Those of us are selfish

1 26
Avatar for Kristofor
3 years ago

I don't know if it's wise to write about what I'm writing today. No one has ever said that I have too much intelligence (not even those who have too much intelligence are at peace). However, by writing something, I can print it in newspapers. That's why I have to keep an eye on it all the time so that I don't write something irresponsible. Many people can't print their writings in newspapers even if they write neatly than me. They sometimes get frustrated and send me those articles. I read and sighed.

Nowadays, articles are not only printed on paper, they are also published on the Internet. A new style has started there, readers can write their comments like a tail behind every writing. I have never read the comments of readers on the back of my writing. I have decided never to read. There is no one in the world who does not want to hear good things about himself. So when I read those comments, I may unknowingly start writing in such a way that everyone reads my writing and makes good comments.

I don't want that, I want to write what I want to write. No one said that all my words would be true for everyone. Everyone has to accept my word, I am not saying that, there is no problem in listening.

All the people I am writing about today are my colleagues. My upbringing with them. They are university teachers. They might be a little upset to read my article. You will feel a little hurt, so I apologize in advance.

A few days ago I received an SMS on my telephone. All teachers on our university campus are being requested to join a human bond. Although SSMT has been sent for our university teachers, it is not just a program for our university teachers, it is a program of the University Federation, a program comprising all the teachers' associations of all the public universities in Bangladesh.

There are two demands in the human chain, one is a separate pay scale for university teachers, the other is to extend their teaching life to 7 years! I want to say my own words about these two claims.

What is the salary of public university teachers? Saying the actual number would be a tasteless act, so to speak otherwise. I'm a computer science and engineering teacher, and when my students come to see me for a job, I ask them, "Is your salary higher than mine?"

They get a little embarrassed but almost always shake their heads to say that their salary is higher than mine! I am the most senior teacher in my university, as far as I know my salary is the highest salary of a professor in a public university. I do not know the truth. I heard that a middle bureaucrat in the secretariat gets more money from my salary for the maintenance of his car.

We once went to a university in neighboring India, where the lecturers all drove to the university. The salary of university teachers in that country is approximately four times more than our salary! That country makes everything from needles to cars, so the cost of living in that country is less than ours.

A long time ago I once wrote in a newspaper that the salary of a lecturer in our university is less than the salary of a car driver. I remember the next day a lecturer came running to me with a dry face, wailing, "Sir, after reading your writing, my marriage has broken down."

But let no one misunderstand, knowing that the value in the marriage market will go down but the best students of our university still want to join the university as teachers. This is probably the biggest strength of the public university! But I do not know how long this power will last. Nowadays, even with the best test results, a student cannot be sure whether he can really become a teacher or not. They have to hang out with teachers who have parted ways with all their self-esteem.

Important members of the recruitment committee have their own candidates in their pockets. They bargain directly with each other. He said, "Take one of mine, then I will let you take one." Student leaders sit outside, ministers call, MPs threaten. So even if there is an advertisement for the appointment of a teacher in the newspaper, the teacher has to be taken as Hali. Those who are truly good meritorious teachers, they end up in a better place, the idiots stay. Universities have become hangouts for incompetent teachers. There is no problem in that, the rules of the university administration are very liberal, the lecturers become professors as soon as they get older.

Anyway, I did sit down to talk about teachers' salaries, whether they were worthless or not. University teachers were once very respectable people, now they are not such respectable people. The face of a cunning-tactical-partisan-political man is not visible in front of the eyes of a knowledgeable researcher and dedicated teacher.

No matter what they look like, these poor people have to keep a little tricks to run their household expenses. That is why they need a respectable salary. He took it to a very high court and after a court hearing advised a university teacher a million dollars, saying, “There is no way to increase your salary. He somehow compensated by billing more and more money while looking at the examination books. ”

University teachers have followed that million dollar advice word for word. They take money to look at the exam book, they take money to give the exam guard, they take money to take the viva. In all the countries of the world, the examination book is seen once, in this country it is seen twice, sometimes three times!

I regularly teach students, when we were students we were always on the lookout for how to continue working without studying. Today's students have not improved much. They also have a hard time figuring out how to manage student life without studying. The infallible weapon to force them to study is to take frequent class tests, I do that and my students have never forgiven me for that, even if I don't admit my style.

I discovered with great surprise that even if I take a class test now, I can get money. As a university teacher, you have to work in various committees. Nowadays, I see that when I sit in the committee and hold a meeting, a fat envelope is handed over! I am waiting to hear if one day I will take a pub class and now I will be handed an envelope of money. That's all that's left.

The most respectable and unethical way of making money for university teachers is to make money from a process called admission test. If you don't believe me, you should take a look at the list of how much money each teacher earns after the admission test. I have been telling journalists for a long time that after the end of the admission test, the teachers of different universities should disclose how much money they have earned in return for doing any work. This could be a very startling piece of information.

I think our country's journalists still have a kind of respect and compassion for teachers. So this information is never published.

Honorable people like university teachers do such trivial work for a small amount of money, for one reason only, they are paid very little and given even less benefits. They probably have no choice but to live with respect for their families. So if they make human bonds for their own separate pay scales, they can't be blamed.

I think their claim is very logical but still I did not join that human bond. This is my great glory to tell you why I did not join.

University teachers may be paid less but they are the most powerful people in this country. The big vice chancellors of the big universities, the ministers of this country get up with the prime ministers. After retiring, they became ambassadors to various countries. They became advisers to the Prime Minister. They are members of all the important committees of the state.

After the question was leaked, the meeting called by the Hon'ble Minister of Education to bring the country's education system in line, I sat there and looked from left to right, I saw university teachers, I saw university vice chancellors. I have not seen school-college teachers. The talk there is what the university teachers said. University teachers, who have no experience with the real problem, have also discussed the problem of school-college education.

The school-college teachers who have taken the responsibility of educating the largest number of students in this country seem to be an insignificant group of people. Who will talk about them? Where to say?

I’ve talked to absolutely primary school teachers from time to time. Their world is almost like a surreal world. The way they have to spend their days, the way they have to teach the students, they can't believe it even with their own eyes. They also have to decide how many sanitary latrines there are in the village starting from the voter list. Do they get paid enough? With that salary, can they live with dignity? If not, who will talk about increasing their salary? Who to tell? Who will listen to them?

I believe university teachers like us have to talk about them, because we get the opportunity to speak upstairs, they don't. So when I suddenly see university teachers doing human bonding for a different pay scale, I know why I think they are just talking about themselves as selfish. Since the responsibility of leading the entire education system of the country has fallen on the shoulders of the university teachers, their demand should have been for all the teachers. The human chain should have been made for a separate pay scale for all teachers in Bangladesh, not just for university teachers.

Truth be told, if you have to start with a separate pay scale, you have to start with primary school teachers first. If we want to raise the standard of education in our country, hi-fi should be done not with new universities, but with good primary schools.

Needless to say, this whole demand is in fact a kind of cruel joke, we all know that it will never happen, the powerful bureaucrats will strangle the demand for a separate pay scale for teachers. The teacher says that the people whose pictures float before their eyes have no respect for them, no power. Before giving them a separate pay scale, roads will be built, bridges will be built, factories will be built, airports will be built, warships will be built, cantonments will be built. There will be planes before the demand, there will be ports, not just teachers' salaries. They will not be allowed to work with dignity.

How will it be? The Bangladesh government has pledged to the world that it will spend 8% of its GDP on education. The government has not kept that promise, now only 2.2 percent of GDP is spent on education.

No other civilized country spends so little money on education. Honestly, even after spending so little money, it seems that the kind of education we are getting is the destiny of our fourteen men.

If there is only one demand in Bangladesh, it has to be on this issue, if necessary, everything has to be stopped and more money has to be allocated for education.

The second demand of teachers is to increase the age limit of their jobs to 6. I'm directly against it. A few days ago it was 70 years old, I know how it was made 65. Not accustomed to that yet. Now there is a sudden demand that it should be done. To tell the truth, what everyone else demands is to be realized. Since public universities are autonomous, they do not have to collect it from anyone, they do it for themselves. As far as I know, some universities have done it in the meantime. Then why do others have to claim and realize it? They can only do it themselves.

The rule of the world is to move the old and make room for the new. If the old professors do not agree to move, holding on to their chairs year after year, how will the new ones take charge? How many of those who are holding the chair can say with their hands on their chests that they have reached this place by researching their work?

One hundred and one ways can be found to get the help of those who are really good professors. That's why they don't have to be 6 years old.

A professor friend of mine explained the matter to me when I heard that there was a plan to raise the age limit for university teachers.

3
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Kristofor
3 years ago

Comments

Yeah you wrote it so well

$ 0.00
3 years ago