You Want Better Tips! Here's How:

59 132
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago
Topics: Writing, Tips

Tips for Tips

Tips; image license free from Unsplash

You want better tips

I see many newcomers and a few old-timers bemoan the fact that Rusty doesn't visit them consistently. Also, I read people complaining they do not get enough tips to stay encouraged to continue using this platform or even to write at all.

I have been very fortunate in that I started getting tips almost immediately before I even had any followers. And once I had followers I received EVEN MORE tips and didn't rely solely on Rusty to keep me going.

I understand how intimidating being a new writer is as well as writing on a new platform. I hope some of my advice helps those who really need it.

Advisor; image license free from Unsplash

Write at least 600 words

In order for the AI to consider what you write as worthy of a tip, you must write a full article. On this platform to be considered a full article your story must be at least 600 words. I have seen some articles earn tips with fewer words, but usually, those were written by someone of long-standing here on read.cash.

To ensure your article gets noticed, the longer it is, the better.

Please do not just add nonsense words to pad your word count. That is one way to get reported.

Don't Plagiarize

Another surefire way to get reported is to plagiarize. Once you've been reported for plagiarism and the read.cash powers that be confirm it, you will become ineligible for tips from Rusty. We all need Rusty. Even if your article or comments gets noticed by one of the whales here once or twice, Rusty will be the main source of your tips for a long time.

Add images

Definitely add images to your articles. The easiest way to do this is by going to Unsplash, Pixabay, or Pexels and finding license-free images. Even easier is to add your own photos. I prefer to add my own photos because

1) My own photos allow people a deeper glimpse into my actual life

2) I never have to worry about violating licensing rules

3) I always know exactly how to attribute them

Caption images

It is incredibly important to caption each image. Not just to attribute the creator of the image, but also to let people know what's going on in the image. As of 28 March 2022, I have had some trouble using the read.cash built-in captioning. When I click in the space to add my caption, the area just goes away.

I still manage to caption my photos. How? I simply write a description underneath or next to the photo and italicize it.

Credit images

Copyright Credit; image license free from Unsplash

Plagiarism covers images as well as words. Being branded a plagiarist will very quickly reduce all of your tips. Once Rusty stops visiting because read.cash de-monetized your account, so, too, will humans stop tipping.

Make sure to avoid this situation by always giving credit to the creator of the images you use. If you can't find the creator, but you have used a license-free site such as the one I mentioned above, always be sure to say the images are license-free.

Add quotes

Another good way to make your articles stand out is to add quotes. Never ever forget to credit the quotes!! It is probably best if you use quotes closely related to what you are writing. Since I am giving writing tips, I chose this quote by John Updike, author of Rabbit Run, and The Witches of Eastwick, two of my favorite books.

"We're past the age of heroes and hero kings. ... Most of our lives are basically mundane and dull, and it's up to the writer to find ways to make them intersesting."

- John Updike, WD

Add Hyperlinks

Hyperlinks are a great way to give readers the opportunity to learn more about what you are writing without breaking the flow of the text itself. Also, hyperlinks are another good way of giving credit where credit is due.

German grammar chart; Image license free from Unsplash

Check your spelling and your grammar

This is really important for getting human tips. When a document is very hard to follow due to spelling errors and grammar mistakes, it is far less likely to earn human tips.

It is fairly easy to check for basic spelling and grammar by using Grammarly. It is free and available for use on a computer, laptop, or cell phone. Do keep in mind, though, that Grammarly is not perfect. I am often amused by its suggestions, but sometimes a good old dictionary is the most helpful. If you don't have a dictionary, please do google the word or sentence of which you are unsure.

Note: I am in awe of those of you who are writing in a second (or third, or fourth) language. Your abilities far surpass mine. I haven't consistently written in a second language since I was 13 years old. I doubt I could at this point.

I do still recommend using technology to do more than hit the translate button and then hit publish if you want more and better human tips.

Know your material

One of the most common pieces of writing advice is, "Write what you know." You might think you don't know very much, so you can never be a writer. I believe a better piece of advice is to, "Write what you've researched." If writers only wrote what they know, there would be many more serial killers out there! Think about it.

It is much better to not write about a certain subject than to write about an unfamiliar subject and sound like an idiot. I see this type of writing a lot on platforms such as this one where people feel the need to write about subjects everyone else is also writing about, such as cryptocurrency and Bitcoin Cash.

Two hearts; image license free from Unsplash

Write from the heart

"Write from the heart" is another common piece of writing advice. But what does this even mean? It means to write about things you actually care about. When writers care about their subject matter, readers can tell. I can always tell when people are just writing to get paid and when they are writing about something they either love or hate. Emotions show on the page. Readers can tell!

Submit articles to communities

Communities are a fantastic way to ensure the people reading your articles are engaged and interested in the subject matter. It is very important to ensure your articles are submitted to the proper community. If you are submitting an article about paying your own way through school by working, you don't want to submit it to a community called All Unicorns All the Time.

You can avoid improper submissions by reading the community rules. Reading the rules ensures your article, no matter how well written, is not rejected. As a moderator for a few communities, I can tell you it makes a difference seeing writers with many rejections under their names. Too many rejections and pretty soon that writer is automatically muted.

Rocket boost; image license free from Unsplash

Boost your articles

Get more eyes on your articles by boosting (even if it is only for a small amount). I boost my articles. Even if it is just for a dollar or so. I have found boosting my articles has increased my engagement and followers. An increase in followers is more likely to yield more tips.

I have no proof of this, but I think Rusty might actually visit boosted posts a bit more frequently than nonboosted posts. Human eyeballs on your article are very important regardless of Rusty. And boosting will get more eyes on you.

Increase your engagement

Engaged readers tend to like engaged writers. I know how flattered I felt when @Pantera, @scottcbusiness, and @CryptoMax first noticed me and replied to my comments under their articles. I felt seen. I felt noticed. I gave them higher tips than if they had been aloof and just too cool to notice the little guy.

You can easily increase your engagement by engaging with other writers on THEIR articles. The comments should be thoughtful and indicate you have actually read their article. This means you do need to actually read their article. Simply spewing back a mini synopsis of their article will show you read at least the headlines but doesn't really offer an opportunity for dialogue. You actually have to engage in a conversation about what you just read.

I respond to every comment I am able. Even if it is a simple "thanks." But I don't follow up with every comment by going to their profile and reading their stuff. I don't remember every commentor. If I don't remember you, I can't decide to like you; I can't offer you a bigger tip later on.

Increase your engagement by replying to every comment you get and by reading and commenting on others' articles. Make them like you!

Invite comments by asking questions. It is important to ensure your question is not a yes or no question. Instead of asking, "Do you like candy?" ask "Which candy do you like?"

Above all, do not argue. Don't let your righteous indignation get the better of you. Don't attack. Don't justify. Do not allow your anger to cause you to have negative engagement.

I learned this the hard way. Trust me. If you can't keep your temper in check you may very well regret your words. If you DO say something harsh to someone, be an adult and apologize.

COEXIST; image license free from Pixabay

On religion

I understand the temptation to make comments to people about being blessed, praying to God, and other types of well-meaning phrases. I understand that those whose identities very much revolve around their religious beliefs want to share their beliefs with people.

But.

Evangelizing and proselytizing have a time and a place.

If you want to write about religion, please ensure you are submitting your article to a spiritual or religious community. There are so many people using read.cash from so many countries and religious backgrounds. What to you may be well-meaning could actually be insulting. You just never know.

Some of us have actually had religion and religious texts used as weapons against us. For those of us, religion can be extremely triggering.

If you want better tips from a community as diverse as this one, I recommend leaving all religious language out of your comments and replies.

Write your articles telling your truth. Submit your articles to the proper community. There is nothing wrong with your religion or lack of religion. I'm most definitely not advising you on what to believe or not believe. I am asking you to be considerate of others and as kind as possible to those of different faiths.

I hope these tips on getting better tips help.

Do you have tips on tips? Did I miss something? Get something wrong? Do please comment below and let me know!

26
$ 10.88
$ 10.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.30 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @Judith1969
+ 7
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago
Topics: Writing, Tips

Comments

Finally seen a good article about getting a good tip👍🏽

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you so much for reading. I hope some of it helps.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

thank you so much for this advice. i just visit it because of Jloberiza's article I read awhile back.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

J has some good advice, too!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Both of you has a good article about it sir. Thank you ☺️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're welcome!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is a super nice longing advice for me. Thanks for this piece @JonicaBradley

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You're welcome.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think you have covered quite a lot of good ground here. I agree with 80% of it but won't go into detail about the 20% I might not agree with. lol. Hey, I can always leave that for an article of my own that I can expand on, and then I get more tips from that than I ever would from just my comment alone. 🤣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You know I adore disagreeing with you! But yes. I recommend worrying an article! Be sure to tag me so I can (dia)agree with it. Lol!

