Things I Learnt Early In Life That Actually Matter

11 36
Avatar for Lucifan
2 years ago
Topics: Life

Hello guys. Hope you're all very fine. It's been a bit chilly in the morning, and while I'm not one for covering myself up in the day, I just confess that the tips of my fingers are really numb from the cold this morning. What's the weather like in your area? How it's just as great? I love the cold. I mean this as against the heat. If you feel cold, you can easily cover up, but I'm my country, there's no easy remedy for heat. There's usually no power so you can't turn on the fans or something most of the time. What weather do you prefer? Also let me know.

Yesterday, I talked about a few things worth admiring about Nigerian traditions. I forgot to mention that they aren't really upheld these days to the extent they once were. Children of nowadays are hopelessly spoilt. Anyways, today, my write up is going to be a bit similar. I'm going to be taking about some things I learnt as a child that aren't really obvious to the brats or nowadays again. Let's get to it.

1 Money isn't everything

This is so cliche to anyone from my time and before, but children of nowadays don't appear to have heard these words, or even worse, they'd laugh at you just for stating this. These days, children of twice and thirteen are seasoned veterans of internet fraud and you are forced to wonder what they really aim to do with the money they steal from people online.

I'm my day, we didn't really care about if a person was rich or poor. We loved at the values the person had in choosing friends or grading people. When we talked about money, we usually said stuff like "I'll take care of my mum" or "I'll feed the poor" or talk about starting charity organizations because we didn't like that things were bad for certain people. We never really cared for ourselves so much. We instead took our negative experiences as pointers to what our callings were in life. What I mean by this is, if someone suggested a certain sickness often, you could almost be sure he was going to study hard to be a doctor, or if someone had a relative that was unjustly imprisoned, you could tell from his questions and conversations that he'd want to study law. Even the most unruly ones amongst us had more depth than the average child today.

2 Reading is a noble way of life

Now, I'm not claiming that everyone read in my time, but they at least respected those that read. We were openly praise and admired no matter what genre we read. I myself had two must of Shakespeare's popular plays by twelve and when I was fifteen, I had started my quest for Raymond E Feist's works. Children of nowadays don't even know the local greats such as Wole Shoyinka, or Chinua Achebe. They don't read anything except maybe messages from their internet fraud targets.

I don't like these changes, but I don't see a way to just change the mindset the next generation has developed except the government changes things.

Thanks for reading my articles. I hope this wasn't too long. You're awesome guys.

10
$ 0.15
$ 0.03 from @gertu13
$ 0.03 from @Fexonice1
$ 0.03 from @GarrethGrey07
+ 4
Sponsors of Lucifan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Lucifan
2 years ago
Topics: Life

Comments

Reading: during those days, we bonded well with books and how to pass exams. But now, children don't even care again, the world is spoilt and a lot are depending on manipulation to pass exams. The internet fraud is another point to frown at

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Funny thing is that society didn't grown upon internet fraud much until the ritual killings started...!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, the ritual killings skyrocketed it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Internet fraud is truly a disturbing problem, young kids who still have their lives ahead of them are already trying to get rich

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah ... I wonder what is responsible though...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A lot of things really

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dear Lucifan, you raised a very good topic. I always compare what was valued to me as a child with what is valued to children today, and I feel sorry for them. Unfortunately, what you said is not only in your country, and I think it has happened all over the world...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's hard to believe... I wonder why it's happening like that friend Ellen...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No government will ever make anything better. It is various governments' increasing intrusion into life that is destroying society in the first place. Politics destroys. I mean this in general terms, not about a specific country. All countries.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow... This is deep .. this is a new perspective... I'm in africa,,, and we look up to the united States government... I don't really think their government is destroying their society in any way...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really? That is one of the worst of them! But I know the African perspective makes it very hard to see the truth about this. It requires a shift of paradigms, a changed perspective, free from prejudice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago