What Does Being An "Educated" Mean?

27 98
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
1 year ago

We refer the term Educated as a person who is studying, or a professional, or someone who already have accomplishments in his/her studies. For me not be biased, I search in Google and it shows;

Educated - resulting from or having had a good education

- Oxford Languages Dictionary

If we just based on what Oxford Languages Dictionary provided, we can say that there's a lot of us who are educated, even you who are reading this. We are all educated, but are we well-mannered?

Unsplash - by Element5 Digital

________________________

Maybe 2 years ago when I visited one of our local private school. And I was sitting with my friends in their outside canteen, and one store in there have a tarpaulin saying, "Be a real educated, throw your garbage on the trash can", something like this. And in other store there is also something like a slogan saying, "Educated people throw garbages everywhere, uneducated people pickup the pieces". I can't remember the exact slogan they have but their message is like this. My friend said, "Vendors are reminding everyone, because students looks like educated but act like uneducated". It's true, some are only educated on what they are wearing but not on what they are doing.

There's a lot of people who are educated yet not well-mannered. That's why I said in my other article, that knowledge can fool us but a person with good heart is worth to know.


I don't know if the subject GMRC( Good Moral and Right Conduct) still exist in primary, but during my grade 1-3, our first subject was this. But as I remember, our adviser don't teach us anything on this subject, but just to give us announcement, so it became our favorite subject as we can do some chitchats to our seatmates. This is not good actually, imagine having this subject but instead on learning what a good character is, the student just do nothing.

In teaching and assessment, I prefer that teacher won't only focuses on the student's learning improvement, about their academic and curricular activities, but especially to the moral and behavior. At the end, no matter how intelligent the student, no matter how they can perfectly answer all the assessment if their behaviors are failed, learnings are still useless. I do hope that although most students are online class or modular, still they practice good deeds at home, this is a must in developing the holistic of a child.

But if you're a teacher, a parent, older sibling, having someone whom you are teaching, then don't forget that they are just student/s who are learning, that we should also control ourselves that we can't hurt their feelings, on what style we prefer to help them to became "well-mannered".

Let us also build their self-efficacy, it is the individual's belief about his/herself ability. For example in a student having anxiety, this will lead him to have a negative outlook about himself, then it can be the cause for him not to enjoy in studies and limit his capabilities; as student's emotional well-being is very important, that it will serve as a big factor for their motivation.

If a student are not motivated then how they can be well-educated. Again, well-educated not just "educated", it's not all about academic but being well-mannered.


Imagine living in the world wherein people are well-educated and well-mannered. No more degrading of rights, no more judgements and no more gab between classes. This won't happen by just a dream, but with actions, so what we need to do is to change for good; a positive change that should always start within ourselves.

________________________

Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty

Flexing my sponsors, people who guide and support me throughout my journey here. You guys can check them too:)


Images were edited using Canva/PicsArt

My appreciation to all by subscribers, likers, upvoters and commenters. May God Bless you all! 

read.cash|Telegram|gmail

June 4, 2022

-Ling

38
$ 6.94
$ 4.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.61 from @Alther
$ 0.15 from @beyourself
+ 29
Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Agree. Nowadays, a lot have said that well-mannered people are better than educated ones.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think GMRC isn't thought anymore in classes there's values education data nowadays ( not 100% sure) but back in my time teen years it was changed to Values Ed na.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I actually think being educated refers to the values instilled in us by our parents because nowadays the so-called educated people now act carelessly

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There's a lot of people who have this so called degree now but their manners is off the hook and can't even perform the word respect correctly that's why I can say that they are not well educated at all..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like the point you raised about educated people who throw trash on the floor. Education is not about the level we reach in institution or School, it is about how we act and behave with we've learnt in school

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, my friend, you have written a very good article, it is not only that you should get degrees, but it is that you follow the chair and teach it to others.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For some reason I see teens having very less moral values now. They are getting a bit of selfish and don't think anything except about themselves. In my student days we have a subject of Moral Science from standard 4-9th. It was my favourite class expect a sports or games class, haha. Learning about those values gave me a positive mindset at my teenage.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

This subject is new to me, but I know most boys do love sports class. They enjoy and at the same it improve their physical health, just I'm not into physical sports hahah

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well-educated is always associated with well-mannered. Why can't we both? Like we posses these two characteristic. The most important thing is we have a pure heart.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is also what my parents always said when I started my education at school they always said that don't embarrass your parents. This sentence of advice is intended so that I can maintain my attitude and actions. The goal is that good behavior must be shown to my friends and teachers and that's what basically it is useless to have high knowledge if the character is damaged.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sadly, the people who have graduated from the prestigious school are the less mannered people because they think they are better than anyone. While those vendors on the street are so humble even sometimes their rights are being stepped by.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Being an educated individual is a concept we can all agree on. We desire it, strive for it, and aspire to be it. Unfortunately being a product of the world we live in, with its standards and expectations, we often get lost in what that means or even how to achieve it. We're so concerned with doing that that we forget why we wanted to do it in the first place.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Manner is how I defined people whose educated, I will based them on their actioms and words, not all educated people are gone to school, sometimes pa nga people who's great and well educated at school has no manners outside.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i think GMRC is not existing subject right now. it was already left behind. to become educated is to become a good person too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have a friend we both Graduated months ago but she isn't acting as one who is educated. She behaves like an uneducated person and I wonder if she actually learnt something in school.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed, there are lots of educated person's out there that has no manners. Acting like educated but unmannered and uneducated as they don't even show respect, they even become the trouble maker in the society.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Education without manners is a waste cos I see no reason why one is educated and doesn't know how to behave well in society. Such a person is nothing different from being uneducated.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

It is, that's why we must prioritize being well-mannered than just educated. Better if this two haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think being educated is nothing if you got not good manners. Behavior, language tune, and sense of humor make us human beings. Care for people's emotions, respect and ideas, and value all little and big people's thoughts. Respect elder and love to younger make us well educated. Marks do not matters.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

You sum up all the qualities that can defeat the value of what they called "educated" is. I do agree on this.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A teacher should be a psychologist treating every student according to their psychology. I was biology teacher in my school area and enjoy how to teach. I shall take your advices in this article in positive way.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Oh my, I'm glad to know this. Salute to you teacher!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is true what you say my friend, sometimes people with high education have low morals but educated people have good behavior even though their knowledge is not great.

$ 0.06
1 year ago

Yes, this is not for all. But as I observed most

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well mannered with positive personal grooming is compulsory parallel to academic growth. Well Said that educated not covers only from books.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Indeed, others think that they are really bright just because they have this education, but it's not all about that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago