Post Valentine Thoughts

0 30
Avatar for Lois
Written by
3 years ago

This year, me and my family didn't celebrate Valentine's Day the usual way --- a dinner out, flowers for my mother, or vacation with family.

Last month, we lost my mother-in-law to cancer complications. It was a devastating moment since she was a very lively person, very loud, laughed very loudly, very strong and intimidating persona, and a loving person in her own way. She told me once that she cannot imagine herself taking care of my little daughter alone. My little one is as shrew and naughty, and she is not intimidated by anyone. But I have seen how my mother-in-law was proud of my baby girl; how she doted on our baby through trinkets and toys and anything her granddaughter would ask for. When we lost her, I cried for her and my daughter --- for her as a mom and granny she would have been, and for my daughter for losing a very loving granny so early. In Filipino tradition, we will be celebrating her 40 days on February 26.

Then last February 13 past 7 o'clock in the evening, my other side of the family lost our niece to cholesteatoma brain. As tradition of the Maranao tribe, her dead body should be buried before sunset. We buried our niece on February 14 at noon. Her birthday was February 15, and she would have been 26. Would have been married to her love of her life before this year ends. Painful. Devastating. Frustrating.

But what gave me hope in these sad times is the love I am seeing at each family member, to friends near and far, to colleagues past and present. These sad times reinforce the genuine love that is present to each and everyone. These are times that reminds each of us how precious every second is, and how precious each of us to each other. We might not say aloud, "hey, i love you you know," but that simple squeeze on your shoulder says it all and more.

Let me share this to everyone and I hope you had a wonderful Valentine's day celebration with your loved ones.

1
$ 0.45
$ 0.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Lois
Written by
3 years ago

Comments