That time I almost became a ConMan [Part 1]

2 23
Avatar for LordKingPotato
2 years ago

I can still remember that time almost five years ago. That's the first time I've worn a suit, neck tie and long sleeves for almost a month. That leather shoes I borrowed was a bit small, I always had calluses and bruises all over my heels, those parts near the Achilles tendon and at the sides of my feet.

"You need to be formal and presentable", my mate told me. He's been working there for two years I think.

I checked my wallet and what's left is my last 500 Peso bill ( around 10 USD). That was the last string for me, that one string that separated me from those people who sat on cartons - those who lifted their empty cans when someone passed by.

Just one year.

Just one year and I can enter the university again. I'd get a decent job, date girls again, marry someone pretty and get a happy life.

Just one year.

Those were the words I kept on saying to myself, repeating them almost every time my mind was devoid of any other thought. I needed to build a motivation to live. I couldn't fail. I knew I had to walk, but first I must find a road.

The interview was finished and I did great. The interviewer was a lady in her early 30's. She had a beautiful smile on her face and was comfortable to talk to. I looked at her face the entire time, at the corner of my eye I knew she was wearing something revealing. I didn't dare to do anything that would forsake my chances to enter the company. Just a glance below the neck line and I'd be dead. At the end she smiled at me and told me to come back a few hours later.

I was lucky. Out of 50-ish interviewees they only accepted 8 people and I was one of them.

We had to train for a month. Communication skills were polished every single day. I'm not very good in English even until now. But the trainer told us that it needed not to be perfect, English skills is only secondary. What we needed to build was confidence.

"They know it. They can smell your doubts. You'd not sell anything if you're not confident enough. Better quit and find another job, but I doubt you'd find something as good paying as this one. Hehehe", the trainer said with a smirk plastered on his face.

I know it was good paying, just his presence told everything to us. A huge man, neatly dressed and with so many accessories shining from him, he looked like those noble men from medieval movies. Three golden rings on his right hand and two on his left, two of them embedded with red and green jewels just a bit smaller than a marble. And that necklace, 'Is he a dog?', that was the first sentence that came through my mind. Anyway, he was a nice guy it's just he was too overwhelming for my eyes.

The first two weeks were the best. I easily got acquainted with my fellow trainees. Befriending them let me view things a bit differently...

To be continued...

***

Image is from Pixabay

2
$ 0.10
$ 0.10 from @Vibration101
Avatar for LordKingPotato
2 years ago

Comments

Awwwww man! I'm on the edge of my seat and you left me on that cliff hanger!!!! Awesome work friendo, I was captivated the entire time. I've worked in sales for 11 years, so I know the grind ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the very warm response! Happy to see someone who can relate :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago