Copied without Credits (Updated)

28 57
Avatar for M3i
Written by
3 years ago

While we are battling the issue of spammers on this platform, a new challenge may be emerging for writers here. Like myself, you may have been a victim of being copied without being credited. In academic circles, this is a serious offence with grave consequences. It is essentially copying the works of an author either verbatim i.e. word for word or partly without referencing the author. In simple terms it is copying the author without crediting them or worse still claiming such works as yours which i dare say is simply criminal.

Earlier I the day while going through one of my articles on read.cash (Have you truly lived?) published over the weekend,I highlighted some text within the article and did a web search just for fun but what I saw gave me the chills. My article had been plagiarised with the copier claiming to be the source. Neither I nor the read.cash platform were referenced as the original source. This is the link to the plagiarized post.

I was really dismayed as that platform was supposed to have a plagiarism checker in place. See the screenshots below showing my original post on read.cash and the plagiarised post on the other platform.

Original post on Read.cash
Plagiarize post

You can see from the timestamps that my post here on read.cash is 2 days old meaning it was published on the platform on 30th August while the plagiarised post was just published yesterday morning.

I want to find out from @Jane @ErdoganTalk @scottcbusiness and other veteran users of this platform if they are aware of any system in place by the platform to ensure articles published here aren't plagiarised by other platforms without credits to read.cash or the authors. If there isn't it will be quite unfortunate as other platforms may just be ripping off read.cash either deliberately or out of ignorance.

To other writers on read.cash you may want to perform a similar check on your articles. Photographs too may not be left out as wonderful photographs posted on read.cash may face a similar threat. For our photographers who are not watermarking their photographs , you may want to start doing that.

Let me state here that I am in no way dettered from posting my articles on read.cash as I hope that what I write may just be what may make a difference in someone's life somewhere or offer some benefit.

To authors on this platform who are guilty of copying the works of other authors without crediting them, please desist as it is wrong. There may even be legal consequences if you're caught in the act.

Do not think you're being smart because nemesis will surely catch up with you and justice will be served someday.

Update:

I reached out to the support team of the site hosting the plagiarized article via Twitter. They asked if I wanted the article deleted or rightly acknowledged. My response was that the article should be rightly acknowledged. See screenshots of the conversation below. However as at the time of making this update(10am GMT September 3rd, 2020), the article is yet to be rightly acknowledged or deleted.

To those who spare their time to read this post , I say:

Danke

Shukran

Merci

Gracias

19
$ 0.00
Sponsors of M3i
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for M3i
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Thanks for the information

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks for the information dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

i think read.cash need to should add DCMA PROTECTION TO THE this site i think that will help

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for sharing the information

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Quick update. Like I mentioned earlier I sent a DM to the other site's support on Twitter. I just saw their response and I have asked them to acknowledge the original source of the article. I will be monitoring the post on their site. Once they acknowledge rightly, I will edit this current post accordingly to reflect the new situation. Thank you guys for all your comments.

$ 0.00
User's avatar M3i
3 years ago

ohh so sad. she/he used your article. try to report it in opera mini hehe just an opinion

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh shoot, is this really happening? So someone is stealing contents from here, maybe they sell those articles of yours. You can report also to that websites admin. Its a crime, another issue of the day.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Seriously ? But hey I'm not a veteran here. 😅 Well, report it to RC right away. I guess some users here are just joining this platform so they can get articles to be published on the other blogging sites.. rc should do something with that... im now worried my articles might be plagiarized as well, as I saw some have saved some of my articles.. i mean foe what purpose?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If you suspect that you may have been plagiarized, try my suggestion of doing a web search with some sentences from your post. I urge other writers to do same.

$ 0.00
User's avatar M3i
3 years ago

Yes I'll gonna try later. Thank you for making this article . This will serves as awareness to everyone

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for pointing out some thing against spam ,,please subscribe my account. I will subscribe you back😉😉

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Unfortunately, we will never get rid of spammers, but the only right way is to keep our direction and be original, and sooner or later success will not be lacking.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for your words of encouragement @Milanlukic

$ 0.00
User's avatar M3i
3 years ago

you welcome, never give up that my philosophy on life

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sad to hear or know about that. Isn't there any way to contact anyone from opera news to take it down? You should take further actions on that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have sent a message to them via Twitter. Waiting for a response.

$ 0.00
User's avatar M3i
3 years ago

I hope you get a favorable response as soon as possible. This is also a lesson for the users here who plagiarize from other websites.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Spammers will always be one step ahead with their ingenious ways. If opera news doesn't have a copy paste checker then anyone can copy and paste there. By the way the name of the crook is not showing in the link?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The source is attributed to opera news. I will add the screenshot shot to my post.

$ 0.00
User's avatar M3i
3 years ago

Then no one can know who is the culprit. Such things dont even come to our mind, what to say. A few days back I saw an English poem that was translated from Bengali. The original poem was written by a famous Bengali poet and everyone knows it. So I wrote that at least she should mention that it is a translation of a Bengali poem, but she refused. People here can go to any length of cheating to get points.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is quite unfortunate. Maybe they'll learn to do the right thing when someone faces legal action for the act.

$ 0.00
User's avatar M3i
3 years ago

Thanks for a beautiful article 😍😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago