Sweet Sixteen

15 33
Avatar for LykeLyca
1 year ago
Topics: Random, Stories

I accompanied my mom today to her friend’s birthday party, she's my Ninang (or godmother) as well, and I love her dearly because she used to give me chocolates when I was younger, lol!

Speaking of party, I love the food! The daughter of her friend runs a catering business and I can say that the business suits her. She’s a cheerful chatter and really a good cook like her mom. I completely enjoyed the food, and occasionally shrugging off my mom’s friends' annoying teases of “when should I get married.” Duh! Though we stayed just an hour or so, I can feel that my mom enjoyed the food, and more the company of her friends. Since the pandemic started, I guess this was the only time that she was able to go out for chit chats with her friends. I can feel that it’s a breath of fresh air for my mom.

Anyway, back to the celebrant, though she’s been through a lot, medically, including a double mastectomy and reconstructive surgery, Ninang was the life of the party as usual. Hugging her goodbye. I couldn’t help noticing she had nothing under her blouse, and my thoughtless self whispered, “Ninang, you’re not wearing a bra?” 

With a twinkle in her eyes, she replied, “I may be 70, dear. But, they’re only sweet 16.” And, we both laugh.

At the back of my mind, I could remember that there are lots of prosthetic or postmastectomy bras available nowadays. I have seen a few from Avon, this company is actually known for its Breast Cancer Promise. I love this cause because it raises awareness for signs and early detection of breast cancer.

However, Ninang never opted to wear any of those, I don’t know why, it must be because it's a hassle? I love to think that she has no insecurities despite the image brought about by her illness and surgeries. 

Indeed, everything is just a matter of perspective. And I admire the noticeably optimistic spirit of my Ninang. It made me realize that no matter how difficult life has become and how tiring each battle along the way, we can only choose to fight with a smile and attract positivity in life.

This would be it for now, I hope you had some laugh and grabbed a bit of inspiration from this short story of Ninang.

I'm a little late for bed again, so I think this will be good night.

Thanks for reading everyone and cheers!


Lead Image from Pixabay

Article Photo by me

All Original Content (unless specified otherwise)

07/15/2022

©️ LykeLyca


Write articles and join us! Click read.cash

Make some noise by writing short posts. Click noise.cash

Join us on #Club1BCH Discord Channel




8
$ 0.92
$ 0.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @mommykim
$ 0.02 from @Expelliarmus30
+ 3
Avatar for LykeLyca
1 year ago
Topics: Random, Stories

Comments

She is so positive and might be she accepted the fact and move on in life happily.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're right everything is just a matter of perspective. By the way, Happiest Birthday to your Ninang po!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hahaahah ka cute pud sa imong ninang oi hahah and the fact na she's 70 already but still can mingle well with others is admirable

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Mao jud sis bisan sa iyang mga struggles in life all smiles ghapon

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ninang infact seems to be a qonderful character full of fun and energy. Appreciate her energy level even at this age.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ganyan din po yung mga old ladies dito sa amin, hindi mna din po talaga sila nagba-bra kahit na may bisita po hahhaha. Pero okay lang dahil nga po may edad naman na sila at hindi naman na po pansinin. And baka nga po nahihirapan na nga din po sila kapag nagsusuot ng bra.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nah kahit mama ko waley pake sa bra na yan except pag aalis lang ng bahay..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same po ganyan din si mama ko po. Minsan nga po ganyan din ako eh lalo na kung nasa loob lang naman po ng house.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happiest Birthday to her ma'am lyca. 🎉 Ang sarap nung cake ma'am lyca. Gusto ko yung design and I'm sure sobrang sarap din yan.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hmmm. I cannot remember how I celebrated my 16th birthday before.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahah! Ako rin, cguro spaghetti lang meron kc lagi nmn kami ganyan pag may handaan

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happy birthday to your Ninang. With passing each day we are near to death. So sister we should spend each moment of life with full relish.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's really true.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tittle remind me my favorite clothing brand Happy Birthday to your grandmother, 70 years Nah just ignore the number the thing matter is she is healthy May she live a more longer life with you

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
1 year ago