Passed on too soon

4 56
Avatar for Macronald
3 years ago

When death, as lovely as a loved one overwhelms us, it speaks itself in elegy's necropoetics.

Have you ever been shot or had a feeling of being shot by an arrow, when one of your friends passed on too soon?

Losing someone close hurts so much. You may be asking yourself why they took an early trip into the heavens. Whether by nature, accident, sickness or the cause of hate. We have to accept it's just a part of fate.

Depressed and grieving about their short life span. It's probably part of the divine plan.

A friend of mine died five years ago, in a fire accident. Trying to save his family caught in the house as it burns. They came out with burns, he came out roasted

September is his birth month. In this month, I can’t stop thinking about him, can’t stop thinking about the details of his death. It’s caused me to look at this life, my life with new eyes and old fears.

We were best friends and grew up together in a small house within a small town. I had to live in his family home for 6 years as it was close to my school. I only traveled home during holidays. They welcomed me like their own. In them, I got a new family. So he was like a brother.

He was the only son, so we were very close and shared lots of happy memories. After my education I left his home for mine but we were always in touch and visited each other whenever we can.

On 25th March 2015, I got a call to inform me of his death.

When I got the phone call, my brain refused to absorb the concept. He is dead? Impossible! I couldn’t stop asking lots of questions, but never got satisfactory answers. A friend snapped at me, “Does it really matter how or why? He is dead! That’s all that matters” And I suppose that’s true. But I kept fixating on those last few hours, wondering, the dark and morbid thoughts coming in, unstoppable.

That cruel fire incident has made me lose him. He died in pains - a look at his burnt body all I saw was a pleading eyes, tears, his only companion wanting to be saved.

I won't go into details as I have already written about it here.

Although we know that after such a loss the acute state of mourning will subside, we also know we shall remain inconsolable and never find a substitute. No matter what may fill the gap… it nevertheless remains something else. And actually, this is how it should be; it is the only way of perpetuating that love which we do not want to relinquish.

The tragic parting of a soul who left before his dear friends could bid adieu. To one whose light was snuffed before its time. And now those left behind are still filled with grief. For though one traded this world for the next, the strength of those left here is being tried.

The love and memories we shared shall never be forgotten. For it is scripted in my heart and embossed in gold with a free flowing and generous pen. Though time may conspire to slowly fade him from my memory, It shall never in my lifetime succeed to consign him to pages of history.


You can share your memories here thanks to @Dangerous_Fly

14
$ 0.52
$ 0.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lou1e
$ 0.01 from @alliborn
Sponsors of Macronald
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Macronald
3 years ago

Comments

You really have so much memories in the month of September o😔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I lost a childhood friend in August 2013, he was shot in cold blood to steal the cash he had earned the day before in his family business. The saddest thing is that at that time I could not attend her funeral because I was with my daughter on vacation on the other side of the country, but I was able to come to the prayers they made after her funeral and every year I call her mother so that know that you still count on me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I also felt this kind of pain ,I also lost my younger cousin who is like a younger brother to me. He died a week ago due to suffocation/inhaling of poisonous air. Its really hard I know,at first I cant accept it. What it hurt the most is we werent able to attend his funeral due to this restrictions of covid19 and they are province away from our place. Losing someone we love is kinda losing some part within us too. Felt like it died also with them but life must go on,we must continue our journey and move on.

$ 0.00
3 years ago