Certainties and Uncertainties

18 43
Avatar for LykeLyca
1 year ago

The entire night I have been thinking about a lot of things and weighing decisions about life, work, social responsibility, medical accountability, patients, family, and others. My mind is juggling all that, and it seems that I can't even write anything other than this.

So, let me write my thoughts here in a wee bit.

Being in the medical field and health practice, sometimes I can't avoid asking myself what would I do if this patient won't recover under my care? What could've done? What should be done? What if? Why not? Sometimes, people expect this and that, but honestly, we’re all human and life isn't always certain in our hands.

This morning, I received a referral of a case that I really dislike handling because I know prognosis isn’t favorable for this case, but no matter how I dislike, I can’t say NO, as a Physical Therapist I should do the best of my ability for this patient to improve and hopefully recover, but at the back of my mind, with the experience I had, it is hard.

Again, I am at this point of how I could trust myself, my skills, and my capability about my work. Whenever I am faced with this kind of situation I am torn between my mind and my heart- my mind would give me doubts, but my heart would give me hope. 

Indeed, we have experience and knowledge about things, especially in science, there is evidence based practice. However, we can never box some things. Unexpected things can happen, miracles too. As they say, prayers can move mountains!

Okay. I believe in these things, but NO.

Unfortunately, some people in the medical field would misinterpret these things as false hope. Indeed, it can uplift our spirits, but the truth is there is no evidence that it can give cure. So, no.

Another thing that bothers me is money. We all know that Physical Therapy services here in the Philippines are expensive, and only a few insurance companies would cover its fees, and not all government facilities can make this accessible to the masses, the poor would desperately spend a fortune to avail it. It’s irritating to think that financial burden is exasperating a patient who is already suffering with a medical condition that has an uncertain recovery. Sigh. How can we find balance in all these things?!

I don’t know, but actually there is nothing certain under the heavens.

Anyway, we can only do our best and let God decide what should be the outcome. 

As for me, let's do it!

Lastly, I love this verse that comforts me, it might give you the same confidence too;

Trust in the Lord with all your heart
    and lean not on your own understanding;
in all your ways submit to him,
    and he will make your paths straight. - Proverbs 3: 5-6


Thanks for reading guys and good night/ day to all!


Lead Image and article photo from Pixabay

All Original Content (unless specified otherwise)

07/01/2022

©️ LykeLyca


Write articles and join us! Click read.cash

Make some noise by writing short posts. Click noise.cash

Join us on #Club1BCH Discord Channel


11
$ 1.46
$ 1.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @mommykim
$ 0.02 from @Ellehcim
+ 4
Avatar for LykeLyca
1 year ago

Comments

naa jud mga times beb no nga maka engun ka nga zero hope na jud ang isa ka situation...yes we do believe in miracles but it's 50-50 chance ra jud

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hay. Life is like this talaga. Lots of uncertainties, and worse is when we doubt our own abilities. Always happens to me everytime, but then I just hold on, hoping tomorrow would be better than today. Just learning to live with it, parang sabay lang sa agos haha, kahit mahirap. Huuugs!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You can do it doc, tiwala lng sa sarili wala man sa palad mo ang kapalaran nila but atleast you did your part

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Alam mo ate, you know your skills and you have been trained to do that. Kaya sa tingin ko, in times of doubt, just look back how many patients and people you help.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

it's your responsibility and obligation, but on the basis of belief in God, everything will happen, try your best so that the patient recovers, if he hasn't recovered, at least his condition is better than before.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We doctor can try to save a life but we are not God. No doubt if God will give him or her life then he or she will have survival. Sure we should put our 100% for survival of our patients. Nice to meet with my own field dear sister.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

True. We can only try the best that we could.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Trust in God always ma'am lyca. Everything will turn into a brighter days. Nothing is impossible to God ma'am lyca.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sige ate HAAHAHA ngayon ko lang kasi sya talaga nabasa, puro psychiatrist lang alam ko 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Amen!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What physical therapist is for ate? It's my first time reading those kind kasi 😅

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Makakagawa yata ako ng isa pang article sa question mo haha! Hanapan kita ng website na may maayos na explanation..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bisan magpa check up di ka afford ang uban maam. Unsa pa kaha ang PT. antoson na laman ang gibate. Maghuwat kanus a kuhaon.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Looy jud bya mga pasyente oi, ambot kung kanus-a pa mabutangan PT ang public hospital namo dire.. Slow kaau among LGU

$ 0.00
1 year ago

is physical therapy like for stroke people? sometimes we will doubt ourselves if we cans till do it, but you give us the verse and it will give us hope and strength.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes. We treat them after they got stable and ready for training.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dear believe in your self is the first step leading you toward your success. Actually don't be unpredictable you have to handover your job truthfully, afterwards it's upto The Lord (The omniscient, The omnipotent).

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yah, I always try to be truthful to them, but it hurts to see them struggle financially yet can give so little because their health situation is complicated. We can only trust God indeed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago