My Favorite Bible Stories (3)

19 29
Avatar for Lucifan
2 years ago
Topics: Life, History, Religion

Hello guys. How are you today? How was Christmas yesterday? Hope you celebrated with your families? I am well aware that a lot of happening so over the world, but please try to focus on the positive side of things. If it matters to you, then please always remember that I care about you.

Today, I bring you more of the same. It won't do to just use a few stories from thousands. I keep remembering now stories and I just feel I should write more bible stories. Also, these stories are interesting.

Today, I remembered a story about destiny, and how it can't be stopped in any way. This is a story of jealousy and envy (two powerful emotions in themselves) that couldn't stop destiny that was written in stone. Today I bring you the story of Joseph the dreamer (as we called him in my younger days).

1 Joseph

Have you ever had an annoying younger brother who was his dad's favorite? That was Joseph. He was the eleventh son of twelve. His mother had only one other and his name was Benjamin. Joseph was known in my younger days as the dreamer for a very good reason. He used to have these dreams that were very suggestive of him becoming ruler over his house. I'll get back to that. First, I must mention that his dad lives him so much, he didn't even bother to hide it. His dad bought him a coat of many colors. Only God (and maybe his dad) knows what his dad was thinking because this only made his brothers green with murderous envy.

Now back to the dream issue. You now know that his brothers hated his guts and we jealous of him. Apparently, the way to make it worse is too have good dreams, and say it out loud.

His first dream...

They were all in the field gathering sheaves and all of a sudden, all the other sheaves started bowing to his own.

His second dream was eerily similar...

The sun, the moon, and eleven stars just had nothing better to do that start bowing to him. (Guys I can't make this up. It's in the bible. I told you it's not just a boring book. I finished it as a child, and I'm not a churchy person!!!)

Anyways, his brothers more than hated him at this point. His dad blundered and sent him to give good to his brothers in the fields one fateful day, and he gullibly obliged. He even put on his favorite coat of many colors!!!

When his brothers saw him from afar, they were going to kill him. But the oldest one got brilliant and creative. He decided it was better they sold him as a slave. The oldest one was called Ruben. It was this same sort of creativity that made him lie with his dad's wife later, but this isn't his story. Back to Joseph...

As soon as he got near enough they grabbed him violently, took his cloth, and rubbed it in the blood of one of the sheep, to lend credence to the story that a wild animal killed him, and they threw Joseph in a well. After a while, they sold him to ishmaelites for 20 shekels or something like that.

His dad of course was sad. Poor Israel.

Joseph on the other hand was the lucky one, so naturally, his luck rubbed off on his master, and everything that was committed to the hands of Joseph, was more than successful. In no time, he sort of became the unofficial master of the house. He ran things so smoothly, it didn't really matter what the master would have wanted.

But this won't have been a good story if it ended here. The woman of the house soon decided her husband wasn't good enough again, and she wanted to have Joseph. But Joseph was too morally upright to succumb to her wiles. She then, in the ultimate feminine evil decided if she couldn't have him, her husband couldn't also, so she framed him and tried to make it look like he tried to have his way with her.

Joseph was sent to prison and this was where things got really fun. The baker and the cup bearer were in the prison for some reason, and they both had dreams, and Joseph was a master of dreams at this point. He still had yet to master the subtle art of keeping his mouth shut though (this proved to be a good thing in the long long run though). He interpreted their dreams and true to what he said, the baker was beheaded on the third day, while the cup bearer was set free. He did ask the cup bearer to remember him in the future, but who actually remembers foreign strangers met in prison?

One day though, the king had dreams he couldn't interprete, and I believe you see where this is going?

Yes our main man Joe was the only one up to the task, and it got him out of prison. He was able to save Egypt from famine, and have enough stored up to feed the rest of the known world till the point that his old family that you've almost forgotten about came to buy food from him, and ended up bowing to him because they couldn't even recognize him, nor were they able to imagine he'd still be alive!!!

That's the end of my telling of the story. The story is just the beginning of how Israel because slaves to Egypt, but maybe I'll tell that sometime later. Hope you guys enjoyed my story.

Thanks for always reading, upvoting, and commenting!!!

You're awesome!

6
$ 2.07
$ 1.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.03 from @Ling01
+ 3
Sponsors of Lucifan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Lucifan
2 years ago
Topics: Life, History, Religion

Comments

All the stories in the bible are so wonderful, including this. That's why during holy week, I always watch "The Bible" movie.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice idea!!! You're a very pious person... That's awesome!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are lots of similarities between the both Islam and Christiane religion, when I was a kid I heard this story from my mother. Sometimes we need to read our holy books in order gain some peace of mind and good lessons. I'm waiting for next stories , I hope I will be able to read those stories too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes you're right friend... Lots of similarities. I've never read the Muslim holy book though... Thanks for reading and commenting... You're awesome...!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just read some pages of bible though, I think we should read each and every religion's holy book. All the books provides lots of knowledge, good lessons.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I once picked up a friend's qur'an, and I didn't understand it... It's not in English... :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Then I think you should go for english version, I'm sure you will find lots of similarities there and you will like it too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love this story so much. I mean, I read it as a child but the way you told it made it so interesting and even funny lol. Keep it up!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks!!! You're so so nice!!!!! Thanks for reading it, and even bothering to comment too!!! Much love!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember hearing this story before a lot, especially when I was in grade school.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope I tried with the narration... I tried to make it a bit interesting...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One of the stories I love in the Bible is that of Joseph because it teaches great lessons we can learn from. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're so nice with the comment!!! Thanks friend... I appreciate reading and commenting!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for sharing the word of God

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm happy you liked it!!!! Thanks for commenting!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Next part please. Your previous episode has been much better. Hope next part will more better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alright Maze, I'll do something else for tomorrow... Thanks for sharing your opinion. You're awesome!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago