The Cigarette Peddler

21 47
Avatar for LykeLyca
1 year ago
Topics: Free write, Prompts

Psst Boy! Pabili nga ng sigarilyo! (Can I buy a cigarette!)

Usually, this is the line I often hear from jeepney drivers passing by in the intersection fronting the post office. Drivers would often call this lad carrying a box load of cigarettes, people would buy one or two, and sometimes he would change the driver’s 20 peso bill to coins.

Boy, not his real name, would often sit on this concrete boulder at the side of the street, waiting for drivers call him for cigarettes. Almost every day he is in that same spot of this busy city.

He might be selling cigarettes, but I have never seen him smoke. I bet this is the only way he knows he could earn a living and help his mother, a single mom, who has to raise him and two more of his siblings. 

As early as 7 o'clock in the morning, he heads off to the market first to fill in boxes of cigarettes that he needs to sell to passersby and drivers on the street. Meanwhile, his mom would go to a neighbor's house to work as a laundry woman, and his 10 year old brother will be left home with the little sister.

Before the sun goes down, he will be on his way home. I guess, every single day that is how he simply lives his life.

One day, in my usual routine in the morning, I am at this intersection waiting for my ride to the hospital where I am working. While waiting, I noticed that  I haven’t seen Boy, the cigarette peddler, for like a week now. The next day, at the same location near the post office, I didn't see that young lad again. My curiosity brought me to intentionally buy some bread from a bakeshop  nearby and ask the saleslady where this young cigarette peddler, perhaps she knows what happened to him now. 

And, this is what the lady told me.

Boy received a scholarship in one of the reputable universities in Cagayan de Oro City, and might be attending college in the next school year there. I have learned that he will soon finish grade 12 next month.

This young hard working cigarette peddler is a smart kid, and has been juggling work during the day and studying with the school’s module during night time. Oftentimes, he would do a part-time job in the bakery beside the post office. He earns an additional $3 by washing and cleaning baking utensils and equipment, and sometimes would go home with some bread from the bakeshop owner.

Soon, a few years from now, Boy would be a successful man judging from his extraordinary life. I don’t know what course he will be taking, but I’m pretty sure that whatever he does, he will achieve with flying colors with his diligence and kindness.


Boy, in real life is indeed a cigarette peddler by the road. I don't know his life story, everything you've read from the third paragraph down to the last is fiction, however, I hope that Boy will bear this story in real life soon by God's grace because I love happy endings.

"Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for he who promised is faithful." - Hebrews 10: 23

"This article is based on this writing prompt from grammarly that you can check here. There are various topics you can write about from there, but I was challenged to write about this:

I have read about @Pichi28 writing about reinventing a childhood memory. You can try it too!

Before ending this article, let me borrow this line from the popular Nike brand of sports apparel.

"Just do it."

Thanks for reading!


Street photography images from my previous photowalks. First posted on Facebook.

Last photo screenshot from grammarly

All Original Content (unless specified otherwise)

05/19/2022

©️ LykeLyca


Write articles and join us! Click read.cash

Make some noise by writing short posts. Click noise.cash

Join us on #Club1BCH Discord Channel


11
$ 12.45
$ 12.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 9
Avatar for LykeLyca
1 year ago
Topics: Free write, Prompts

Comments

I hope that the fiction will eventually come to life and boy will have a promising futuee doc.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naamaze ako sa kwento although fiction story lang siya. I really hope na ganom talaga ang future path ng batang yon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I admire young people who are very resourceful and find their ways to earn despite limited resources.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sana lahat ng anak ganun.. Masipag at matiyaga

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ang ganda siguro pag ganun nangyari beb noh, napa teary eye tuloy ako haaaaayyyy...lalo na when it talks that he was raised by single mom tapos napunta isip ko sa anak ko

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I just hope this is the real story behind the kids selling cigarrettes on the street. 🥺

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sana po magdilang anghel ka at ng maganda ang kinabukasan ng batang iyan. Maraming bata na ganiyan sa lansangan noon pero ewan nalang nung nagpandemic ..I'm still amazed by them because at young age natututo silang kumita ng pera sa sariling pagod ..compared to those older than them na nag aantay lang sa mahuhulog na bunga ng bayabas...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ay uu totoo yan I admire kids who worked so hard unlike those adults na wala nlng ginawa pa tambay2x nlng..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awww, ito na ang start ng pagabbago sa buhay sa nya. If ever mangyari tu sa Boy. Sana lang, di magtapos sa pag titinda mg cigarettes ang buhay nya no. Sana may pangarap din sya just like the boy on this story.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sana nga talaga sis...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I got goosebumps for real I thought it was a real story of the boy but sadly it was just fiction. However, I wished your fiction comes into reality for this hardworking boy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks pala sa sponsorship dear!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yvw!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bless him...my heart goes to those kinds of kids... I believe God has great plans for his future... God bless him!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Amen!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I diiiig! Nice one sis lyca! Natuwa din ako sa photowalk pic mo!

It would be a nice life story should Boy really take that path!

Indeed just do eeet!! Hmm might go check grammarly soon .. wala na din ako mahugot sa draft and so far pagoda pa... Hahah

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I love the prompts from grammarly sis... thanks sa suggestion nga pala.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My pleaaasuuureee! :)haha more more more!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Often boys at this age get themselves addicted to cigarettes. But reading about this boy i felt so good that Although he had all the chance in the world to get addicted to cigarette but he didn’t. Rather he supported his family and got a scholarship too. Hats off to him

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Indeed not all young lads are into vices.. some are still responsible enough.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wish everyone gets responsible the way the cigarette peddler was

$ 0.00
1 year ago