Omnipresent Smell of Antiseptic │ Part 4: WDIAFFFM?

3 36
Avatar for KirstenCassandra
1 year ago

"No, Sir, please don't hurt her. Hurt me instead, just let go of my child."

"Mommy—" I bit the man's arm and ran to my mom.

(Gunshot)

"Reese!! Oh, God! Reeseeee!" Mom shrieked in terror as she watched me be shot in the left arm and hit my head hard on a large rock on the ground, bathed in my own blood.

That scene has haunted me since I was a kid, even in my nightmares. It seems so real. I can feel the pain in my head and in my left arm. I can feel the blood rushing down my brow.

I have scars on my forehead and arm to prove it was real, but every time I confront my parents about it, they swear I had just stumbled on the playground at the time, therefore I had a scar, and that terrible memory was just a figment of my imagination.


"Haa—aa!" I jolted awake, feeling like I was drowning and suffocated.

"Reese! Finally, you're awake!" Mom exclaimed.

"I'll call the doctor," Theo said as he rushed out the door.

The brilliant light blinded me, and I was greeted by the familiar smell of the place filled with sadness and grief. The place full of "why's and how'd it happen to them" queries. The place where some are engaged in thug-of-war with the grim reaper, with some are luckily winning and others are tragically losing.

The place where a part of my heart once desired to serve rather than be served, as is currently the case.

"How are you feeling? Does your head hurt?" Dad queried, concerned.

"The doctor is here," Theo stated as he entered the room with the doctor.

Dad stepped aside to allow the doctor examine me. He checked my eyes first, then my mouth and tongue, using a penlight. He also took my blood pressure and temperature to make sure I was okay.

"She's fine. It was merely a result of the panic episode she experienced earlier, so she had difficulties in breathing and fainted." The doctor explained.

"However, all of her test findings are normal. She can be discharged from the hospital and go home now. If you'll excuse me." He added.

"Doc, can I speak with you for a moment?" Dad asked. He nodded, and they talked outside the room.

"I just wanted to say sorry for what happened last night; I had no idea, I swear—" Theo apologised profusely.

I interrupted him by taking his hand in mine. I just smiled and nodded to show that everything was fine because I felt powerless, possibly due to the medications injected into my IV.

"It's okay, dear, Theo. It's not your fault; it was just an accident. In fact, Jim and I are grateful because you took Reese to the ER right away and never left her until she woke up." Mom said.

"It's all settled, Pumpkin; we can now go home." Dad approached us after speaking with the doctor.

"Uhm, Chef Jim. Just took the day off today, and I asked the staff to close the restaurant and do the inventory so you could be with Reese today," Theo explained.

"Thank you very much, Theo; that means a lot." Dad answered.

They packed our belongings and helped me in getting into the wheelchair because my knees are flimsy. I noticed the letters ICU in one of the doors as we passed through. Suddenly, one of the nurses appeared. As she hurried to the restroom, I noticed sadness and tears in her eyes.

Maybe they are right. ICU doctors and nurses have the most difficult jobs. They appear to be in hell on Earth. It's depressing to watch life fade away almost every day. Patients are fighting for their lives in there, and the worst part is pretending to be fine and staying calm so they can put their trust in the medical professionals.

"Pumpkin we're here." Dad breaks the silence.

"I think I should go so you guys can rest; I'll see you tomorrow." Theo said before leaving after taking us home.

"He's the sweetest, right?" Dad smirked as he tucked me in bed.

"Dad!"

Dad burst out laughing, kissed my forehead, and then left me to sleep peacefully in my bed. I'm about to close my eyes when my phone unexpectedly beeps.

Hey. Take a good rest, okay?

–Unknown Number

Hey-Lo!

I believe you already know who that unknown number belongs to. Hehe. Let's see if I can post an update tomorrow because I have weekend work.

Good night, you guys! 💛

What to read next?

3
$ 1.21
$ 1.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of KirstenCassandra
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for KirstenCassandra
1 year ago

Comments

Sounds like a medical professional too everytime you talks about things related to hospitals hehe the last part though, made me smile like a lunatic 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hihi. You know that. 🥰 Talking stage na ba? Hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Talking stage definitely hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago