Funeral Beliefs

5 32
Avatar for JustMaryel
1 year ago
Date: July 25, 2022
Author: JustMaryel

A blessed Monday read.cash citizen❤ I was not able to write here yesterday because I decided to make every Sunday a rest day in writing but that doesn't mean I'm totally inactive yet I was roaming around and clearing tons of unread notifications to make my Sunday productive. It's been a few days since our neighbor died and my family wants to send our sympathy and offer our time in vigil. We just went home at dawn as we felt the coldness due to raindrops.

Here in the province, every vigil there is a different kind of gambling either it is a game card or head and tail which people wanted to go and do the vigil. Though some people think it is illegal, it is one way to make people stay awake all the time and every game they will give tips which can help to give snacks for the entire nine nights. Before, I thought everything was free but later on I realized how expensive burial is.

In this kind of moment, we have some kind of beliefs that our parents inherit from our ancestors that until this present some Filipino apply and still believe in them.

Never ever bring any time of foods from funeral

As a kid who loves to eat like me, every time they offer a snack I always get more for me to eat longer. I even love to keep it, especially when it tastes so good. My parents always check my clothes and hands before we leave as they believe it can be a reason the spirit may follow.

Never ever take a bath and brush your hair in the vigil house and never ever find lice

I know this one when during my father funeral as my auntie informing me about it and I can't do any objection. When I take a bath it should be far from the house and I should get back when I am fully done. I don't know the meaning behind it.

Never wear red clothes

Wearing red means "you are happy for his/her death" which I don't think so. Mama always looks at my clothes before leaving the house because I don't even care what I wear and if I wear red she will stop me from wearing it even though I didn't mean anything.

Never ever leave the coffin alone and Never ever let any black animal near the coffin

Every funeral there should be someone who looks at the coffin and be the watcher as they believe black animals might be a bad spirit or bad spirit that can make the dead stand up. Also. They believe it will take the dead and replace some illusion that is why it is important not to leave the coffin.

We need to step the ash in front of the door before entering the house

This is what we usually do when we are at a funeral. We need to step ash, which means "pagpag" leaving everything and believe it is the only one the dead spirit will not come into our house. Some usually go to another place just before going home to make sure no spirit follows.

Change our clothes before sleeping

Sleeping in the same clothes from the funeral is not my thing because when I don't change I feel like someone is with me or watching me which makes me feel unsafe and somehow afraid.

Sponsors of JustMaryel
empty
empty
empty
Thanks a lot❤

Recent Articles:

JustMaryel sending you Love❤

8
$ 0.07
$ 0.03 from @Idksamad7869
$ 0.02 from @MoonTrader
$ 0.01 from @Usagi
+ 1
Sponsors of JustMaryel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JustMaryel
1 year ago

Comments

Lahat to pamahiin din namin dito sa Manila eh. Nadala na siguro ng mga matatanda din.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Those are superstitious beliefs. They are mostly common in province, haha. Just funny how the beliefs of the ancient people lasted in the 21st century. My parents would actually reprimand us everytime we discuss things as these. I am beyond grateful how they molded us to not possess and apply superstitious beliefs in our life, especially when we grow up. Nice context! Stay safe and see you around.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Daghan na gani kaayo tag beliefs ye ayyy, ang uban dapat muhapit sa laing balay before muuli

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Even if it is a sign of respect I can't look at the coffin. I can't. It makes me imagine the face when I am about to sleep. These are all the beliefs I have known eversince and we follow this one strictly.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

These funeral beliefs sound horrible to me Mary. Whenever I hear or see a funeral, it feels like I want to hide my eyes aside from the painful feeling but I am really scared. Even looking at the wake. It seems so hard for me. I cannot sleep at night if I will be looking at the coffin. This article is so interesting and well wwritten. Thank you for this mary. Smiles and winks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago