Some superstitious belief which I believe when I was a kid

13 38
Avatar for Kendy42
2 years ago

Who amongst you was still practicing that belief which was introduced to you by your elders? Did you encounter such during your childhood?

During my childhood and as a kid I was so curious about anything. Sometimes my grandmother was so annoyed by my unending questioning. Resulting in her scaring me to be able to stop mumbling nonsense.

These are the things that she and the others usually tell us. And until that, I grow up then I will be able to know that all of those was just superstitious belief and there is no truth in them.

Do not lie down to milled rice, you might get your hair all white at an early age.

As a kid after a vigorous playing outside me and my siblings does not care anymore were to lie on to take a nap inside our small house on the farm especially in the afternoon, whether using a pillow or anything that can make our head elevate to we sometimes resulted to using the sack of milled rice which stuck in the corner. Then when our grandmother happens to see us doing that she gets angry and tells us the superstitions above. So as we are just kids and afraid that our hair turns white early we never did lie on a sack of milled rice ever since. By then when I get older that I get to understand that the belief was just a way for our granny to avoid us pillowing in the rice. According to her, rice was a grace given to us by God thru hard works that we should not just use as a tool for anything. It should be for eating and not used as a pillow.

Do not point out a rainbow with your forefinger without putting saliva on it because this might dissolve your finger. (Whaaaat?)

Lol, lol, lol, I was just too young to believe this before. It was a natural view in the mountain that every time it rains a beautiful rainbow will appear afar or sometimes just in a short distance from our small house. Because of that superstitions, every kid in my circle was afraid of pointing to the rainbow without salivating first our forefinger lol again. Until now I don't know where did they get this kind of belief.

Don't travel with a cat or a jackfruit, it might bring bad luck along the way. (who said that?)

Until now, this superstition regarding traveling with a cat was believed by a few folks in the village. I did not dig in too much information about this belief but maybe this was related to what they said that if you see a black cat crossing along your way was a bad omen especially when you are traveling. Folks before was depended on baseless old fashion belief which was not true. But as a kid, before I am frightened seeing a black cat especially at night for there we had just a few domesticated cats in the neighborhood. But now I realized that those black cats that are seen before were wild and living independently.

When we go home I brought with us hubby's rescued kittens because no one will take care of them for we are going to spend a few days in the province. Thankfully, we arrived there safe and sound without any interruption along the way. So I do not believe this anymore.

When a hen crows towards a certain direction there was a pregnant maiden in that area.

Well, It's just a belief which is maybe coincidental when a hen crows towards the house of Ms. Maiden then all of a sudden a news of her pregnancy after she broke up with her boyfriend reach the ears of those marites out there and they started to make a big deal gossiping that there is a truth about the hen's crows lol. But until now in some villages still hold this belief but for me, there is no connection by the crowing hen to the pregnancy of whoever does it. The maiden got pregnant because she let it happen but whatever the reason is, that is out of anybody's business already.

๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’š

Aye! I admit when I was still a kid and has not yet experienced life outside the village, I believe in this superstitious belief by our elders. You know kids are easy to sway and believe about what the adult says. That is why now that I am aware of the truth behind this baseless belief I did not apply it to the children around me, instead, I told them what is true in a simple way that they can understand. That way I can help them grow and understand things around them.

What about you dear readers, what can you say about this? What superstitious beliefs did you experience to do before? You can share it in the comment box below and I am happy to read and reply to them all.

Thank you for being with me again dearest. Until next again. Be safe always.

The lead image was from Unsplash.

My sincere gratitude for all of your support read cash family. To myย generousย Sponsors,ย commenters, likers,ย andย upvotersย more blessings to come to all of us.

I love you all๐Ÿงก๐Ÿงก๐Ÿงก.

Article #67
Published: January 18, 2022
Time: 10:48 PM PH 
All images used owned by me 
     unless otherwise stated 

Love,

Kendy42๐Ÿงก

10
$ 2.98
$ 2.73 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Pantera
+ 5
Sponsors of Kendy42
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kendy42
2 years ago

Comments

Meron din samin pero di ko pa na encounter ung nabanggit mo. Ssmin nsmsm, wag kakanta habang nagluluto dahil di ka magkakaasawa. Wag magsusuklay sa gabi masama daw iyon and more pa ngs. Ako namsn di na nagpapaniwala. Pero di rin namsn masama na maniwala syempre yan na ang kinalakihsn ee.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Meron pa nga ganda, wag ka daw matulog na basa ang buhok at baka mabulag ka lol๐Ÿ˜.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dear friend, the beliefs you said were very interesting, I was overwhelmed by your explanation. Exactly in my opinion, the facts about everything should be told to children now, and superstitions should be put aside. In my country, the ancients also believed in the bad luck of black cats, while these innocent creatures are so cute, how could they be called bad luck, I love black cats, they are black like night, with beautiful shiny eyes...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We can't deny that though now we are living in a modern and developed era yet every country has some superstitious beliefs. These superstitious beliefs of yours which you have mentioned are little bit different from my country, I did not even hear about these. But These superstitious beliefs sounds really funny to me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed funny like a joke dear, lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good Hogeya ye janty howy bhe ap mehnat krty hain bs itna kafi hai Apko ap mehnat krty rahin

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's surprising the things we believed in while we were young. Thank God for growth.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, atleast we outgrow them already.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well those are new for me. My countryโ€™s superstitions are different & funny like yours.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The Devils country has superstitions too? Well, at least it's not only us who had it lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Huwag kang kumanta pag nagluluto. Di ka makakapag-asawa. -my lola

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Huwag ka kumanta habang kumakain, mag aasawa ka daw ng marami lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago