Rest Days Are For The Overworked? πŸ˜…

28 46
Avatar for LucyStephanie
2 years ago

For sure you've been hearing/seeing the saying, "Rest is for the weak." Well... Have you ever felt your lower body become really tired and somehow painful right after work? Not just the legs but the feet and it seems your entire body itself! Well imagine feeling that for almost two weeks. Fatigue is not fun at all huh?

This is why I say hurray for rest days! πŸ˜‚ I really appreciate it now because of what happened right after the Halloween weekend. Dayummm. πŸ˜… I have never felt so physically weak and as tired as I felt until I experienced those two weeks of on the job training (OJT) in another department. Egads.

My body is really thankful it's not aching much now after my OJT stint there ended. πŸ˜‚ My pockets aren't too happy about it though. I still have P15.5k ($310) left of the OJT fee to get back as tips. I can't help but think of it and wonder if I can get it all back. (Focus on the goal self: to gain more work experience. Focus on the goal. πŸ˜…)

I used to get antsy for having too much free time before those two weeks. After experiencing the work I finally understood why my workmates didn't really feel guilty from lazing around for hours once work is done. πŸ˜† Actually I'm not used to working by using my body a lot more than my mind. That's why my human vessel really felt tired during the two weeks. Wow what a change of career indeed. πŸ˜…

Right after I was transferred back to the first department I was put in, I immediately felt a bit better. On top of that the medication (more info below) seems to be working as well. Who wouldn't be happy for those reasons?

Sunday was unexpectedly a rest day. Turns out we're having a four day rest day this week. Wow huh. Lucky them (the regular employees who are my initial workmates) they get paid even if they don't go to work that much. And yet they complain about every little thing the new manager tells them to do. They also talk about how they hate other people and the things those people did. Ah their discontent in life seems really high for some reason. πŸ€” Otherwise they are probably just used to such habits even though it's not really nice.

One of these days I'm going to ask them why they like to talk about how much they hate other people. It's like no one has good qualities whenever they talk about most folks. Tsk tsk.

To be fair they also have nice qualities. The introvert in me was happy to be invited to drink with them. I mean, who wouldn't like to drink alcohol even if the company isn't too great? I can work with anyone anytime especially when there are drinks involved hahaha.

Unfortunately I could only drink up to two beers because, hey I think I shouldn't have drunk at all. πŸ˜† I'm taking medications for the infected skin allergy remember? One of the two is antibiotics. It's not really good to mix alcohol with medicine especially when we're sick. I only have two more days and I'm done with it. Hehe. However I need another week for the other medicine before I go back for a check up. We'd probably do it online or not, depends on what happens with my OJT.

Anyway yesterday I was told I could go home if I wanted since the next two days are officially my rest days. Well I can focus on resting all day until Wednesday unless my client gives the go signal to have some Viber stickers designed. Won't have time to do any afterwards of course. Not even sure when I would have free time again next week. I'm thinking I might get transferred to the other department by December 1st. Ah that's a long wait time huh? Oh well.

I shall just enjoy the calm before the storm. Before the real work starts again, I will fully enjoy these days and relax as much as I can. Maybe I will even drop by the water spa with the scented hot baths. Oh my body really needs that now. Haha. It's been a few years since I went to one so I think it's time to do so again. (But then again something came up so I can't go anymore.)

Going back on the saying, I used to say that too whenever I had to overwork. (Edit: Forgot to add there is an alternate one which is, "Sleep is for the weak.") Working too much is not good for the body and yet we do it when we have to. Thus we kind of feel proud when we are able to work and accomplish something while our body suffers. (Just like when I did a double job stint back in 2018.)

As I get older I don't feel the need to say such things anymore. πŸ˜… It's not fun when our bodies start complaining more often because of the physical abuse we do to ourselves. I'm finding life is really a road full of discoveries and changes.

How about you? How's the start of your week? How time flies, it's almost December again. Hehe.

XOXO,

@LucyStephanie

* * *

All images from Unsplash.

Not a member of read.cash yet?Β Come join us! Let's microblog onΒ noise.cashΒ too!

9
$ 2.85
$ 2.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @mommykim
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 5
Sponsors of LucyStephanie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for LucyStephanie
2 years ago

Comments

Why would anyone want to mix medicine with alcohol?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It gets mixed in the stomach, not literally before drinking both. πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No matter how strong and hardworking a person is, you can never cheat nature when sleep calls.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some people can forego sleep especially when it is really needed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

habang eto ako Sunday lang nakakahinga aguyyyyy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha yun lng. One day off naranasan ko yan. Two weeks ago ganyan. Sa amin naman either pagdikitin m yung dalawa or isang big time off na apat. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wow talaga ako sa maraming off days eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gawan m n lng ng paraan kung gusto m more. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahahahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

After a hard a busy days it right sometimes to be in relax mode. ☺ tama malapit na magpasko kaya hands na maraming insanak diyan. Stress katulad lang ng dati,hahah pero medyo hindi naman na iniinda basta happy lang dapat. Kailangan positive vibes lang para buong week happy lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually yung positive vibes ko since October eh nabawasan n. πŸ˜‚ Pero laban lang nga. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜…yun lang sis. Pero go lang ika nga eh ang buhay ay hindi laging ligaya meron ding kalungkutam na nakakabawas na positibing enerhiya.πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama. Kaya kahit may nega vibes na, push pa rin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, continue lang. Go in the flow 😁😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me? Im overused hehehe. Ive got a bz hectic sked even im just at home only but my god I cant say that I have a rest day. Taking care of a baby is not easy, I cant even comb my hair hahaha. But Im happy with my kids, all is worth it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah yes, a mother's life is always busy. Hehehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bz na wlang sahod.. Walang karapatang magreklamo.. Wlang day off hahaha..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha true

$ 0.00
2 years ago

parang same statement na sleep is for the weak..hehe pero we need rest days of course

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes yun din (edit ko nga, isama ko rin). Haha. True kelangan tlga natin ng rest days kahit na bitin palagi kasi d nmn tayo nakaka-rest ng buo. House chores and personal things din gagawin haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nmn tayo nakaka-rest ng buo. House chores an

totoo yan else masstress tayu..lalabas mga sakit sakit sa katawan and all

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all deserve a break, Lalo na pag super stressed yung work environment natin lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So true, yung tipong ayaw mo na gumalaw pero sanay ka na gumalaw palagi. Or rest ka lang tlga at d ka gagalaw kahit ano gawin. πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can't wait for December to come! πŸ˜‚ Rest days are my delight. :P

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah December... Lapit na tlga. Sana d n need mag-work e 'no? Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa true lang.. haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung beer ang nagdala jan, sis hehe. But trust me, I truly feel you. Been spreading myself too thin!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha beer pa more! πŸ˜πŸ˜†πŸ»

$ 0.00
2 years ago