3,100 in 48 hours (2 days).

Ask me how!

Only on telegram:

katelyndanielsbtc

Whatsapp: +1 (754)202-9800

Katelyn Daniels

$ 0.00
3 years ago

i don’t understand how to make money. Will you help me sir?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I want to earn sir. I am new user. So i don’t understand how to make money. Will you help me sir?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi, sorry for the spam but maybe you can help me with my son's surgery, you have been mentioned a lot in my posts, I don't know who you are, but if you can help me I would appreciate it very much.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very detailed outlook from apaypal cryptocurrency expert. Thanks Sir for sharing your knowledge.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This article is very nice, thank you for sharing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much, sir for promoting read.cash and for being one of the investor/being the donor for half read.cash investment😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I would be very grateful if you could give me your sponsorship. I need your sponsorship very much. Please.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sir please read my post and please give your opinion

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article.. Thanks for your valuable information..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I appreciate your past support of BCH and think you are just mistaken in your theory that this funding is a bad idea. Your claim: "they plan to force all other miners, as well as all coinholders, to pay for something they deem good, via inflation." seems mistaken. The coinbase rewards go to the miners already. It is not new inflation. It is the same inflation built into the protocol.

The miners are trying to donate their potential income to developers. There is an army of social engineering agents flooding social media with false claims and bad logic that sounds reasonable to try to stop BCH developers from getting more funding. They work for forces opposed to peer-to-peer electronic cash for the world's people and they are impressive professionals that have fooled many smart people in the past.

I am saddened, but, not surprised you are dissatisfied with the behavior of Amaury and David Allan. They should treat big donors much better.

You appear to have fallen for the claims of assured corruption the troll army is peddling everywhere. Corruption is possible, but, we have months to set up a system to protect against such concerns. Besides, if the miners end up wasting their donations instead of distributing them to useful projects, it is their loss. BCH is not harmed by such corruption. This is not BCH governance we are considering. It is governance of an attempted donation. Making sure it does not become an influence over BCH governance is an issue to work on. Assuming we will fail and lose control of BCH is a troll lie (so far).

You claim it is "a questionable trade off for a coin that is already at great risk to be 51% attacked". This is another false concern sold everywhere on social media by the troll army. BCH is not vulnerable to a 51% attack because we have BCH-friendly mining hash waiting in the wings mining BTC because it is more profitable. They have already proved they will stop a 51% attack when needed. BCH is battle tested and can make the miners a lot more money in the long-run if it finishes enough development work so it can massively scale for worldwide use. No other Bitcoin is even working on that goal anymore. That's why we are under constant social engineering attacks.

$ 10.00
4 years ago

The miners are trying to donate their potential income to developers.

Donations imply something that isn't forced. If I want to mine without "donating" I wouldn't be able to. That's like saying the taxes I HAVE to pay are donations. Lol, sure I guess you COULD call it that if you really want to deceive yourself that badly. But, at the end of the day, it's not.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I agree the 0.44% lost income is not voluntary and that is unfair to those opposed to donating. I am OK with it because most miners that are not willing to support BCH development are probably cutthroat greedy or anti-BCH. I do feel bad for the others.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I mean I'd be okay with it personally as well if I were a miner. But, I sympathize with the people against it more. It just goes against some of the principles of the whole system ya know?

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Actually, the whole system is built on greed-based game theory. Miners mine to make money. The kind I do not care about keeping happy are the ones that mine whatever coin is most profitable hour by hour without caring about the morality of supporting a broken Bitcoin that is being used to fool the public into risking their life savings on a boondoggle. BCH-miners should support development because it is in their own best interests. I believe the miners opposed to donating are mostly anti-BCH or purely greedy. Since the greedy ones want to use the code to their benefit, I am fine with the code being used to tweak the incentives to make BCH into peer-to-peer electronic cash for the world's people before it is too late and the anti-BCH forces get their way.

I am not actually making this argument in the most easy to follow way, but, basically the miners like how their sword is very sharp, but, they don't like it when the other side of their own sword costs them some potential profit and helps BCH turn into a major coin of massive use and value. IMO, this big attack is mostly all anti-BCH, NOT anti-BCH-miners-being-forced-to-donate. The anti-BCH forces just use that figleaf to hide the dark truth and divide our community.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Another big issue here is who would be receiving and thus responsible for handling this tax. BTC.TOP was creating a Hong Kong based company. BTC.TOP is based out of China. I already don't trust China. And idk how much I trust this company being set up to manage the funds either.

At least with your issue, people mining BCH aren't doing it for the profitability because there are a lot more profitable coins to mine than BCH.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Big_Bubbler?? ru the same dude that called me out on reddit? https://www.reddit.com/r/btc/comments/et32q9/from_ashy_to_cashy_or_blockstream_20/ffe25y3

$ 0.00
4 years ago

If you go by modenero, Yes, I commented on you unnecessary "concern" posting.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I'm sorry I disagree but can feel you mean well. Tipped.

$ 0.10
4 years ago

Thanks and Same here on the meaning well :-)

$ 0.00
4 years ago

BCH is not vulnerable to a 51% attack because we have BCH-friendly mining hash waiting in the wings mining BTC because it is more profitable. They have already proved they will stop a 51% attack when needed.

if BCH is to be trusted by SMBs and larger enterprises alike, then this is complete horseshit .. no one and I mean NO ONE is going to trust "stealth miners" that will "magically" appear from the shadows to save BCH .. smh

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Thanks for your ongoing concern. Our defenders already proved they can "magically" appear when needed. I do agree all of the bitcoins would benefit from a price rise (that's how you get more hash rate). This is a vulnerable time for all of crypto.. That said, we do have plenty for now and the impact of better funded development should be very positive in the long run.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Very good Post

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am following you at Twitter.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My dear Marc, Excellent work. I want to thank you alot for summarizing your thoughts about the whole issue through your article. I have followed your work on Youtube for a while now and it is the clearest, most frank analysis from an investor perspective . I really like it.In fact thanks to you I am knowing this platform,and I love this platform alot. I love to write articles in this platform. And I think , I'm going to engage more friends in this platform. I hope to continue to see more of your work here, a great greeting from Bangladesh.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Fantastic work Marc.I recently followed your work on Youtube and seriously i like it.Thank you for helping to know thus platform.I wish to see more of your work here. I will be glad if you check my some article Marc.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This might be the most reasonable article I've read about this whole situation. I think these are very valid concerns:

But, piece of inflation paying for everything also causes voluntary donations in money, development and marketing, to collapse as now people expect to get payed. It also centralizes development and marketing as now everybody becomes dependent on this one funding stream. It also causes politics to emerge as now you have to sell yourself well in order to get funding from that stream. Typically such foundation with guaranteed income stream, ends up being overtaken by parasites who pay themselves well and care little for the mission as true entrepreneurs that care are not attracted to such employee positions.

$ 6.00
4 years ago

Exactly. In my opinion, this is the problem with Dash. I was interested in Dash (and I still am) but I never donated anything to any project. In the Bitcoin Cash community, I know funding is a problem so I give some of my money (even if it not much compared to big players).

$ 11.60
4 years ago

Wow! I haven't even thought about that: "In the Bitcoin Cash community, I know funding is a problem so I give some of my money".. It might be that knowing this is a part of my motivation. I never realized that.

$ 0.10
4 years ago

Sir can share some legit investment crypto sites that will give us earnings? If its ok tou you sir

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Interesting article. You are a great person. And your analysis also great. I follow you in twitter and youtube. For this i know about your analysis. You are the topper of donation in read cash. It’s really amazing. I hope you keep it up. I really want that your all project gonna be Success. I like to invest crypto. But i don’t get any legit site. Can you suggested me?
Stay safe. God bless you. Thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Article translated in Arabic language [great article thanks brother]

https://read.cash/@arslankhalid/mkhatr-lbytkoyn-alnkdy-aaal-46b0ee31

$ 3.00
4 years ago

Greetings friend, it is remarkable how you protect your investments. It is admirable. I would like to be an investor like you hahaha. I came to this article following a thread about donations to BCH development.

