An Unplanned Trip

2 21
Avatar for Judith1969
2 years ago

June 1, 2021

My sister has been living in Manila since her college days as she has been a scholar at UP Diliman under a sponsorship of Equitable Bank (now known as BDO). Right after her graduation she went to work at Equitable Bank in Makati. After her stint in Equitable Bank, she transferred to ANZ Bank. She met her husband in Manila and has been living in Cavite for quite some time. She quit her job as it was so stressful and went back home to Cebu.

Since she spent almost half of her life in Manila, she thirsts of what Cebu has to offer. She loves to go on road trip during weekends, yeah, weekends only as she is again employed with BDO in Cebu.

On April 4, 2018, Wednesday , she suddenly called me at my office to tell me that the coming Monday is a holiday as it is Araw Ng Kagitingan and can we go to Bantayan Island for the weekend. We can have our rest on Monday, the holiday.

Bantayan Island is located at the northern part of Cebu and it takes 3 ā€“ 4 hoursā€™ drive to reach the pier and another hour by ferry boat to reach the island.

She wants to start travelling on the evening of April 6, Friday so that we can catch the first ferryboat on Saturday morning that leaves at 3am.

I donā€™t usually go on long travels without proper planning. I have to have everything in order before a long trip like food to prepare, clothes to wear, reserve a place to stay, medicines to bring and miscellaneous things to do before the trip. I even have a checklist for all of these and tick each item if they were already inside my bag.

This time I have to cave in to her request as she really wants to visit Bantayan Island even if I am not ready. I have been there with my officemates before while she was still in Manila so it was okay for me if I wonā€™t go there. But I was also thinking of my kids who has not been to Bantayan Island also.

Another reason is that we were going to look for a long lost family friend who lives in Bantayan Island. You see, my grandfather was a businessman and he has a store in Bantayan. When he was old and can no longer go on long travel, he gave the store to his most trusted employee and a family friend, Manang Vilma.

The last time we saw Manang Vilma was when my grandfather died and that was ages ago. Manang Vilmaā€™s family visits us from time to time and often stayed at our house when they came to Cebu. And again that was long time ago. There was no more contact, not even a phone call.

My complaints of not being ready falls on the deaf ears of my sister. She said that she will "take care of everything". And that means I have to get ready or we will go hungry. I made sure that I have enough funds with me for emergency cases.

I went on a shopping spree for some chichirya and something to munch on during our long drive. Me and my kids went to her house as she will be bringing her pick-up. We left at around 11pm on April 6. The drive was smooth as there was no traffic anymore at that time though there were still a few cars travelling with us. When we reach at the outskirts of the city, that is when the cars have become fewer and fewer. The road has become darker and eerie. There were only few streetlight and they were far in between. It was only me and my sister who were awake as the kids at the back were sound asleep.

Sometimes a fast speeding car caught up with us and we were relieved to have a companion but when they overtake us, we were then alone again on the streets. Ā Then there was another car that caught up with us. He didnā€™t overtake us. If we slowed down he also slowed down. If we move fast, he also move fast. We were so worried already as we cannot see any houses nearby.Ā  So my sister drove so slowly that the car at the back has no option but to overtake us. This time we made sure that we will not be alone at the road so when the car ahead of us drives fast we also moves fast, if he drives slow, we were just behind him too. This game made me and my sister wide awake until we almost reach the pier. We made various stories with the car driver ahead of us. The car ahead of us made a right turn then but we were going straight. So we were alone again on the road but it was only a few meters from the pier.

When we reach the pier, we were just in time for the first ferry to leave. After paying our fares, we then get inside the ferry, car and all.

We reach the pier of Sta. Fe a few minutes past 4am. It was still dark. We donā€™t know where to go as we donā€™t have any bookings. Glad that we have Google map to guide us though. With the help of Google map, we were able to arrive at Sta. Fe Beach Club. We have to wake the guard up so that we can be directed to reception and only to be told that they were full.

We search again and again for a resort to stay but all were full. We totally forgot that it was still summertime and Bantayan Island is one of the places to go to during summers.

So we just keep on driving near the shores when in one of the streets, a man was waiving at us. We did stop when we get near him but we made sure that all the doors were locked and rolled the window down just a little.

He asked if we were looking for a place to go and that he has a room and it was just the house behind him where he was standing.Ā  He looks respectable enough so we checked the room. We locked the children in the car just to make sure.

And true enough, the room was quite huge with a huge bed. It was okay for him if the 8 of us stays in one room as it was the only room not occupied. We learned when morning comes that the second floor were fully rented out.

The room was only a few meters walk to the public beach so it was quite convenient.

We just slept for two hours and then morning comes and we donā€™t have anything for breakfast. Ā We only have our chichirya, so I have to go out and scout for breakfast. Luckily the owner of the house has a sari-sari store at the side. They were willing to cook for us our breakfast which compose mainly of rice and egg. They also have coffee, so at least I have my cup for the day.

After our short sleep, we were ready for the beach. We were lucky again that there were clouds above that hides the sun as we donā€™t have any cottage to stay on. There were also a few coconut trees that can give us a little shade. The sands were so fine and white. It is so nice for walking in barefoot.

My son, Zander, enjoy the white sands

Lunch is again another problem. So I left the gang at the beach and look for where I can buy our lunch. Upon scanning the road, I saw some smoke and was told that they were selling barbecues so that is where I went. I bought plenty as I am sure that they will be hungry after frolicking at the beach.

After lunch they went back to the beach again for another round of swimming.

Our dinner was again barbecue. And breakfast on Sunday morning was again egg.

There was no swimming on Sunday morning as we planned to go to Bantayan Public Market to search for that long lost friend. When we reach the market place we were glad to see that there is a church, The Saint Paul and Peter Church, it was a very old church which dates back in 1800ā€™s. We were able to hear mass and we started our search after that. We first ask a vendor outside the church if they know of Manang Vilma and another vendor after that. Luckily the second vendor knows Manang Vilma and she directed us where to find their house.

We went to where she directed us but got lost at first. After a few queries from people at the side of the street, we were able to locate their home.

We were informed that Manang Vilma has passed away. We were sorry to hear that but still happy to see some of them there. We were treated with lunch of dried boneless dangit of which Bantayan is well known for. Made a tour at the Bantayan Dried Fish Market and bought some to take home with us.

We were successful in our search and even have communications now thru Facebook.

We went back to the beach after that and the whole afternoon was spent at the beach.

We toured the place late in the afternoon after their beach time to look for a nice place to have dinner. At least we were able to eat decently at least once during our stay there.

One more dip at the beach early Monday morning as we were already going back home.

After settling our bills for the accommodation, we were off to the pier to start our long drive home.

Summarizing everything, the "leave everything to me"ā€¦ do you think it was true? The leave everything to me is only for the drive and the boat fare. Everything on the island is my expenses even the accommodation and the stress of looking for something to eat.

On our drive back home, we have to stop at McDonaldā€™s to have our lunch and itā€™s on me again.

That is why I never trust her ā€œleave everything to meā€. It pays to get ready.

Thanks for dropping by.

šŸ§”šŸ§”šŸ§”

Lead image shows my kids, niece and nephew trying to build sandcastles in the sand.

Ā 

Ā 

Ā 

4
$ 13.95
$ 13.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Idksamad7869
$ 0.02 from @charmingcherry08
Sponsors of Judith1969
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Judith1969
2 years ago

Comments

Haha enjoy your trip i also want unplanned trip like this but never gonna happen in my life

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Once this pandemic ends, try to have one. šŸ‘

Thanks for the upvote. šŸ˜˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago