A Father's Plea

20 54
Avatar for LykeLyca
1 year ago
Topics: Poems, Memories

This poem is a father’s plea for his daughter on her journey away from home.

As the plane noses down the runway

On its quickening pace and roar

A flood of parental remembrances soars

Poignant on my heart’s core

I see you again as a one-year-old

Exploring my face with your hands

As my three-year-old baby

Sailing paper boats in a water alley

And as my four-year-old who rubs her nose

After her puppy got lost

I see you at five,

Frightening us with you first pool dive

At the age of eight

You cried over your piggy bank rift

As an adolescent

You sob on my shoulder to get a new prom dress

Now, so soon

You will be on your own

And I am your father

Opened a life for you to understand beauty and courage with life

Wishing you not just a fair weather to fly but through the storm of life

A father, old waiting and gleaming in the morning sunlight.


I used to write in Bubblews before, also a social blogging site that pays its members for content. This has been previously a great blessing for a lot of people I knew, some are here too on this platform, though I didn't know them at that time yet. Perhaps after a year, the site got closed when it got populated and plagiarizers started to pollute the atmosphere.

This poem was first published there, I don’t know anymore if it’s visible or archived online. I have completely forgotten the title, the one I saved was the poem itself. I think I can be poetic when I’m emotional, lol! I wrote this on my first father’s day away from my family, that time I was working overseas. 

I’m not that close with my father when I was little since I attended school in the city while he worked on our farm in Bukidnon. When I started working and two of my brothers finished College, we began to enjoy time with him. Apparently, after a few years when I got to see him regularly, I have applied to work overseas so I can help two of my younger siblings still in College. 

Those years when I was away, my father has been overly dramatic haha! He would ask and nag my mom to call me often, and that time he persistently learned to use Facebook and Messenger to keep in touch, lol! You know how annoying our parents are when it comes to their adventures regarding gadgets and stuff, lol! 

Anyway, my father really transformed through the years as he got old. In my childhood, he was that very strict father image I could imagine and fear. Nowadays, in his senior years, he is so needy, especially when he got a mild stroke a couple years back. And, very docile and yielding to his grandkids. Duh! I think all grandparents are really like that, eh? How I wish he was like this too when we’re kids! Must be a different me now, lol! So, all good, I guess.

I hope you had a wonderful day out with your fathers today. We had our dinner in a restaurant at the mall, and I've seen that there's this videoke challenge for dads who would love to sing. Awww, isn't that cute?!

Happy Father's Day! And, cheers to all dads, daddy, tatay, papa, itay, dada, appa!


Lead Image from Pixabay

First photo from Pixabay

Last photo by me

All Original Content (unless specified otherwise)

06/19/2022

©️ LykeLyca


Write articles and join us! Click read.cash

Make some noise by writing short posts. Click noise.cash

Join us on #Club1BCH Discord Channel


14
$ 5.28
$ 4.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @mommykim
+ 12
Avatar for LykeLyca
1 year ago
Topics: Poems, Memories

Comments

Such a wonderful poem you've written. It's so nice. Though, I'm not with my father today because he's far away from me but I love him so much. Happy Father's Day to every wonderful fathers out there. I pray that God blesses them all

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Amen. And, I'm sure your father is happy wherever he may be.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Might be he us so strict when you were still young because he wanted to instill discipline to you and wanted you to grow as good as he wanted for his children.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is really true.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Our parents changed when they have grandkids. I think in some point I asked myself, why are they showing as if they love their grandkids than they sons and daughters? Whahha.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's really true. I ask my father about that and he said that he will leave the strict parenting to the parents, and my sister complained hahah!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happy Father's Day to your Dad @LykeLyca. Sinearch ko pa talaga yung word na docile at yielding. Hahaha Thanks for the words! Kidding aside, father's can be tough sometimes, but I know they just use that as a facade. At least he's is not so strict anymore and you get to see his soft side. ❤

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yvw! That's what I love in this platform dami natin matutunan dba? You're definitely right about strict fathers.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happy Father's day sa imong Papa beb!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you sis!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganda naman po Doc:) happy fathers day po kay tatay/ daddy mo

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sayo din...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This poem is amazingly written, and I enjoyed Reading it on fathers day.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happy Father's Day too sister. Your poem is really appreciate able. I love the words with rhythm of emotions. I don't know about the platform you mentioned. Good to see you back sister after many days.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yah got busy for a bit... thank you and glad that you like it!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

really ng bubblews sd ka sis? i was with bubblews too with the username junebride din ata... naa pay utang si bubblews sa akoa sayang lang to na site ba...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, LycaChic ko didto sis! I know you, articlee and bloghound nag bubblews pud before. Naa pa pud koy money didto, sayang murag akong last 2 months ang wala na bayran..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ey didto, sayang murag ako

really sis? waaaaah... am so happy! makamingaw btaw uy.. dugay na jd d ay ta dires atong online hustles.hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

After didto sis wala nkoy online hassles dayon, during pandemic nga temporary walay work nka realize ko na mag search og opportunities online like Bubblews... og mao ni akong na joinan! so blessed coz I love this platform. Pero makamingaw pud didto bah kay dako2x jud ang earnings didto, sayang lang jud.

$ 0.00
1 year ago