Parallel Lines [RRFB]

17 55
Avatar for KirstenCassandra
2 years ago

I woke up early. Today is the day I've been waiting for. I am about to leave the country. This place holds a lot of terrible memories for me, and I want to get away from them.

I booked a plane ticket to Los Angeles a week ago and waited for a sign or hint if I would stay, but there was none. Maybe this is the answer to all of my questions.

Good luck and Von Voyage! That was written on one of my suitcases. I am staring at it when a car horn smashes through my deep thoughts. When I checked my phone, I noticed a notification indicating the cab I had booked had arrived.

I pile my luggage and bags into the cab and get in.

Time flies like my thoughts. I hadn't realized I'd arrived at the airport until the cab driver finished unloading my luggage and placed them on the trolley. I pushed the trolley into the airport, checked in for my flight and handed over my belongings.

Suddenly, my eyes were drawn to a stunning lady dressed in a lovely rose-colored dress. I approached her despite my shyness.

"Hi, Miss, are you taken?" Because of my great anxiousness, these words spilled out of my mouth. You're a blithering idiot, Genesis.

"S-Sorry, what?" Luckily, she was wearing airpods while staring into space.

"I mean, is this seat taken?" I said, pointing to the seat next to her.

"No. It's alright, you may sit there.." She smiled as she talked, allowing me to see her gleaming white teeth.

"So, to which country are you traveling?" I was startled when she took off her airpods and spoke to me.

"Uhm, L.A., how about you?" I asked her.

"My flight had already taken off. I let my boyfriend, er, ex-boyfriend, leave on his own. I found out by accident that he had cheated on me." She explained.

"Such a jerk. It's his loss."

"I know." After she said it, she glanced at me and we both chuckled.

"Good afternoon passengers. This is the pre-boarding announcement for flight 89B to Los Angeles, CA. We are now inviting those passengers with small children, and any passengers requiring special assistance, to begin boarding at this time. Please have your boarding pass and identification ready. Regular boarding will begin in approximately ten minutes time. Thank you."

"It looks like you're leaving at any moment now." Her eyes were filled with sadness when she spoke those words.

"Wait... I'm Genesis.." I said.

"It's Cassidy Gabri..." She didn't finish what she was saying when the airport announced again.

"This is the final boarding call for passenger Genesis Gabriel Collins booked on flight 89B to Los Angeles, CA. Please proceed to gate 3 immediately. The final checks are being completed and the captain will order for the doors of the aircraft to close in approximately five minutes time. I repeat. This is the final boarding call for Genesis Gabriel Collins. Thank you."

"That's it. I suppose... See you when I see you, Cassidy?" I said as I looked into her sparkling hazel eyes. And I noticed that I could see myself in those.

"I guess... Good luck to your new journey. Von Voyage!" She said.

After we said our goodbyes, I turned around and proceeded to the boarding gate. When I was comfortably seated on the plane, I took my phone out of my pocket and began searching for Cassidy on social media.

"Oh, shooot!" I was annoyed with myself since I had forgotten to ask for her full name in order to find her on social media.

"Sir? Is there any problem?" The flight attendant asked me in a hushed tone.

"Oh, nothing. Thank you." I said.

"Also, Sir, you can use your phone in airplane mode in-flight, but please, it must be switched completely off during take-off and landing." She said.

"Okay. I'm sorry..." I am embarrassed by my stupidity. I shut off my phone and put it in my pocket.

That was seven years ago.

I picked up my luggage in the baggage reclaim area and head out of the airport. I am now eager to go looking for her on my own. I was enchanted to meet her. I spent a long time searching the internet for her, but I couldn't find her. I had no idea there were so many Cassidys out there, but she is the one I've been longing for.

"Ah! My nose!" I was struck by a running toddler. He's pinching his nose since that's what landed on my thigh before he fell down.

"Hey, kid. Are you okay?" I picked him up from the ground and shake the dust off his clothes.

"I apologize for what my sonβ€” Genesis? I-Is that you?"

"Cassidy." I am stunned. Just like when I first met her at this airport.

"Is he really your son?" I asked.

"Yes." She smiled at me again, but this time it was brighter than the last. I noticed a set of rings on her ring finger as she took her son from my arms.

"So you've married now.." All of the blood in my body seemed to have gone to my feet.

"Yes. Happily married. How about you?"

"Daddyyyyyy!!" The boy was overjoyed to see his father approaching us.

"Oh! My not so little boy... and my gorgeous wife." He took the kid from Cassidy's arms and kissed them both in front of me as if I didn't exist.

"Oh, Dear, here is my old friend Genesis, Genesis, my husband, Aiden..." She said.

"Cassidy used to tell me so much about you. It's nice to finally meet you." He said politely.

"We must get going. You must have been tired from the trip as well. It's really nice to meet you again, Genesis." She said while smiling genuinely.

I called her one last time as she was walking away.

"Cassidy. What is your name?" I asked her.

She turned to face me and said, "It's Cassidy Gabrielle Reyes-Smith."

I'm having a lot of "what ifs" going through my head right now. What if she was the sign I needed to keep me from leaving the country? What if I didn't leave? Who knows, maybe I'm the one she's with today, along with our son.

Six lanes of highway separate us, with no overpasses or underpasses to cross. I suppose we're analogous to parallel lines. We will never meet, no matter how hard we try.

What a tragic novel this is. But I am more than happy that you are happy right now. You are living the life you have always wanted. Maybe I'll just be here, loving you from afar while you don't even realize it.

Hey-lo, beautiful fellas!

Time check! 2:21 a.m. (PHT) I woke up again and lost my somnolence, so I decided to finish this article right now.

I feel sorry for Genesis. He'd have a girlfriend now if he'd only asked me to find Cassidy on social media. Lol.

Well, kidding aside, it just goes to show that not everything we want is ours to have, and that sometimes we don't know the person we're looking for is there in front of us.

Whaaat? I'm not sure if what I'm saying makes sense to you. Anyway, I appreciate you taking the time to read this all the way through.

Let's catch up in the comments section!

Xoxo.

6
$ 0.41
$ 0.20 from @Ruffa
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
$ 0.05 from @Ayane-chan
+ 3
Sponsors of KirstenCassandra
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for KirstenCassandra
2 years ago

Comments

coplanar... intersected but never really ended together..

but but but one got stuck on searching fir the TOTGA.. at first meet up hahaha. ay sorry .. hahahahah ulit..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha natawa naman ako sa unang encounter nila HAHAHA. Pero ang lungkot naman pinagtagpo pero walang plano ang tadhana na gumawa ng plano para maging sila bakit naman ganonnnn. Ikalawang pagkikita nanakit agad aguyy. Pero ang gandaaaa πŸ₯Ί

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, sabi nga nila kapag hindi ka pa happy, hindi pa yun ang ending. Palaging may mga kasunod pa. 😊 Huuuyyy, thank youuu sa pagbasa kahit may disclaimer na agad. Hahaha πŸ’›

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When they call the mathematicians, and they ask them to explain, they said love is only equal to the pain. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When it comes to mathematics, pain is the best definition, I guess. Hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jusko day, hokage moves agad pagkakita nung magandang dalaga haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahaha! Kaso di n'ya nagamit ng maayos pagiging Hokage nya. Kulang sa training. 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The worst question to ask your self "What if ..." . Dang! This is indeed tragic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeeees. 😭 But we must move on to the "what ifs" in our lives because being stuck in one place is unsatisfying. Stay tuned for part 2. Lol. Thank you for taking the time to read this. πŸ’›

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are most welcome I am pretty hooked actually.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whaaaa! Thank you. You're as sweet as your name, Caramel. Hehehe. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One of Mathematics' tragic love story it is! Hahaha. I'm surprised to see the title because I have written a short story 2 months ago with the same title as yours, and the same theme I guess. πŸ˜‚ Here, you may like to check it out.

https://read.cash/@Ayane-chan/parallel-lines-a71814ec

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omg. May airport scene din. Is this fate? 😍 If it's not, I don't know what is.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have it read it? Hahaha! Maybe, we are fated to have parallel minds. 🀭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yesssss. And I bowed my head to you. Hehe. Ang galing e! 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bow talaga, di naman ako masyado magaling. Pwede na yung shake hands. πŸ˜„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great article so interesting and inspirational. I really enjoy it can wait to read more 😊keep it up dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago