Life as a fastfood crew

17 23
Avatar for Kelzy
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Life story

Lead Image

"Jolly morning! Welcome to Jollibee" that's what will you hear when entering Jollibee Store back before the pandemic. The wide smile of the crew will warmly welcome you to come and dine. They will assist you with everything you will need and serve their best effort to satisfy you from your visit.

"Ting! Ting!" sound of the bell means there has to do. The manager calls her/him to serve the orders.

"Knowledge!" response the crew after hearing the bell meaning he/she knows and heard it.

Serve orders there, bussing tables here, sweep every corner there and mop the floor from spilled drinks. I experienced it all back when I was working as a fast-food crew. It's hard to adjust when you don't have any work experience but as for me, I had, that's why I know how to get along with my co-workers and manage the kind of work I enter.

When I was new, Daniel teach me what will I gonna do, whom will I gonna close for me to learn quickly, and warned me about who will I gonna talk to when I have issues, that I shouldn't trust anyone because managers might find it out. I know there is always a sucker in every workplace and glad Daniel gives me a reminder.

My first 2 months are okay. I'm always in the morning shift. I woke up at 4 am, commuted at 5 am, and arrive there at 5:30 am even though my shift is 7 am. I want to be early so that I can set up my station properly. I was assigned to the dining station where I have to put all the heavy chairs down. Note: My height was only 4'9 but my muscles are strong hahaha I make sure all the tables and chairs are clean and sanitized before we open even they are cleaned last night. I sweep/mop the floor and get it shined as possible as my manager always commands. Set up the utility room wherein bussing things will be placed and of course the comfort room. I make everything at its place when I enter the store.

After the 8 hours shift, I will go to school and attend my afternoon to night class from 4 pm to 10 pm. When I got home I will laundry my uniforms and do my assignment till I fall asleep. Then another shift is on. It's very tiring but I can able to manage it before. Then the pandemic comes. All businesses are closed and it lasts for many months. When they get it back, the government implements to schedule employees to work as skeletal and unfortunately I haven't been given a shift. The store only needs a cashier and kitchen crew because the allowed service is to take out or delivery. I waited another month and was lucky I chose to get back to work when dine-in is already allowed.

My shift is triple tiring because we need to be more careful. Wash hands every 15-20 minutes sanitize every spot where people sit and stand.

One time we had this customer make a scene shouting because she sat on a wet chair. I was busy bussing at the other tables when I heard her and my manager tapping the bell.

Customer: What the f***! What a nasty place is this! You all didn't follow the health protocols! I make sure your store will be closed!

(Bell ringing) I ran.

Me: Knowledge! (I shout to respond to my manager) Hi, Maam I'm sorry if you accidentally sat on the...

Customer: Where's your manager?! You should be fired! You don't know how to do your job. Look I'm wet! You trash!

Another Customer interrupt: You're so overacting Madame! I saw that you weren't wet that much and it was your fault because you don't look before your sit. Your busy holding your phone and now you blame the kid. Shame on you! If you want to eat in a very clean place go build your own store.

They quarreled. My manager come to us and apologized for the incident and offer to dry her pants. Actually, it's very little she just wants to be noticed and play the victim. When she was about to hurt me glad my manager hold her hand. They call the security and get that crazy woman out.

My tears fall and the customer who defends me hands me her handkerchief.

Her: Don't mind that woman. She is looking for someone to blame for her stupidity. You did your job properly and I saw it. I'm sure your manager knows it.

Manager: Yes Maam. It's okay Zy! I saw everything.

I don't understand why there are people who want to make a scene just to be noticed. Like what they will get from it? Sympathy? They think they are above everyone and feel like they are entitled to everything.

Always Remember: The customer is not always right. We are always not right.

Be not like that woman.

Thanks for reading! :)


Let's connect to my other socials

Noise Cash: | Twitter | Telegram

9
$ 5.38
$ 4.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.10 from @Codename_Chikakiku
+ 4
Sponsors of Kelzy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kelzy
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Life story

Comments

I really admire service crew for their work because I know it's no easy task to serve a bunch of people without a rest. Most of the service crew are all around that's why they're tired and I respect them from what they're doing. I'm so sorry for what happened, there's just some people who's making such scene and have the audicity to get angry to the crews. Just don't mind what they're saying, you know from yourself that you're doing great

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga e dedma nalang sa mga ganong tao. Oks na din naman wala na ako dun hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang dami rin talagang maanong customer ano. Yung siguro bad trip kaya gusto mang damay, pero cute ng height mo dzaii. Pansin ko lang naman hahaha.

And you know hanga din ako dun sa mga crew na kayang tanggapin lang ang mga salita ng ganyang attrimidang tao. Pag ako ata yun sasabog ako sa inis. Yong kung makapag salita pa kala mo ay pag aari ang mundo, tch.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tapos di naman yun bumili dzai nakiupo lang kala mo naman

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ramdam ko hirap ng mga crew habang tinitingnan sla..tapus liit pa ng swldo πŸ˜₯

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you lang minsan ang OT

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May mga ganyang tao talaga no,hayst nakaka sad buti nalang my nagtanggol sayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga e. Kung wala baka mabaliktad pa ako nun :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gravehhh Just to gain sympathy! That woman has no shame herself. Its a big dislike for her! Good for you that you handle it for not beating that shameful woman.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pinapatay ko na siya isip ko nun hahahaha chos

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That kind of people are normal in this society, they want to make scene in order to gain sympathy from other people, they gonna execute scandalous act however it doesn't works if there are good people that wanna fight them. If you encountered those kind of people then stand still, first approach that person with calmness in you however its different talk when he or she will lay hands on you, it's not appropriate at all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung iba kaya nila mambaliktad buti nalang merong mga tao dadapig at magsasalita.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But you weren’t higher temper. That's cool of you. I were in your place, i'll beat her down πŸ˜‘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Glad you're not me πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Life is unquestionable dear with different types of stages. This content and your words show us a different view of life. Well said.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh Kelzy I met different kinds of people every day. And some of them are challenging ones but I guess having kids I'm trained with such attitudes. I work in McDonald's just for a fortnight so I know it's not easy. Sobrang nakakapagod tapos you have to deal pa with such customers that make everything a big deal. Inhale exhale lagi, keep your calm. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Smile pa din kahit sinasaksak ko na sila sa utak ko huhuhahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago