What Was The Greatest Thing You Did For Your Family?

9 40
Avatar for Jonjonjon
2 years ago

Last May 30, 2021, I decided to ask a very sensitive question to a channel on noise, which is "What was the greatest thing you did for your family?". I got a total of nine (9) responses, and in this article, I will be sharing with you these nine stories.

Since I posted the question on a Filipino channel, therefore expect Filipino responses (Filipino language), but don't worry because I will be translating their story base on my understanding and with the best that I can.

I know most of us did something for our family, big or small. And these things vary in different aspects. I hope You get inspiration from these nine stories from different people.

aedengrey's story

"Yung Pinili Kong ihinto at mag resign as trabaho para bantayan at alagaan AnG nanay ko na may breast Cancer.. Oo Mahirap kasi ako nga breadwinner mg pamilya sayang ang mga kita ko na pandagdaga Sana ng gastusin sa gamot ni nanay.. Pero. Wala akong magagawa kasi walang mag aalaga sakanya.. Pabalik Balik kami ng Hospital ng kami Lang dalawa.. 8months kaming ganun Hanggang hinsdi na nakayanan ng katawan nya ang Pag chemotherapy.. Kinuha na siya ng Panginoon Sept. 27,2018. Pinaka worst nga nangyari sa buhay namin tapos october 17 2019 sumunod tatay namain..sobrang sakit Lang kasi dipa kami nakamove on as pagkawala ni nanay.. Sumunod ulit si tatay."

Translation:

It would be when I decided to stop working, I resign from my work to take care of my mother who has breast cancer. Yes it was hard because I served as the breadwinner of the family, the salary I'm supposed to earn to support the family or for her medication are lost, but I got no choice because no one will take care of her. We are back and forth to the hospital just the two of us for 8 months until she was unable to cope with the chemotherapy. She passed away last September 27, 2018. And it was the worst thing that happens to our lives, then last October 17, 2019, my father followed my mom to heaven. It's just really painful cause we haven't moved on yet with the loss of our mother, yet my dad followed.

ZavKurt's story:

"Pinakamalaking bagay na nagawa ko? Hmmm siguro ung pag tanggap sa step father ko, kahit malaki na ako nandito pa din ung sakit sa dibdib ko. Nag hiwalay kasi sina mama nong 2 years old palang ako tapos grade 1 ata ako nong nagkaroon ng asawa ulit ung mama ko. Mahirap tanggapin, may mga time na nasusumbatan ko si mama dahil don feeling ko kasi ichapwera na ako sympre may bagong pamilya na siya. Hanggang sa nag ka baby ako don ko na realize kung bakit nagawa un ni mama. Kaya ang pag tanggap sa step dad ko ung pinaka malaking nagawa ko kasi never ko na imagine na matatangap ko siya."

Translation:

The greatest thing I did, I guess, was accepting my step-father. Even though I'm already a grown-up man, the pain is still here, buried in my heart. My biological parents separated when I was only two years old and I was in first grade when my mom found someone new. It is hard to accept it.

There are even a time where I blame my mom cause I feel like I was being ignored because she already has a new family until I became a father and realize my mom's reason.

And accepting my stepdad was the biggest thing I did, cause I never imagined accepting him to be my mom's new husband.

Marga01's story:

"Yun Yung time na mas pinili Kong huminto sa pag aaral Kasi Hindi na makapagtrabho Ang itay dahil sa operasyon. Sa edad na 13 yrs old lumuwas Ng Cebu at namasukan bilang katulong upang magkaroon Ng pera para sa pamilya. At tinustusan Ang pag aaral ng aking kapatid hanggang siya ay makatapos."

Translation:

it was when I chose to stop my education, because my father can no longer work because of some operation. At the age of 13, I took courage and the risk to go to Cebu and applied as a housemaid to earn and to support my family. I also supported my sibling's education until they finished their it.

Yhani's story:

"I think malaking bagay na nagawa ko is mag excel sa larangan na kinukuha ko kahit kinakapos minsan. Pag narinig kasi apelyido namin, "magaling sa math" or "matalino" agad ang masasabi. Diko na naman sila na fail jan. I think proud sila sakin to the point na may tarpaulin nung nag top ako sa board exam. Never ako naging pabigat since hindi ako maluho. Naalala ko never ako nagkaroon ng rubber shoes nung high school pero okay lang . Importante nakapagtapos. Isang uniform din buong College. Naglalagay lang ako ng mini jacket para medyo maayos tignan Napagawa ko na yung tiles ng lababo at napagawa na din slab na bahay This year, hoping na makapasok sa isang permanenteng trabaho para lubusang makatulong."

Translation:

I think the greatest thing I did was excelling in the course that I'm taking even though sometimes I'm lacking. When people hear our surname people think "good at math" or "smart", I know I never failed my parents on that matter. I think they are even proud of me because they hanged a tarpaulin when I happen to be at the top of the board exam. I have never been a burden cause I am not that materialistic type of person, I could vividly remember that I never had rubber shoes when I was in high school, and that's okay. What matters is that I finished high school. Even when I'm in college I only have a single pair of uniforms, I just wear a mini jacket to make it look good.

Fortunately, I was able to fix some parts of our house, and this year, I'm hoping to land a permanent job to fully support the family.

RAJdMan's story:

"wala akong magawa dahil kami ay mahirap lamang. minabuti kong magtrabaho para matulungan ang mga mgulang ko pra mapa aral ang mga kapatid. sa awa ng Dyos nakapag tapos sila ng vocational course. ito lang kasi ang madaling matapos at mapagkikitaan agad. sa ngayon dalawang kapatid ko ang nasa abroad, isang master baker at isang mekaniko. ako? di nag aral kasi ako ang naiwan para sa magulang namin at ako na din ang nagpapatakbo ng munting sakahan na naipundar ng mga kapatid ko. at ito ang pinaka masarap sa pakiramdam, sa akin nila ipingalan ang titulo ng lupa na nabili nila. marami pa daw sila mabibili habang malakas pa katawan nila magtrabaho abroad. Minsan sakripisyo lang kailangan para maabot mo ang pangarap sa buhay."

Translation:

I can't do anything because we're just poor, but I chose to work to help my parents and to support my sibling's education. And in God's grace, they was able to finish a vocational course, a vocational course because I know it's easy to achieve and you can use it in finding a job. And now, two of my siblings are abroad, one is a master baker and one is a mechanic. And me? I didn't finish education, I was left home to take care of our parents, and I'm also the one taking care of our small field founded by my siblings, and guess what? the title of the property was named after me and they said that they could get some more while they're still working overseas.

Sometimes, all you need is a sacrifice to reach your goals and dreams in life.

cyredawn's story:

"Hmm ...Ito siguro yung panahon na nabuntis na di pa tapos Ang pag aaral ko sa college .I choose na ipagpatuloy Ang pagbubuntis ko kasama Ang husband ko ngayon at bumuo Ng pamilya. Although na disappoint ko Ang nanay at papa ko pero masaya ako na nakabuo ako ng sariling pamilya ko .Kahit na kapalit nito ay Ang pangarap ko na makapag tapos at makapagtrabo sa Canada mas pili kong ipanganak siya at nagkaroon ng pamilya."

Translation:

hmm, it would be when I got pregnant without even finishing my studies, and we took the responsibility of our mistakes. I know I disappointed my parents but I'm happy that I was able to build a family of my own.

I chose to give birth to him and build a family even though it means that the opportunity to finish my studies and the opportunity to work in Canada will be put to waste.

Derbyshire's story:

"Ang malaking bagay na nagawa ko sa Pamilya ko is yung nag paraya ako kasi di kaya na pagsabayin ng magulang namin na pag aralin kaming lima kaya ang ginawa namin nag stop kami ng 4 years at ngayung graduate na ang aking ate kame ngayon Ay nag aaral na at kame Ay 2nd year college na."

Translation:

The greatest thing I did for the family is letting my older sister finish her education first before us because our parents can't afford to send their five children to school together. So we stopped for four years until our older sister graduated and now we're back to school and we are now in second-year college.

0932santos' story:

"hi im bryan gusto ko lang ibahagi sa inyo yung pinaka malaking nagawa ko sa pamilya ko at yun ang napag aral ko yung dalawa kong kapatid ng high school till collage yung isa nkatapos na isa patapos na kaso nagkapandemic kaya nahirapan ako kse yung pasok ko alternate dko sila kyang pagsabayin kpag alternate ang pasok pero yun nga kinakaya pa din any way yung nga po ang simpleng malaking bagay na ngawa ko sa pamilya ko hejehe salamat po."

Translation:

Hi, I'm Bryan, and I just wanna tell you that the greatest thing I did for my family was, I was able to support two of my siblings in their education from high school to college. One of them has already graduated, while the other one is about to graduate as well, but due to this pandemic things seem to be rough and I find it hard to support them both cause my job changed in schedule, and the working days has been decreased. But still am trying my best to support them.

emz0012's story:

"Back on my college days, syempre gusto ko 4 years course ang kunin ko it's either bs tourism or bsba, pero sa kasamaang palad nagsabay kame ng kuya ko at kelangan kong mag give way, 2 years lang daw dapat ang kunin ko. Ayoko man pero no choice, sabi nila hrs nalang kunin ko, ayoko talaga nun pero hindi yun naging dahilan para pabayaan ko pag aaral ko, ginawa ko padin ang lahat para matapos yun ng may matataas na grades. And luckily nakatapos nga ako pero wala di ko talaga sya gusto kaya di ko din magamit sa pagwowork. Siguro pag may chance na makapag aral ulit, mag aaral ulit ako."

Translation:

Back in my college days, of course, I want a four-year course and it's either BS Tourism or BSBA, but unfortunately, I need to give way to my older brother cause my parents can't afford to send us both at the same time. And they said that I should only take a course good for two years which is HRS, and I got no choice but to take it cause I don't want to neglect education. So I still did the best that I can and was able to finish it with good grades. But I don't love it that's why I can't use it in working, maybe when I had a chance I will study again, to pursue something close to my heart.

Conclusion

Each one of us did something great for our family; we sacrificed, we let go, we accept, we gave way, and we took responsibility. Some stories are broadcasted and some are silent, but one thing is for sure, that these stories of ours will keep us grounded and sane; grounded in the sense that even if we become successful and live our dreams, it will remind us of our humble beginnings because in the period of living your dreams you might get lost, and groundedness will keep you sane.

I hope you got some inspiration from the stories shared by our nine brave friends.

Sponsors of Jonjonjon
empty
empty
empty

Source:

lead Image: https://unsplash.com/photos/KhStXRVhfog

GIF: https://i.gifer.com/sEU.gif

8
$ 0.19
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.09 from @meitanteikudo
Sponsors of Jonjonjon
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jonjonjon
2 years ago

Comments

no worries.... God is great... just hope and do effort... Please friends sponsor me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything my family does to me is considered as greatest.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How about you? What did you do for your family? ☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are all inspiring and very touching. But what about you? What was the greatest thing you did for your family?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for asking, I think the greatest thing I did for our family is holding on; keep believing that this family of ours will not be broken apart.

You just gave me another topic to write on sir, I will share the full details in my next articles.

Thanks by the way for the support 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No worries. :) Alright. Looking forward to it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks sir 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako? .siguro yung ginive up ang sariling kagustuhan para lang sla matulungan. Since nag grad ako ng college, work work na even until now. D ko nga alam kelan matatapus to 🤣🤣 gang sa pagtanda cguro. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe, it's okay to give back to our love ones ate, pero dapat balance, yung kagustuhan mo, yung sarili mo binigyan mo rin.

Likas talaga sa ating mga pilipino ang pagiging family oriented. 😊

Thanks po pala sa support ms. jane. 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago