Memories of Christmas seasons past

50 42
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

I was reading @JRamona20 article earlier today (read it here) about her memories of previous Christmas celebrations and I was just smiling because I could relate to some of the things she wrote and they reminded me of what Christmas used to be.

I won't be diving deep into my memory, but I will just talk about the ones that were really fun for me and the activities that made it fun.

Image source

Christmas carols

Back then, I was an altar server in church (I am catholic) and during December, we usually go to church members' houses to sing carol songs for them and they support us with whatever they have.

We usually do this at night, and we go from house to house with our drums and whenever we arrive at a house, we usually dance round to the beat of the drums we carry along, before going into solemn mood and sing beautiful carol songs to our host.

Sometimes the host gives us money, while some others give us food. We usually inform the host beforehand that we will be coming so they are better prepared πŸ˜‰ the carol lasts for about 2 weeks.

Christmas Eve

Image source

In everything, this is the one I miss the most. Until recently, I was the only person in my family that usually goes to Christmas Eve church service (because I was an altar server), and I stay in church with my friends till the next day.

The church service usually ends around 11pm or 12am but I won't go home, my friends and I will be walking around just eating and drinking. We normally make plans before that day and save up a lot of money to finance our adventures for the night.

The first place we visit is where they sell noodles, as well as bread and egg, some of us in Nigeria know it as maishai (I hope I spelled it right πŸ˜†). The place is close to my church and it's been run by a northerner, I feel those guys are the best when it comes to preparing noodles.

Noodles and eggs (maishai)

Image source

After that, we end up at a suya joint (barbecued beef) and we do eat a lot of it till we get tired, then from there we proceed to a place called playhouse; it's a combination of a club, restaurant, and bar.

We get to playhouse and order fried chicken and some drinks, and when we are about leaving we still buy another round of suya (what can I say, I do love meat πŸ˜‰). The eating spree ends with us going back to the church to catch some sleep, which is usually around 4am.

Christmas day

On Christmas day, I usually start my mornings by sleeping up until 10am, before getting up to take breakfast. The rest of the day revolves around food and drinks until it's over.

My siblings usually go out later in the day to catch some fun but I always decline whenever they invite me because of one particular reason; most of the fun places are always packed full of people on Christmas day.

So I rather have some fun on Christmas Eve, and then stay indoors throughout Christmas day just eating and drinking. Sometimes I visit my aunt who stays in the same city, but the problem with that is there's usually a scarcity of public transport when I am returning home

Closing thoughts

My Christmas has drastically changed over the years and right now I don't even find it fun anymore and that's because my friends who I usually spend it with are no longer living around me, everyone has been separated and gone far from each other.

I still go to Christmas Eve church service, but after that, I just walk straight home because I can't do those activities I do in the past alone, it will be too boring πŸ˜†

I have great memories of Christmas even earlier than the ones I mention and I always look forward to Christmas because of them, but things have changed so much lately and it's no longer how it used to be, I guess that's what happens when we grow older.

Are there memories of Christmas from the past that you miss? Please feel free to share in the comment section below πŸ˜‰

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Friday December 3rd, 2021

14
$ 6.46
$ 6.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @carolinacardoza
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 8
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Comments

I really missed Christmas Carols, today we can't make Christmas carols in every houses because of the Virus.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's the same thing in my country, the pandemic has ruined the celebrations

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Definitely My Friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How nostalgic and beautiful this is :)) and the food pic in the middle looked super delicious wow.. I would have loved to eat that haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You can eat lots of it if you visit my country 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can eat lots of it if you visit my country 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You had quite great holiday memories Kush. It's great to go back to them especially nowadays that the celebrations have changed a lot

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Our memories are like a time machine that takes us back to the past, and we usually feel the same way we did back then

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right though :) Glad our memories are still intact and we can revisit those times :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess you don't play banger, πŸ˜… and you look like the kind of person that use biscle light πŸ˜…

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I did, but that one is from earlier memories. Normally na 2 rolls of banger i dey buy and some rockets

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…Una dey disturb the neighborhood.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Christmas was fun in those days... Let me not talk of the very tender age days because we did a lot 🀣🀣. Now I enjoy my Christmas at home Indoors, I've this joy eating with my family, especially my siblings I haven't seen for months. Church also, there's this "welcome home son" for us that stayed very well with them before we left to another city. The love is always amazing

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aswear bro, these days I just spend it indoors with my family

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have some memories if the past that I really miss like when we are still staying in our old house but I'm still happy with the kind of celebration that we have so πŸ₯³

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same here, I am still happy with what I have now but I still miss what it used to be in past 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Memories are very memorable especially Christmas season. But now, when pandemic has come everything has changed not like in the past Christmas.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah that's right, the pandemic has ruined Christmas celebrations

$ 0.00
2 years ago

until now lots of people and kids do sing Christmas carols house to house, we used to do that too. When the ber months started we will start preparing for caroling and by just singing from house to house we get to earn money

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Everything has changed lately because of COVID-19, I don't see kids going house to house singing carols anymore

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeahhhh i think it's natural friend we cannot be mature if we don't lose friends maybe it's time to change ypur way of celebrating so you could be happy and enjoy. But i also agree that Christmas before was so beautiful, ever since pandemic started we never felt the usually Christmas we are used to. Everything has a gap we have things we do before that we cannot do now. But above all memories during Christmas are always be good to cherish. Advance Merry Christmas to you friend ☺️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's just the truth, this pandemic is also one of the reasons why Christmas has changed from the way it is before, there are just a lot of restriction on celebrations

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah so !amy people are sad right now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you are right my friend, before Christmas was more fun, but now we run to be on time in some place or to buy something, or just to run without realizing that life is passing us by. With your memories you made me remember the nights when I also used to sing Christmas carols from house to house.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Christmas was truly fun back in the days, but now I guess most of us have gotten bored

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We generally didn't do much around here at Christmas. It was not a tradition that appealed to me very much. But many things have changed lately, so we are celebrating it, it is a moment of family union and making the feeling of love and friendship greater.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's how it normally should be, it's a period to strengthen family bond

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aweee I have lots of memories of christmas. Of course one of it is christmas caroling. I would never ever forget it since that was my childhood memories as well. We are always planning and practicing about our caroling every house. If we got some penny in one house we will be happy and were motivated to have caroling in other houses hehe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Caroling was really a duh activity back then, but now people don't even do it anymore

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah it because of pandemic. What we gonna do here is playing a song list of christmas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's also what we will do over here

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate to that Christmas Carols Kushy. Before when I was a kid me and my classmates went house to house and sang some Chritmas songs. Some may give us a penny and some would give us food instead. Its full of fun and I really miss those times

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I really love those moments back then, but now I don't even see anybody doing it again, probably because of the pandemic

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, things really change when the pandemic started. I just hope that when the world is okay, we could get back to the old things we do especially during holidays!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope for that as well

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The memories are very sweet. And looking at these things, it seems that this is what happened that day. Nice to see you last Christmas. The food was so much fun. You have a lot of old memories.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's good to visit the past once in a while through our memories, they always make us happy when we think about the good ones

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have a lot of memories Kushyzee and that's unforgettable memories you have. Christmas is one of the best holidays' season. The most exciting one. Yes Kushyzee I felt same with you. My Christmas now change a lot it's not the same as before.

It's so cute during you caroling, you dance with the beat of drums.πŸ₯° Staying with friends, having fun, having some barbecues. It was really super fun Kushyzee.πŸ₯° Advance Merry Christmas to you.❀️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Merry Christmas in advance to you too Ramona 😊 I hope this coming Christmas will be more fun for us

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much Kushyzee.☺️❀️ I'm hoping also.πŸ™ I know it will be more fun.☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think this is a good idea to write.. I have a lot of good memories too. Morning herr πŸ™‚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's a good idea for you to write about your Christmas memories, I want to read it 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not sure when

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whenever you're ready ate Jane πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have some good memories back then on how you spent your Christmas with your friends,I also had mine also when i used to blow some banger fireworks in the sky to enjoy the sound and also play around with ourselves but now we are separated just like you and also grown up.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I also blow some banger back then, a lot of banger. Life was much easier then sha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yea but now everyone already turned big boys and no longer have time for that hehehe those are one of my past memories

$ 0.00
2 years ago

With the high number of yahoo boys we have these days, I am not surprised that I hardly hear the sound of banger anymore

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true,I hardly hear that but I think I heard one yesterday just once this wasn't how it used to tbe back then

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly bro

$ 0.00
2 years ago