"Home is Where The LOVE Is"

0 30
Avatar for MaRkKyY26
3 years ago
Topics: Writing, Life, Blog, Story, Experiences, ...

There is a quote from Marvin Ashton that "Home should be an Anchor, a Port in a storm, a Refuge, a Happy place in which to dwell, a place where we are Loved and where we can Love." This should be the typical kind of family that everyone should have. But we can't deny the fact that not everyone has a perfect kind of family. There will always be some imperfections that will come and that's the thing that we must accept.

As what I have experienced within my own group which my family is the primary one, I admit that we are not that perfect. Each have our own flaws but all of those are accepted by each other. Growing in a family where my father was a drunkard and my mother was an OFW, it is really hard to grow without the guidance from a parent especially a mother. And because of this kind of set-up most of my character was influenced by the external groups such as friends. My family didn't influenced me that much in my early years for they don't have that much time and attention while I was growing.

Another group that I have was my friends. They became my second family in which I feel that it is where I belong, my existence was appreciated, and I was given the attention in which my family can't give. And they somehow fulfill the love that I want to experience in my younger years. I was really thankful to them because they play a big role in what i become today.

Although I don't feel that much of love from my family especially with my parents in my childhood days, I am still very thankful for them. I am thankful to my mother for providing my needs and for that I now strive harder in order to repay her for all those sacrifices. I am still thankful with my deceased father because I also make him as my motivation for suppresing myself to take the wrong path and be someone like him.

Family is not just by means of relation to blood. As long as their is love, belongingness, and acceptance, everyone can be your family. People who were there for you through ups and downs are example of a family. You can still find a family through friendships. So, let us always appreciate these kind of people for helping us shaping ourselves for who we are today. Afterall, at the end of the day our family will always be the one we can hold on to.

5
$ 0.00
Avatar for MaRkKyY26
3 years ago
Topics: Writing, Life, Blog, Story, Experiences, ...

Comments