$ 1.00
3 years ago

Interesting article and perspective. Adding a mechanism to allow miners to voluntarily and transparently donate some of their block rewards to development teams is great.

Having that donation be centralized breaks the promise of a cryptocurrency.

Conspiring to do reorgs if people mine blocks that don't include a now-mandatory centralized payment is just a 51% attack.

$ 5.00
4 years ago

A much better solution I believe is launch not a temporary but permanent fundraise where builders (devs, marketeers, spokespeople) can make their case why they would like more donations, and donators can build a reputation based on their generosity. This embraces and cultivates the voluntary nature of the project and also has sound economic foundations: If your voluntary contribution is expected to benefit your bags more than the donation amount, you are incentivized. The presence of non-contributing parasites does not matter, ie: there is no tragedy of the commons problem, just donators who wished others would also give, but that does not mean one has to start forcing all.

I agree with this. Something similar to a DAO type funding model. Steem has something similar (SPS) which is the Steem proposal system. Users request funds and token holders vote on whether or not it's worth funding. This is a good way to solve this funding problem.

One thing is sure, risk investing in BCH just went up considerably as this change in business model is likely to happen and is likely to drive away considerable part of the community, causing likely a drop in market ranking. If risk/reward ratio for BCH drops vs for example ETH and has now become lower overall, which is my opinion, it also justifies a lower exposure to it as well.

I, for one, would be very unhappy with this change. I have been working on a small little BCH project too. I'm not rich and I'm doing it for free because I like the fundamentals of BCH. But, if those fundamentals change, I may find them elsewhere you know? Depending on how it affects the ecosystem I may consider leaving if it does get that bad. I'm very flexible compared to a lot of people I know in the space though. So I won't be shocked if this does push out a good chunk of investors and developers.

$ 5.00
4 years ago

Very good article, it reflects on what happens behind the camera for the great issue of donations to developers, I myself am faithful proof of donations and sponsorship of initiatives that promote Bitcoin Cash worldwide.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

One of the best articles I have read about the subject, and is that the simple act of trying to force others to pay an amount which they consider "Good" as you said simply will cause the community to begin to decline, losing to large users who are part of this community, since as a wise person once said on this platform "A city is filled with life by the people, not by the buildings." I feel that if this measure is implemented, many good users who give life to the project will leave it, creating a reaction in a row, thus sinking the community into the worst case.

$ 5.00
4 years ago

Thank you for your opinion. At the moment it seems to be driving the BCH market cap. You think it's short-term?

$ 0.00
4 years ago

BTG was 51% attacked and the news broke today. It's up 11%, more than Bitcoin Cash. The cryptomarkets are nonsensical.

$ 2.00
4 years ago

Excellent work Marc, I have followed your work on Youtube for a while now and I really like it, in fact thanks to you I am knowing this platform, I hope to continue to see more of your work here, a great greeting from Latin America!

$ 5.00
4 years ago

Hi! I translated your article for Spanish Community! Thanks. https://read.cash/@CryptoSpanish/riesgo-para-bitcoin-cash-elevado-by-mardemesel-71924fc6

$ 1.00
4 years ago

Good analysis. I also remain unconvinced that there's a developer funding problem. I want to see the proposal specifics before coming to a conclusion.

$ 5.00
4 years ago

Great to see you here Marc!

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Marc, if you are going to decrease the investment in BCH, what are your plans if I may ask? Which investment are you going to increase and why? Thank you!

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Which investment are you going to increase and why?

DASH, because BCH doing a similar thing (just even worse) validates what DASH has been doing all along ;-)

just a joke, ofc.

