Needlecraft : Water Jug Cover

8 100
Avatar for Judith1969
3 years ago (Last updated: 2 years ago)

Article #14.

Oh boy... how glad am I to have seen this community. Thanks to @wakeupkitty for directing me to this community.

Crochet has been my hobby for many years now. It is my means to free myself from stress after a hard day's work at the office. This hobby has eventually became a small means of other income as more and more friends come to love my work.

I have received several request of items they want me to crochet and one of them is the 5 gallon water jug cover. I was hesitant at first as I don't find any free or paid patterns available on the net. But I am not the kind to surrender.

I bought an empty water jug container and made my own pattern. There were several frogging before I finally was able to get the exact size that will perfectly fit the bottle.

At first, I started with simple designs. Like this one below, fast and easy to crochet.

I think I have delivered more than ten of different colors for this design. Sad to say I didn't take a picture of the step by step tutorial. I'll try to make one if I get another commission for this design. Though I was able to write down the pattern. Should you want the pattern, just comment down below. I would love to share it here. I tried posting it at ravelry, but there are just a lot of questions that I don't know the answer.

Every time I finished one I always posted it on Facebook, so friends who saw this would also order. This is the perfect medium for advertising your products.

But then, there are those who prefer their own design, so the next picture was made. When I posted this, an office mate asked me to make her one too but the flowers were all in orange color.

Then there are just some who would really try my creativity by sending me a picture of what she wants and want me to copy the design using her favorite colors.

So the one in the next picture was made.

I am not going to accept commission of the same design as above, it was really a challenge and I haven't written down the pattern.

I am grateful to @marblely for creating this community. I hope my posting here is welcomed.

Let's get crafting.

❀❀❀

6
$ 0.16
$ 0.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @wakeupkitty
Sponsors of Judith1969
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Judith1969
3 years ago (Last updated: 2 years ago)

Comments

Hi! Any chance you still have the pattern for this?

$ 0.00
8 months ago

This is beautiful @Judith1969! Thank you for posting to the community! You are the first (besides me :D). I have not seen water jugs like these before but your crocheted covers are very neat and pretty. I am guessing the valve to release water is at the bottom? I like how you added the crocheted flowers on them and the last one with the granny squares, that is very pretty. Why was it a challenge for you? I can't wait to see your other works. Do you get commissions often? And thank you @wakeupkitty for pointing you to this community :) Yes, lets get crafting! <3

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks @marblely. As to my cord holder tutorials, I don't know how to change the community. Can you show me how? Thanks much.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oops.. sorry. I think once a post is accepted by the community, there is no option to change. I thought it was possible. Nevermind, for your future ones :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are welcome. I think you two are at the right place here. I hope more will follow. πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you @wakeupkitty <3 I hope so too. I do love reading and seeing projects like these. Initially I thought there were a few but the more I read them, the more I doubted their work and am quite glad they didn't join.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are really fast. What a great article you made and great designs. I can imagine ir's a challenge to try it out but you can be proud of yourself. I am looking forward to see more. πŸ‘πŸ»πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good handcraftsπŸ‘ˆ

I already subscribed your id. Now your turn,please SUBSCRIBE BACK me dear πŸ’ Thank you.Take loveπŸ’˜πŸ’˜πŸ’˜πŸ’˜

$ 0.00
3 years ago