#3.The Disadvantage of Marrying Someone from other Region

3 26
Avatar for Lhes
Written by
2 years ago

As many people says, being married is not easy, so how much more if you choose to marry someone who doesn't have same culture with you?

Yes, my husband is also a Filipino but as we knows Philippines was rich when is come cultures and traditions. I came from Visayas and he is from South Luzon, so the first thing we differs is;

LANGUAGE

I speak "hiligaynon" while he used tagalog but "Batangueo" sometimes using an old tagalog. There are times I couldn't understand what he is talking about. Like he says one time " Saan mo nilagay ang "TUBAL" mo?". I was left dumbfounded, like what is TUBAL? only to know he is actually referring to my used clothes for laundry. Good thing I didn't answer in Hiligaynon too.

Aside from language we had a different way of cooking though we are just referring to one menu.

POTCHERO ALA E BATANGAS VS POTCHERO FROM VISAYAS

We decided to cook potchero one time but we end up having a small argument in the market as we are picking different ingredients for potchero. However he was the in-charge in cooking so we end up cooking potchero Batangas version.

There are so many to mentioned actually but I would be giving the last one which is ;

CELEBRATING HOLIDAYS (ex. ALL SOULS/SAINTS DAY)

It was out first time to celebrate long weekend due to "all souls/saints day". I was actually wondering why it seems a normal day for them aside from they prepared the flowers to be brought at the cemetery. I asked my husband what we gonna cooked cause back in our place we used to cook something made in glutinous rice. Then we had prepare a small servings of what we had cooked and put in a place (altar) along with lighted candles. It is somehow an offering to our dead love ones. Our old believes that this the time of their visit so it is necessary that we have something to offer. Well my husband's family doesn't have this culture. They would just visit in cemetery, offered a prayer then it's done. That's how the days end.

So for the first year of our marriage we had that adjustment period because of our indifferences. There are time he would follow what I want and vice versa. We just learned how to compromise and have that negotiations.

So that's my personal experienced. Is there anyone who has same experienced with mine?

 

2
$ 0.03
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @dLifeWanderer
Avatar for Lhes
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I'm not married yet, but when we are conducting pre-marriage counseling we always include the preparation of the couple not only financially but emotionally/ psychologically, specially when it comes to differences....

$ 0.00
2 years ago

we attended pre - marriage too, but being in actual situation is difference, but at end of the end day we learned to adjust from our individual differences.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, as I always say, what we teach are only theories... you can learn more as you live together longer...

$ 0.00
2 years ago