Lurking

11 36
Avatar for Leo_kitti
3 years ago

The heavens gave a cry of dissatisfaction, threatening to burst open the flood gates despite the rain that had soaked the city few hours ago. Asides from the constant thunder that roared, bringing with it flashes of electricity, all was calm, cold and silent.

The stars fled and the moon was not seen in the sky, heavy grey clouds took their place, moving as the wind wished them to, bringing the cries of wolves from across the mountains. The sounds of hoves digging heavily into the wet gravel, dragging chains on the ground.

Big heavy chains.

People came out from everywhere, scream masks shielding their faces from the eyes of any other, classes in large hooded cloaks, too heavy it bent and twisted their skinny frames. Arms stretched - diseased. The chains - heavier. Wolves - louder.

Someone whispered a name.

The sound dropped on my neck, cold to the feel, like an awakening call, soft yet so heavy.

".....Jayne...."

I sprang from the bed and reached for the bedside lamp but I didn't switch it on just yet. Beads if sweat had soaked through my night dress. I suddenly became claustrophobic but I didn't want to switch on the lights. The demons were lurking. I could almost see the smirk on their hideous faces, sitting around my bedside. The dark suddenly became comfortable. I smiled too.

Mum rushed into my room and stopped by the door frame. I mush have screamed when I woke because she looked frightened. Frightened for me.

"Jayne....?" She stepped gingerly into the room like she was aware of my friends looking hungrily at her - the perfect night snack.

She stopped at the foot of my bed and touched my arm. I looked at her and she immediately withdrew her hand with the swiftness of a person who had just touched a hot iron.

"Jayne...?! No...!"

The white in my eyes hard been overruled by the black, she looked to the doorway for a means of escape but it was all ovee before the thought formed in her head.

Dad's blood was sweeter than hers.....






This is my first entry to @Jdine 's Contest, in Thriller/Horror Stories (dc61) community

If you have the heart for scary horror challenges or you want to read as well. Join....

https://read.cash/@Jdine/birth-month-giveaway-d289b904

Prompts used: (TWISTED, SILENT, DARK, COLD)

Had a hard time deciding on the title Started at 11:21pm finished at 11:29pm

4
$ 0.21
$ 0.20 from @Jdine
$ 0.01 from @Mictorrani
Sponsors of Leo_kitti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Leo_kitti
3 years ago

Comments

Ahhhhh now😭. I wasn't expecting her to be the object of horror. You excel at this, yunno.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Awwww....thank you❤️❤️😁😁😁

I enjoy twists 😏😋

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are writing good short stories and you have the ability to surprise in he last sentence. You know, you have genuine literary talent; have you ever written anything longer?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you!!! This is actually a piece from a novel I'm currently writing. And I do have something longer but it's not exactly horror

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I find it a bit hard to follow at the end.

"aware of my friends looking"

"I mush have"

and I wonder what "The white in my eyes hard been overruled by the black, " means.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice one hehe

oh btw.. did you post your article's link to my hive away article?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'll do that now. Thank you ❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

alrighty :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago