We cannot please everyone!

36 45
Avatar for Khing14
2 years ago
Topics: Rants

We're on the last day of November now!. November 30th, and it's holiday!. And Holiday work means "Double Pay!"..yay!..

Ever since I joined my current company, I usually work on Holidays!. Why? Because of the holiday compensations!. A single cent on top of my basic salary is important enough for me. I will be able to buy my kid's extra needs as well :)..

My initiative : Automations

Anyways, I have this topic at the moment because yesterday, I was so upset with one of my colleagues. For those who are constantly reading my articles, you might have already know that I've been automating lately. The main goal of my automations (at work) is to save time and effort from the manual checks and at the same time, it reduces the risk of human error.

So last week, I've officially published to my team mates the automations that I've completed. I've received good feedback from them. And in fact, my Manager also commended me. He even forwarded one my automations to his Manager and he received a good response from him as well.

My not so pleased colleague!

However, all of a sudden, one of my colleague sent me an email yesterday as if questioning the effectivity of one of my script which I called as "the URL status checker".

What my "URL status checker" script does is, it visits all the listed URLs in the input file and check them one by one if they are accessible or not.

For some reason, my colleague is saying from his mail as if "the scripts will just mislead my colleagues". The entire team is copied in the thread.

However, I've already explained over my mail that the script that I've created has no capability to go beyond the url's login page. Thus, it is not advisable to use for those checks that requires functionality testing.

My reply

I felt upset with what he said over the mail. He also mentioned that he thought of automating it before but he decided not to proceed with it because it will just mislead everybody.

His response

Seriously, my interpretation of that highlighted line is that he's trying to tell the team that got the idea FIRST!.

He is the same colleague I am referring to from my previous articles that he always wanted to be the FIRST. He doesn't want to be the second, or I would rather say, He cannot accept the fact that there's someone or somebody who is or are better than him. He always wanted to be in the spot light!.

So I vented out what I felt about those mail exchange to one of my senior colleague. And you know what? It so happened that the colleague of mine who is complaining about the automation that I did is also sending my senior colleague a direct message about our mail exchange. Good thing is that my senior colleague backed me up!.

He replied on top of the thread and elaborated the purpose of my script. And then after he sent an email, my complaining colleague called him and guess what!. It's like his tune has changed!.

After their call, my complaining colleague has sent an email asking me to schedule the run of my script in a daily basis!. So from being persistent of saying that my script is useless, it ended up with instructing me to go ahead and have it used by the team!.

And I'm like "What!., After all the negativity you've mentioned about my script, you're telling me now to go ahead with it!. So if our senior colleague didn't backed me up then you will insist with your stand that the automation I did is useless, or is a garbage?!

But of course, I didn't said it to him directly to prevent a fire!.

To be honest, those kind of person is not healthy to a team. Because instead of motivating the me to go ahead and do some more, he's more like discouraging me !.

I know that I am self thought in PowerShell programming and I still consider myself as noob.

Anyways, I have to move on, despite of what has happened!. I will show him and will teach him how to accept the fact that not all the time, he is the FIRST!, that we all have our strength and weaknesses, that we all have our capabilities and limitations!., that a person can develop skills overtime and he cannot control that, specially if the person has some kind of spirit and committed to learn specific stuffs to improve his or her technical skills and knowledge.

So it is true that "WE CANNOT PLEASE EVERYONE!". There is always someone who will find ways to put your morale down but we should fight them! Don't let them win!

We must show them that we aren't weak enough to quit!. We must show them what we're capable of!. We shouldn't allow their crab mentality to exist!.

And lastly, always remember : we do not exist to please everyone!.

Enough for today's rant!. I want to welcome December with a good mood, good attitude, and positive environment!.

Sponsors of Khing14
empty
empty
empty

17
$ 5.02
$ 4.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @jasglaybam
$ 0.05 from @Infinity
+ 6
Sponsors of Khing14
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Khing14
2 years ago
Topics: Rants

Comments

We were not exist to please people in this world sis, and kind of a person in a team is not actually healthy just like you said.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah..they usually do destructive criticism instead of a constructive one..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reading this article was so mean to me.. Exactly we cannot please everyone. Dahil sa insecurities and they dont want na nasa top ka.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly sis..ayaw nila a nalalamangan sila

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We weren't really exist to please people in this earth sis..and that kind of a person in a team isn't really healthy just like you said, ayaw malamangan.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ou sis...gusto nya kasi number 1 sya palagi...yung Manager ko nga natuwa sa gawa ko eh...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bakit may mga taong ayaw talaga malamangan hihi. Like dzuh, di sa lahat ng oras tyo yung bida hihihi.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

korek sis..bida bida baga...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To be honest these kind of people are just terrible human beings they just like to cause havoc in their work places and make everybody feel uncomfortable … it is tiring some times .. just be the bigger person that you are always ..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yeah..you said it well!. They are very unhealthy for the team. They don't know how to motivate others, instead, they discourage them....

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When you try to please everyone, you end up sacrificing who you really are deep down inside. You end up going against the grain of the things that you've always wanted in life. When you do that, you suffer over the long term, having regrets and replaying those what-ifs and should-haves in your mind over and over again.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

you're right...so it's important to keep in mind that it's not our responsibility to please everyone! ..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You were even nice with that your complaining colleague, if it was me I won't take it lightly with him and I will call him out for deciding to agree with the script after calling it useless in the first place, let fire rain down. Those kind of persons need to be called out or they will keep doing these sort of things

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ahaha..yeah..he will meet something like you someday..someday who can stand him down... I don't want to argue anymore, hence I did not replied further on his laat mail.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I seriously don't like people that behaves that way, they will end up demotivating you if you're not careful

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep exactly my point..he can help improve my scripting if he find some issues with it right?..but he doesn't need to tell that it's useless or so juat to lift his own chair right? It's crab mentality..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly what I am thinking, he has a strong case of crab mentality. And even if there was something wrong with your script, he can just help to improve it but he rather bring you down than try to help

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah... that's because he always wanted to be the first..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

this is the reality,, we can't please everyone... so we better ignore them but also show them that we are not affected..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yep!!. Just ignore them as if they are not around..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di talaga mawawala ang mga negative na tao sis. Ignore him na lang. Wag ka na lang paapekto as long as alam mo na tama ang ginagagawa mo.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

kaya nga po sis. Deadma nalang..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kahit saan po talaga may epal haha. Ma trabaho or any circle di mawala wala yung mga bida bida na tao. Good thing po your senior supported you instead of him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

naku buti na nga lang..iniinsist nya talaga na useless yung ginawa ko. Binawi nalang nya nung kinampihan ako nung senior namin na kateam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think in every group or ka workmates is mayroon talagang mga ugali na ganyan sis yung ayaw malamangan yung toxic na ugali minsan pa nga maninira pa yan pero in the end wala namang magtatagumpay pag ganyan ang ugali mananaig pa din ang nagtatrabaho ng patas.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ayun nga sis. Hinahanapan nya ng sablay yung ginawa ko. Pero buti nalang may bumack-up saken na mas senior sa amin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Programmer ka pala, Sis. Gusto ko din sana mag-aral ng programming. Anong company mo po?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

TP ICAP po :)...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hayy ganun talaga sis we cannot please everyone. You have done your best dahil kinommend ka pa. Baka nainggit lang hehe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

baka nga sis..di nya matanggap na kaya ko nang gawin ang dati sya lang nakakagawa sa team namin eh..hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww ganun naman pala sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is never possible for one person to make everyone happy. And to try it is nothing but foolishness. Not all people have the same mind. So don't do this.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Epal sya sis,hahahha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ay sobra sis!> Alam mo yung Manager ko, todo commend sa ginawa ko, binida pako sa Boss nya..Tapos itong kateam ko eh naku!..nakakaloka talaga!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

baka gusto kunin yun credits, pabida eh..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

pabida talaga sya sis dati pa. Kasi nung di pako marunong sa powershell, sya lang ang taga automate namin ng mga manual tasks namin. Tapos nung nakaleave sya, pagbalik nya, andami ko na biglang nasubmit na automations. Kaya ayun, pilit nya talagang hinahanapan ng butas. Buti nalang yung isang mas senior sa amin, binack-upan ako..nagbago bigla ang todo nya. Biglang bawi

$ 0.00
2 years ago