$ 0.20
4 years ago

Nice one! :)

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Ethereum, believe it had similar but now better risk/reward as BCH

$ 0.05
4 years ago

Thank you! And I want to thank you once again for the post. It brought a lot of clarity to my mind after a lot of confusion. At first I was pretty happy about developer funding, then pretty neutral, but now I have a pretty bad feeling about this and your arguments make a very strong case against the proposal. Sadly I think all these arguments will be ignored. It's kind of similar to the situation with "Delist HEX", where all of the voices were completely ignored and HEX was still not delisted.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

You think it will be pushed throu? Getting impression tipping point was reached yesterday where majority changed their mind. Roger also saw my video, link below, and responded positively. Fingers crossed they cancel it ASAP. Great website u build here! :) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mIiUvfTckdM

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I saw the comments, yes, but my bet is that it will be pushed through: https://old.reddit.com/r/btc/comments/eugk90/i_dont_agree_with_the_statement_in_the_ama_that/

This post (that seems to try to debunk the myths about the proposal) was left after the comments on your video.

"I'm on the fence about all this. I strongly think it should NOT be part of the consensus rules." - Roger Ver

This quote should give us hope, but see here:

The real problem with listing HEX on bitcoin.com (self.btc)

Roger Ver: This is the best argument I've seen yet. Stay tuned.

HEX was never delisted after this comment.

So my bet is that the proposal will go through.

Great website u build here! :)

Thank you! :)

$ 5.00
4 years ago

thx, very interesting indeed

$ 0.00
4 years ago

[deleted]

$ 0.00
4 years ago

U look like a payed shill, can't believe we have this in Bitcoin Cash too now.

$ 0.10
4 years ago

Sorry for the inconvenience but my posts are not as interesting as yours, however I am looking for them to be read in order to raise funds for my project. https://read.cash/@Evelu/what-do-i-need-to-receive-support-from-bch-readcash-for-my-project-c5e58191

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Marc, I mentioned a part of your article, in my post, I really felt I was very identified with your point of view, I hope you don't have any problem with which I did it. If so, please tell me and I delete it without any problem. https://read.cash/@Gersonarellano/i-say-no-compulsory-bch-tax-7df720ac

$ 1.00
4 years ago

sure no problem, appreciate you did :)

$ 0.00
4 years ago

This is the right solution. No centralized forced donations

$ 1.00
4 years ago

Hello Marc i am one of your follower in youtube, and in which i gain ample knowledge about crypto currency on how it will going. And i thank you for that because i have so much question about this topic. I also thank you I've seen your articles here..Kuddos to all of is here in read.cash😍😍😍β™₯️β™₯️β™₯οΈπŸ‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I really appreciate sir,you are the top BCH supporter in read.cash in my knowledge.Keep doing sir.BCH will going to get more more space on the crypto world and replace all other currencies

$ 1.00
3 years ago

[deleted]

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Google Translated version, unreadable to native speakers. See comments.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

It is also fait accompli that Mr. Sechet will publish a release that pays himself. This "reacting to the idea" is complete bollocks since we know he was in discussions with the miners and others beforehand.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Excellent follow back

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The "look at what BCH developers have accomplished with so little funding" argument is a bit insulting. They've done so much with little, so they should continue doing it for little? They've done great things while being underfunded, but they will likely be corrupted if ample funding exists?

If developers who have acted in good faith and produced some great innovations say they need more funding, maybe they do? Sounds like he is just saying they should be happy with what they got.

$ 0.10
4 years ago

No, I value very much what Amaury has done, he was one of key people that got Bitocin Cash launched, and therefore I was largest donator in recent 800 BCH fundraise of which 400 went to him and 200 to his partner David Allan. I just don't like him and his buddies taking over the whole thing, corrupting and betraying the ideals the project stands for in the process, and losing so much goodwill and volunteers, who have, and will continue to add a lot more value than him to Bitcoin Cash

$ 0.50
4 years ago

I believe funding in some degree is always welcome and way more if it is destined to development. I've been in the crypto universe (mostly blogging) and have witnessed the ups and downs. I remain here though, as many, and many more. Time is the greatest asset and people sometimes want to see it rewarded yet we need to understand that the cryptouniverse itself is something that we should be contributing in any form regardless of the rewards which we're going to see later if we really believe in what we're doing. Good to see you roud, feel free to check my english lessons. Geetings from Venezuela.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Marc, I thank you for summarizing your thoughts about this whole issue.

I actually watched your video on it first, and it is the clearest, most frank analysis from an investor perspective I have seen so far, and I found myself agreeing with most of it.

I'm more optimistic now that presentations like yours have opened a good discussion about better funding models.

$ 7.01
User's avatar btcfork
This user is who they claim to be.
We have manually verified this user via some other channel.
4 years ago

thanks so much btcfork :)

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Most devs are very happy to develop for free for $BCH and do it mostly out of love, or to create value for their stash, or have other business depending on it.

For better or worse, this is what I believe and will strongly promote as I make my resurgence in the crypto community. Nito.cash will be my "contribution" to BCH (and probably ETH as well), and Telr.io will be my business that "depends" on it (them).

The same goes for companies like BitPay, which I recall many "purists" having issues with because they facilitated the ease of merchants to quickly exit upon receipt of crypto payments. But they were one of the first and largest companies to hire and support crypto devs.

I'm not a fan of Coinbase, but they too, "did their part early on", by hiring Charlie Lee (creator of Litecoin) and provided support for much early development though various programs, hackathons, grants, etc.

I'm NOT in a position to "put my money where my mouth is", but I just can't believe THIS is what these pillars of BCH came up with as a FIRST solution to the dev funding problem. And it is a problem. Devs have mouths to feed, often times more than their own.

ugh! my broken record is still playing, "THIS IS HOW IT STARTED WITH BLOCKSTREAM!!!". They were ALL pillars of the community too.

As long as there is TRANSPARENCY and HONESTY throughout this process (leading up to May 15th), I will certainly lean towards supporting this proposal .. as still, no one has proposed anything better.

$ 10.00
4 years ago

It is my first time reading something that has a great analysis. I'm thinking that watching your vlogs and reading your other analysis might be a huge help for me in able to understand the different sides of cryptos. I don't have much, but I hope you appreciate my very small (big for me, jk) tip for your good analysis. Thank you for the information. I would like to know more about Dash as well. It seems to be a good crypto.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is quite amazing to hear, if you started investing in 2012 at $10 then i must say you are a good seer, only if we had known this before, we would have started long time ago

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I never knew what bitcoin is all about until I watched ur video on u-tube and it gave me a clue on what bitcoin is about. I have heard a lot of good works you've been doing in this platform, I pray that may all your efforts never be in vain. 100stars for you my mentor marc De Mesel.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks Marc for this opinion (which I largely share).

I also made a large donation to the BCH dev fund myself and I will continue to do so (unless of course this forced donation model goes into effect, then I don't know exactly yet what I'll do).

I initially liked the idea of Dash's model, too. But since I've been running a masternode and monitoring (just a little) what happens to the funds and what proposals exist (kind-of my duty as a masternode owner with voting rights) I came to realize the problems with this approach. You describe them well and I wont repeat.

I don't want BCH to go down this road (the "dash way"). I acknowledge the need for development funding to an extent and I see both the miners and the community as the ones who should take care of this problem. But funneling parts of the inflation into this via some centralized decision-making body is just so counter to the ideas behind Bitcoin that I think it's very destructive.

$ 20.10
4 years ago

Hey molecular, great to hear your experience at Dash and to hear your confirmation that self funding via inflation is not the great solution many think it to be. Also awesome you donated a lot to fundraise BCH, hope they come to their senses and cancel the idea so we can continue to build it out the voluntary way.

$ 0.50
4 years ago

I hope so, too. The shit I sometimes see in the dash discussion places (I'm not actively invovled, but read some threads) about funding are quite horrible at times (you can see there's great animosities and hatred and probably for valid reasons). I don't want that kind of thing in the BCH community.

Thanks for the generosity, btw, will pass it on here (on read.cash).

$ 0.50
4 years ago

Bitcoin is really a total risk. The last time I invested on it, I was actually scammed so it is now hard for me to believe in it. I really need the money now because I am planning to come up with my own business. I can use whatever I will gain from it as the capital for my business. I hope you can help me with this.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Jim
3 years ago

I want to know more about BCH and I am watching your videos. Thank for sharing this. Good luck and Good health sir πŸ‘.

$ 0.00
3 years ago