Is maturity a reason for a sudden change of preferences?

1 72
Avatar for Lhes
Written by
2 years ago
Sponsors of Lhes
empty
empty
empty

It was just a normal Friday yesterday and I was busy with my computer when a colleague gave me some donuts. Usually, I choose the chocolate flavor as I have a sweet tooth. Since our admin is no longer strict since the pandemic, I am actually eating while working. After having bites. I felt something uncomfortable in my tongue. It hurts and feels like it was injured. I don't know if it is normal but I always felt this every time I ate something sweet.

Then, I came to realize that somehow my preferences change as the year goes by. How about you?

Preferences in Foods.

As I mentioned earlier, I got a sweet tooth like I would have a chocolate flavored donut and paired it with chocolate drink for snacks before. Who could resist a chocolate right? Now, I would rather eat wheat bread paired with coffee or tea. Seems like I got more satisfied with this. Not only because of my taste buds but somehow I became health and weight conscious too. Aside from chocolates, fried chicken no longer attracts me. I would rather choose to eat veggies. My metabolism is not as fast as before. I easily gained weight so I had to watch my food sometimes. o let's practice the road to a healthy lifestyle.

Preferences in clothes and shoes.

We usually dress up either based on occasions, professions, place or even our age. Way back before, I would always wear jeans, paired with T-shirts and sneakers. This is when I was still a staying in our province. Dresses' is not usually a choice. I mean why would you wear one if you need to walk most of the time and ride in public transport? You know, typical provincial life.

However, when I started working in the city, I learned to wear that " smart casual". This is when I am at work. Until such time, dresses became my first choice and would wear only denims if needed. Well, it is much more comfortable to wear aside from less clothes to be washed. Right?

I guess, if there is one thing that hasn't changed in me is choices in shoes. I would still wear sneakers rather than heels. I have five sneakers, one doll shoe and one pair of shoe with heels.

Preferences in spending weekends.

I used to love going to other places, hanging out with my friends house, window shopping etc. Would go home late at night and have drinking sessions with work mates. There have even been times before, I couldn't even climb on my bed, I am occupying the upper bed in a double deck due to drunkenness'.

Now? I would rather stay at home and have some rest. Rest means sleeping or lying on my bed. Happiness for me is having at least ten hours of undisturbed sleep.

Preferences in making decisions.

I used to be impulsive. I would decide right away without thinking. Without weighing things. I have that thought that I don't want anyone to change my mind or what I want . I even remember before jumping into another relationship after weeks of break up. Just for a reason I don't want people nor my ex-boyfriend to think that I am still affected. What a shallow reason. I am just thankful though, I was impulsive that time, still I could say I didn't regret my decision.

Now, if you were ask me I would think a thousand times. I would weigh the possible pros and cons. Then I would go to what is right. This is not only in decision making but in all aspects. Even in just small things.

Preferences in my choice of words.

If there is one attitude I had inherited from my Mom is being " tactless". I believe I am just being frank and I don't want to sugarcoat not be pretentious. I would say whatever was in my mind . I even argue with anyone if I think his/her idea was wrong. I could confront anyone who I heard badmouthed against me. I had a lot of encounters during my high school years. This continued even during my college years. So everyone's impressions about me are not really good.
Thank God I met my husband. He was the one who explained and always told me about my attitude. Maybe , I could say maturity hits me too. I learned to control my mouth and even learned to have the right choice of words. Not because I am trying to be pretentious but because I don't want to be rude. I no longer argue with anyone, especially with nonsense things. This is only if needed but I could say in a professional way.

What I had tell are just some. There are still some but I guess it was too many to mention now.

To add other references, aside from my own observation , I did some researched and below are some factors.

https://bizfluent.com/info-8116011-factors-affecting-consumer-preferences.html

https://clootrack.com/knowledge_base/major-factors-influencing-consumer-behavior/

https://archives.joe.org/joe/2003june/a1.php

How about you guys, does somehow your preferences changes too?

2
$ 5.28
$ 5.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @BCH_LOVER
$ 0.01 from @Mictorrani
Avatar for Lhes
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Isn't it quite natural that maturity brings change? Experience and increased knowledge ought to bring change; if it doesn't, something is wrong. That's how we grow as individuals, and of course I speak about inner growth.

$ 0.01
2 years ago