Decluttering Day 1 & 2: No Thanks to Facebook Ad Virus

8 37
Avatar for LucyStephanie
2 years ago

What do you think are the things we find when we tidy up our belongings after years and years of neglect? I certainly had no idea what I would see again after a long time. Haha.

Yep, suddenly I am finally doing this. I have procrastinated for what seems like a decade so yesterday I began major clearing, organizing and decluttering of my stuff. Oh I have so many accumulated things. Well maybe not too much but enough to say I have a lot of unnecessary objects lying all over the house.

I have determined seven areas that I need to clear up. These are where most of my things are. Some stuff are junk, others are already broken, and the rest are just things I haven't been using for a long time. Might as well get rid of almost everything so I can easily move out in the future.

Maybe I will do before and after shots when I'm done eh? Haha. It would probably take me more or less than a month at the rate I'm going. Let's see if I can do it in two weeks at least... πŸ€”

Why Declutter Now?

Well the best time to start doing anything is always now. There's no other time to do this than today (or yesterday when I wrote this) because I don't have anything else to do. I have no job, my computer can't be used online because it got infected by the Facebook/Meta sponsored ad virus and I can't do much now due to the extended stricter January quarantine. So what else would I do before I can really work soon?

I have never been much of an organizer of stuff even as a kid. You can make me wash dishes, pots and pans all day everyday easy and I'd even thank you for it but you'll never make me organize/tidy up anything. πŸ˜‚ Nope, not even my "sister-in-law" could make me do it. πŸ˜† She even had an assistant/maid at the house we all rented some years ago and she wanted me to clean up the house? Excuse me, I reluctantly did so once and that's it. #ktnxbye πŸ˜‚

No I definitely don't have OC (obsessive compulsive behavior). The more disarranged things are, the better for me. πŸ˜‚ They say it is what artists are known for but it's been years since I really did anything creative.

My personal business flyer for giveaway during Komikon 2017.

I think 2017 was the last time I made a lot of art. After that it was always business and work in my real estate career. Definitely my artsy side is behind me now. But of course I still use it from time to time but never in a major way.

It's definitely time for me to tidy up my things after years of neglect. And so yesterday I started with one area. Our dining table is almost filled with my stuff. Why? Well since 2018 (I think) I have lived on my own here at home. You know what happens when you're home alone, you put stuff wherever you want. πŸ˜‚

My other sibling has been working abroad for a few years now and would only come back for a few months (except 2020-2021). I still didn't remove any of my disorganized belongings during those times. Haha. It's only now that I really decided to tidy everything up. It's now or never. πŸ˜‚

What Have You Found So Far?

Well the piles of things to sell and give away are definitely growing. If only I could sell them all in one go that would be great huh? But I don't and will probably never do live selling so I will just sell online the usual slower way.

Aside from seeing my remaining flyers again (pic above), I have a few more notable ones worth sharing. One of the things I have finally thrown away yesterday is probably the very first keychain I bought. I remember this item was from my student days. 😁 Already forgot from what year exactly but I've kept it because Hunter x Hunter (HxH) is my favorite anime. (Used to have another fave but I outgrew that so this one is at the top now.)

Goodbye my old broken HxH keychain. ❀

I'm more of a Hisoka person but hey anything HxH is good enough for me. Not much merchandise of that character at the time so I bought the keychain and a menacing poster of Kurapica too!

So sad when you don't have your own house. Almost everything I own are still in boxes and the posters are all rolled up. Anyway that's a topic for another day.

I also found this refrigerator magnet from 2018. The one on the top left is already in use since that year, while the red one is still in its packaging. I didn't know where it was until I found it again. πŸ˜‚

Bought in Vietnam in 2018. 😊

I was thinking of giving it away to any relative or friend when my cousin and I got back from our first Asian cruise but I was never able to. πŸ˜… Will just sell the red one once I'm done decluttering. Or maybe when I can take more decent pics. 😁

Might as well sell it instead right? (If you want to buy it, let me know.) I also have a wooden keychain from China but I have to find that too before I can offer it for sale. πŸ˜‚

I hire a cleaning lady 2 or 3 times a year to clean the house. Of course I let her arrange stuff wherever she can. That's why I don't know where some of my things are. However I only ask her about "missing" items maybe three times or a bit more in a year too. πŸ˜‚ That's how unaware I am and how unused most of my stuff are.

Look at this, I even got surprised to find several years old eyeglasses. Been looking for this for months! πŸ˜† Finally I found it again. Hurray! My left eye isn't matching the grade of the lens anymore but I can still use it if I needed to.

This kind of frame is really better because it lasts longer and doesn't need much maintenance.

What's Next?

Tomorrow is another day. I don't know what else I will find in the seven dumps. You'll find out soon when I'm done. Not sure when I will post about them next though. πŸ˜„

One thing's for sure, a lot of things will be thrown away! Yes I will really and truly be throwing everything I should throw. I wonder what will be left for me once I am done. Haha.

For me, it is really a struggle to let go of things you might use or can still use in the future. Many of the clutter I have are exactly that, things I have not used or even seen in years! Rarely would I look for something hidden or put away just to use in recent times. Perhaps I can count it in my fingers too! I do not want everything to be with me forever so bye bye to all of those things soon!

How about you, have you done any major cleaning/decluttering last year? If not, when do you think you will also be cleaning up all the clutter at home? 😊

XOXO,

@LucyStephanie

* * *

All photos/images in this article are mine.

Not a member of read.cash yet?Β Click here to join usΒ so you'll have some Bitcoin Cash too! Let's microblog onΒ noise.cashΒ as well!

9
$ 4.28
$ 4.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.03 from @Oikawa
+ 1
Sponsors of LucyStephanie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for LucyStephanie
2 years ago

Comments

You made me so inspire to declutter too, I honestly don't like to misplace things and I want them to be organized but now it's hard because I don't have a personal room yet..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh having a personal room is important indeed. Well hope you can declutter soon then. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This inability to arrange rooms is very common in guys which I'm among them🀦. I only arranges when I feel someone is visiting or on a special occasion. But I'm trying these days in this aspect. Man upπŸ’ͺ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, haha. I think that's true too. πŸ˜† Yeah you can do it! πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My last declutter was year 2020 where the start of the pandemic and I was working only 3 times a day but paid completely because all areas in the metro were on strict quarantine. It is a great feeling to declutter. it is tiring but it brings back memories.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh nice. Hehe. Ako now pa lang. Nadistract pa ako kaya nadelay n nmn haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kapag nakalipat na siguro ako ay! Kasi iniisip ko dito sa inuupahan ko baka kailanganin ko pa yung mga malilit na bagay bagay hehe

Uy nakapunta na pala ikaw sa Vietnam dzai ayoooos! Hehe :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe for sure pag lilipat na saka mag-ayos ng gamit. Yes nakapunta na pero sana maka-work abroad na lang din.

$ 0.00
2 years ago