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Good guidelines for the new users.Such a important information you share by this article. Thanks a lot.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You're welcome a lot

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very useful tips here for the newbies and a great refresher for the older writers. 👍👍👍

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I always write from the heart and I do not like to compare my earnings from others. We should be thankful that there's a platform like this and it's very rare because nowadays there are so many fake websites anywhere that doesn't even pay for real.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Agreed. I don't like to compare to others, either. And I'm very grateful for all of the writing platforms that have made earning money for writing a possibility.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Space x did great performance. But high cost.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ok

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is a very good advise, sure to use it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hope it helps!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

❤💯yes

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I felt flattered when you commented on my post, Jonica! I don't remember if I commented first, still, I admire you and your work right from the beginning. Moreover, you've helped me a lot, you gave me examples and tips, even wrote an article answering my questions. I don't forget, and I'm always thankful to you.

I have had some difficulties with finding free time lately, but I am always visiting your articles as you are an force of inspiration for every user of read.cash.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Awwwww. Thank you! Always feel free to hit me up on Twitter, too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, I love this post. Thank you for all these great tips you give us. It's true and many times we don't think about it, I mean religion. When we talk about it we think that everyone agrees with us, with our beliefs and tastes, but this is not the case. You have to be very tactful when making these publications. Thank you very much for your advice.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're welcome.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for thw info mam. Its really beneficial. But let me ask you one doubt. Each time i post to a community it shows error occurred. Why is it so? Can you help me out. And these days rusty doesn't visit me to be honest.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm not sure why you would get an error message. I suggest sending an email to hello@read.cash. Someone there should be able to help figure it out. First, though, you might ensure you have joined the community and the community is still active.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks Mam. Will definitely mail them.. The community is active.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Are you following the community rules? In other words, are your stories being rejected by the moderator? Or do you get an actual error message?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mam if you don't mind you just can go through any one of my articles if time permits. I suppose iam following the rules. But i made a mistake by taking pics from google, but sone of them are my own. . But today i was goi g through the legal rules and today i posted a pic from unsplash. Lately my articles are going unnoticed by Rusty. How do we know if our stories are being rejected by moderator s.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You will get a rejection with the reason given.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

How do we know we r being rejected

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If you want to try a test rejection, submit something to the PromptlyJonica community and I will reject it so you can see how it works.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ok

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The moderator of the community will hit a reject button. You will be notified through the little bell at the top of your page. Some moderators will give a reason, others will just reject it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I couldn't agree more. Thank you for reminding us all about this. And what I love the most here is Writing from the heart ❤

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks so much for letting this out ✨👍

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're most welcome.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is like a mini-refresher course, thank you very much for sharing this with us Ms. Bradley. I shall caption my license-free images. I will definitely avoid those topics that might ignite debate.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I wouldn't necessarily avoid any topics. Just ensure that they are placed in the appropriate spot.

Arguing is pointless, but debating can be fun and difference of opinion is what makes the world go around.

Just ask @Porwest ! He and I disagree on just about everything but music and I count him a friend.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

These are the best tips ever. Thank you for this, we are able remind again those do's and don'ts

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're welcome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are all wonderful tips, Jonica. So far, Rusty.havent failed me.yet. though iI got articles that receives just a little more. than a dollar. That's still more.than a dollar more if I posted them elsewhere. Thanks for these tips.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Agreed. Even if an article only gets $0.50 it is more than Facebook will pay you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As a person who is blogging from almost 8 years, I must tell you, you left no stone unturned... great post dear, very useful tips

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm pretty sure I left a few stones unturned based on my outline alone! Hahaha. I had to stop writing or it would've turned into a book!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you were brilliant at it, I wouldn't have surprised if it turned out to be a book haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Eeeeeee. What a boring book! But maybe an idea there.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I seriously don't know if you will be seeing this because my account has being spammed. And I have done all that needs to be done not to get spam before writing an article everyday I first read the rules of Rusty the Bot before writing my article and I still got spam and I can't seem to find where or what I did wrong to get spam. Engagements I get engage in every single article published in my notifications and read and make comments based on what I read, I don't know If one's account is spam can it be unspam because for a week now that I have being spammed I won't be tip by him and my comments are not even visible

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I see your comments. I would send an email to read cash to see if they can figure out why your comments are marked spam/low content.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so very much I will appreciate that, for a second there I thought you won't be seeing my comment but thanks so very much

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm super curious. I always look at the spam comments!! Send the email to hello@read.cash

$ 0.00
1 year ago

On I will do that right away and I just pray is not something serious because I try as much as I can to obey all the rules and regulations here at read.cash

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for all these tips! I just joined read.cash yesterday, and is also very very new to the world of writing articles. Your article definitely helped me a lot!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm glad I could help! Welcome to read.cash, my favorite writing platform!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will definitely take note of that" no to arguing" tip. I just love how upbringing this platform is and thank you for reminding the do's and don'ts😃

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're very welcome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the tip really, it felt good to be reminded of the basics.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're welcome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago