When The Magic Has Gone...

8 42
Avatar for LucyStephanie
2 years ago

Have you ever felt so excited with something before you get it? We all have this experience right? Everything is amazing and wonderful before we acquire that something. And then once we finally have it oh it feels so wonderful! But then after a while this euphoric feeling disappears. At that point it feels like the magic is gone. πŸ’”

Sounds familiar? This usually happens in new relationships. There's a spark leading to courtship, dating and relationship and then it eventually fizzles. Doesn't matter if you get married or just stay as bf-gf, when it happens it's just sad.

I remembered a song because of this thought. Haha.

But of course it doesn't only happen with two people in love. This also happens with every achievement and goal we attain. Once we get it, it's not that great anymore after a while.

As others say, it's the journey that matters. We won't appreciate the end result if our path of getting there is too easy or unmemorable. Especially in this instant economy, we always want to have things immediately that we have become impatient.

Now we come to my personal experience. The shiny new career that I wanted to get into has finally lost it's sparkle. I find faults in every little thing now. There's always something I don't like with my work mates, the place, the situation, etc. Egads, how terrible it is once we get used to something. πŸ˜…

Perhaps my expectations were too high that I have finally realized it is not as great as it seems. Reality TV is much more entertaining than real life. πŸ˜‚ I got into this because of a TV series and now I am somehow disappointed with what's going on. Maybe I won't even qualify if I apply abroad because of the quality of on the job training (OJT) I have been getting.

My manager did say that the show is 50% "fake." The things that happen in it aren't 100% happening in real life. That's what he told me before I even started. One and half month into this new career and I am only seeing it now. What he said is indeed true. How disappointing. πŸ˜…

The only remaining bright light for me in this situation is perhaps it is different abroad. Perhaps in other countries it is quite like what I've seen in the show. But of course I would not keep my hopes up anymore. I might get overly disappointed again if I do. πŸ˜‚

After more than a week of "vacation" I finally go back to Batangas today to continue my OJT. I'm not even excited to go there anymore. Everything is a disappointment for me. (Wow, big words coming from a trainee huh? I'm not even an expert at this career but that's really how I feel right now.)

This is not sourgraping or complaining, I'm simply saying that it always sucks when you realize "the magic is gone". Of course since I am already at this stage, I find it more difficult to want to leave home. πŸ˜‚ Oh well... Real life is here again.

Anyway there is always a silver lining to anything. I am hoping to get employed soon but I would prefer to get hired overseas. The salary abroad is six digits when converted to Philippine Peso, even for a newbie! Wow right?

It's time to submit my resume all over the place. Maybe I would even talk to a big shot senior guy I know of. Haha. Who knows, maybe he knows someone who's looking for new employees right? I just have to put on my thick face first before I contact him. Hahaha. He will probably be my last resort though.

A lot seems to have happened during my "vacation." I've also been able to think clearly about certain situations. I will write the full details soon when I get hired to work abroad and I already leave the country. Hahaha.

For now I will just take things one day at a time. My disappointment will pass and everything will be okay maybe in a few days. Ah, life is just full of ups and downs.

How about you, have you felt this situation recently too?

XOXO,

@LucyStephanie

* * *

All images from Unsplash.

Related articles:

Not a member of read.cash yet?Β Come join us! Let's microblog onΒ noise.cashΒ too!

10
$ 6.58
$ 6.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Gemstone
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 4
Sponsors of LucyStephanie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for LucyStephanie
2 years ago

Comments

I guess that's how life works. Excitement doesn't stay longer making us unhappy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes life is not always happy hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can somehow relate with the things that you have stated above sis. Minsan kasi, sa sobrnag used to na natin, nawawla na talaga yung spark. Tas mapipunta na naman sa ibang wants yung magic. Tas pag na achieve mo, mawawala na naman. Prang cycle lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True kaya enjoyin na lang habang exciting pa haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't think I felt that feeling now but I felt it many, many times throughout my life. After fighting so hard for my goals, after I achieved them, I didn't get as much pleasure as I expected. And I started again with another project.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah this is what happens sometimes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow I didn't expect to read this is happening to you, but it is still an experience that will help you continue to grow. I pray you reach your goals and those long awaited 6 digits. Happy day to you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha yes I hope so indeed. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago