Have You Ever Wasted Months or Years of Your Life?

11 64
Avatar for LucyStephanie
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Thoughts, Philippines, Work, Diary, ...

Look back at your life and tell me, is there any big chunk of time you wasted? Or have you been in that moment when you know you'd waste your time but still went through with it hoping it would turn out okay but it didn't? Well that's me since February of this year.

It is not four months yet but I started sometime in Feb and look at me now. Almost four months and all I got is a lot of headaches and stress. πŸ˜† Why did I choose to stay in my current job despite knowing nothing good will happen? As always we can blame false positivity, hoping against hope or wishful thinking.

We all don't like to believe the truth and so we still go on the journey even though we already know the ending. What is the point then? Actually I rarely do this but out of pity (maybe) for someone, I did it. Now she too knows what I have been saying since the beginning. πŸ˜‚

Ah well... Let's just say I served as a buffer for her stubbornness. (Of course I am not blameless for I let myself be dragged into this.) I don't know how many times I told her this tech obsolete and backward company/management isn't worth working for. And yet she wanted to stay for the promise of tomorrow. (It's like she thinks it's worth it to "make us suffer" with her. πŸ˜‚ Oh well.)


Honestly I've got bills to pay that's why I stayed. Had to replace my old phone and such so there. What I make online by writing in a month is not enough for me to buy an affordable smartphone (based on the past months to recent cryptocurrency price) so of course why not get a job?

And so this is why life is such right now. πŸ˜† I don't even know what to think anymore. Maybe I just won't think it's a waste even if it is. Change the mindset to change my life. Hahaha.

Also, the new career I paid my On the Job Training (OJT) for last year looks like I will just have to give it a go without waiting for a recommendation letter. Better just start almost from scratch again because it has become an "expensive" experience.

The company I trained under is "trying to elevate the industry" but most do not have the professional attitude at all. I tried but some people just aren't a fit to certain industries I guess. Or I probably joined the wrong crowd. Let's see what happens if I go abroad instead. Maybe it's a lot better overseas, who knows?

Anyway seems like only a little has been going right in my life since 2020 that's for sure. Something is afoot and we are all being kept blind. Even if there are a few who are getting through in telling us to focus on the good there too many bad things popping up left and right to keep us in the negative mindset. This of course makes us lose hope in humanity. The way out of it is up to each of us.

If we can keep concentrating on the good things in life and being grateful for the things we have then things will get better indeed. Doing that requires constant buffering of positive thoughts and such. When you are bombarded by negativity everyday and everywhere it is very difficult to keep your head above the surface. They say meditation helps but I'm not much into it. *sigh*

Right now all I can say is "wasting time" is my choice of poison because everywhere else I plan to go is blocked for some reason. I don't want to be stuck and do nothing so I'd rather do this than stare at the walls and watch TV shows and movies everyday. At least I got to travel to various provinces here in Luzon. Better than being cooped up at home everyday. Ah what a life we are living now.

How about you, what have you been up to?

XOXO,

@LucyStephanie

* * *

All images from Unsplash.

Not a member of read.cash yet?Β Come join us! Let's microblog onΒ noise.cashΒ too!

4
$ 0.70
$ 0.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Pichi28
$ 0.02 from @foryoubtc09
+ 1
Sponsors of LucyStephanie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for LucyStephanie
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Thoughts, Philippines, Work, Diary, ...

Comments

You're just there temporarily, I agree that it's better than just watching tv and that you made every hour productive. We have every reason for every decision so I respect that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah. Such is life...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

First, we stay put or choose to remain stuck because of needs and responsibilities. It can be nerve-wracking to think about where to get the resources for obligations and even basic needs like food.

And then it could be age... I mean are we at a point where taking a risk is more stressful than wallowing in the life (or job) that we have because we're not sure if things will work out? Not knowing, too, what we really want to do or BE is another.

How can we venture into other things when it is unclear where we can thrive, at least interest-wise, then just put ourselves through the ringer and hope it works out. Sigh...

And maybe, it's being clear about what we truly want in life. Can we be happy living the simplest life? Do we want things that require a lot of resources? And that's why kids have it easy - they don't complicate things. Maybe we ought to think more like them.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Kids should be kids but in order to be better adults I believe it is best to teach them life lessons early and not just let them play all day and do nothing. Anyway despite early life lessons we can still turn out as unsuccessful adults. It's really all up to each of us how our life turns out... Hayyy.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

True. Holistic growth. Kids are sponges. They should be made to absorb the good, the true, and the right. Then we pray they don't stray from the right path later in light, or at least find their way back if they get lost at some point.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes I feel like I may have wasted months and years. That is a little too strong this past two years because of the pandemic and some org changes. But I guess a huge portion of why I "seemingly" stay is because it is "stable".

Bills are paid.. some luxuries are bought.. am I moving closer to my dreams .. baby steps. Even as we go through life, some instances it would feel like we are stuck and not progressing specially these days when living price is getting higher and higher.

If it is time to move, move or will your self to. That will is what is absent in me. I am 90 % not wanting to shake the tree and 10% unsatisfied with the very tree I am afraid of shaking. .. lols.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I have absolutely no idea what I should be doing at this point and I certainly do not want to be a nun so maybe I will just sit tight from now on until I am able to really decide. Lol.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I sometimes wonder why becoming a nun seems to be the option for when we don't know what to do . πŸ€”

Anyway, madali sabihin sa side ko kasi di ako gagawa... Ibang industry kaya sis?

Minsan naiisip ko din baka mas fulfilling din yung mag add ng volunteer work or something..

Mga ganun naiisip ko lang naman.

Pero yun nga like I said.. easier said than done.

Howell. You will figure it out. :) Kaya yan!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol nandun sa past article ko reason kaya ko nilink huy haha. It's not because of what you think haha. Already did the other industry if you remember. Lol. Anyway good luck to all of us. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If you feel like you are wasting your time in your current job, them I suggest you find a better one. If you work without happiness, whatever you do, it is pointless.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for dropping by my article.

$ 0.00
1 year ago