The Errand

26 33
Avatar for Macronald
3 years ago

It’s Friday. I was bored at my Aunt’s apartment. I left my hometown yesterday to visit her in the city. Just for environmental change. She left for work early, and I was home alone. I know no one here and don't know around. No power supply and my phone battery was almost drained, had nothing to keep myself engaged. I couldn't sleep. I just sat on a chair clueless.

At noon a call came from her. She forgot her phone charger at home and wanted me to bring it to her. Problem solved. I took my bath, dressed up, and rushed out of the apartment with the charger. I entered a taxi that will take me to where he works. She is a nurse at a private hospital owned by the Catholic Church.

I alighted when I got to my destination, dipped my hand in my pocket to get some money to pay the taxi man. But I only brought out 20 Naira whereas the fare was 50 Naira. I tried to bring out my wallet, but I was surprised I didn’t have it on me. I forgot to pick it from the house.

The taxi man shouted at me to hurry up, I am wasting his time. I pleaded with him, and explained that I forgot my wallet. He understood, collected what I had and drove off. I got to the hospital and gave my Aunt the phone charger. I spent some time at the hospital, but didn’t tell my Aunt that I forgot my wallet and had no money to go back.

I had to walk back to the apartment under the sun. I arrived feeling tired and sweaty. Fortunately there was electricity. I plugged my phone, took a bath and here I am sharing with y'all.

Device: Mobile Phone

Editting: Grammarly

Time: Mobile clock

12
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Macronald
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Your blessings to this community for writing this article you are a story teller

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you there for the kind words. I appreciate. Hope to read feedback on my other articles.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wonder why the cab driver was so rude. He could have driven you back and once home you could have paid him. For someone who doesn't know the way I am surprised you found the way back. Now you can go out without any problem..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Taxi here carry more than a passenger. We were about 5 in the car. So he had other passengers in the car. I was the first to alight.

For someone who doesn't know the way I am surprised you found the way back.

I left out a few details just to meet up with the type time. One of such is that she sent me on another errand - to go buy some drugs for her. She described how to get there, it sounded easy when she said it, but I ended up walking around the "Eke Ukwu" meaning big market; before I was able to locate the specific merchant.

About finding my way back. The taxi only took two turns. It wasn't so difficult as I noted some landmarks. Although I had doubts of where to turn. Fortunately I was right each time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They do? Is that allowed with the pandemic? Here they can no longer have a passenger at the front and there's a screen between the back and front.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. This is Nigeria.

No one cares about social distancing anymore

Between March and June people adhered a bit to the social distance and nose mask wearing, but now only one in hundred wears mask.

About the "Eke ukwu" It's a big market place, lots of people turn up everyday.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No one cares about social distance here either. Face marks are only asked in public transport where no change is made and they say cab drivers and driving instructors but I have doubts about the last group. Post office, shops, employers, employees no face marks, bigger supermarkets some, mainly customers but it's more like a chin mask.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Arguably, more than 60% of Nigerians doubt the pandemic incidence has gotten into the country.

There is a funny question that trended on social media sometime ago: Do you know somebody who knows somebody who knows somebody that has Corona?

Many believe the figures given by NCDC are false. A way for the Politicians to get donations to share amongst themselves.

About 50,000 reported cases, and

no citizen knows somebody that has the corona. And no one knows somebody who knows body that has corona.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

To be honest after all these months I did not met one single person who had it or died from it neither did those I know. It makes me wonder. Especially if I see the medical record of people who died. They had so many diseases it's hard to tell the virus killed them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Same here. Daily increase in cases with no evidence of such.

At a time, the Federal Government distributed funds to states that reported cases. And none was given to those without case report. In no time, all states had cases to report. Which state Government wouldn't want a cut of the National Cake

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's what I mean. The government said they would give money to companies in need, not much investigate etc.

Next in the media a lot of scam by organizations/businesses...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The Government here promised to give some money to private schools

Most teachers working in private schools have not received salaries for more than four months.

The promised money is to assist such schools pay some money to their staffs..

But it seems to be just a promise.

$ 0.00
3 years ago