Writing Prompt #5: Questions

Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

I've been thinking a lot about what kind of prompt to use today. I try out one idea and then another. None seem to quite fit my mood at the moment.

I've been left with more questions than answers about what to write.

BAM!

It hit me like a bomb. The answer to my question! It's questions!

I have so many questions in life. I'm sure you do, too.

The main question I have at this exact moment is: why did Unsplash give me an image of a cigar and a Jack Daniels whiskey glass when I searched for "bomb" to use as my next image?

Also, when I was searching for a lead image, why did it give me a dog raising it's paw?

I will never know the answer to that one.

I often think of random questions. Such as: Why is bedroom spelled as one word but living room is spelled as two?

Of course there are the big questions: Why are we here? What is our purpose? What does God look like? Is God even real?

Then there are the little questions: What am I going to wear today? Why is my shirt on backward? Where did I get that bruise?

There are nagging questions: Will I ever be good enough? Will I ever have enough? What happens when I get too old? What is the Market doing? Will BCH Lambo?

I also have many questions about finances: should I use a bot? What are dapps? Are the crypto mining games worth it? When should I sell? Should I buy more?

Of course I always have parenting questions: Did I do well by my kids? Are they capable? Do they love me? Was I too strict? Too much like my own parents? Not enough like my own parents? Did I screw them up?

I have questions as a daughter: Are my parents too old to live on their own? Does my mom have Alzheimer's? Does PaPa take care of his heart? Should I go visit them? If I go visit them should I fly (I'll be stuck there until the return flight) or drive (it takes longer but I can leave any time I want)?

I have mundane questions as a wife: When is he coming home from work today? What will I cook? Will he bring home any funny stories? Will he be in a good mood? Will he be too tired?

I have questions about my animals: Are they healthy? Are their under eyelids pink enough? Is their coat falling out? Do they need more copper? How is my little JuJuB? Do I need to clean inside her ears? Will Joy still be alive when I come outside today? What am I going to do with all this milk?

I'm sure you have many questions of your own. Some may be burning questions. The kind you continue to ask. The kind you MUST know the answer to.

Some questions are silly.

How much wood would a woodchuck chuck if a woodchuck could chuck wood?

What is chucking wood?

Some are rhetorical.

What is the sound of one hand clapping?

Some are crucial.

Did I already salt the food I'm cooking?

Some deal with a potential future.

When will I be able to retire?

Some are about the past.

How did I screw that up so thoroughly?

And there is the best question of all, especially for writers.

What if . . . ?

Prompt

This week, I'd like you to consider the nature of questions. What are some questions you have? Do you have answers? Every wonder what the first question the first person ever asked?

How do you find answers to your questions?

You can go deep or dark or deep and dark. You can go silly and funny. You can answer the questions or leave them for readers to answer. You can write fact or fiction. You can write a poem or an essay. You can set a timer or write for hours. Whatever you like, as long as you follow the 5 rules.

There is no deadline. This is the internet. These prompts will be here forever. You can write about them forever.

Sometimes a with it thought stays with me even after I write about it. Sometimes I may need to write about it again. And again. This is allowed! Even a year from now.

The rules are simple.

  1. Write about questions

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Write at least 600 words

  4. Tag me @JonicaBradley

  5. Have fun!

Note: This prompt series has taken off beyond all of my wildest imaginings. I'm gratified it is so popular. I'm so happy I've been able to encourage and motivate writers to write.

I do try to read each and every article. But. I do have a lot of work to do outside of read. cash. I may not be able to get to your article. This is not because I am uninterested. Rather it is because I am only one me and I just may not have time in a 24 hour period.

Another note: be generous with your tips to each other. If you take the time to read what a person has taken the time to write, give an honest thumb and leave a comment. It may have taken them hours to write. Or just moments. It doesn't matter. They deserve at least a penny. More pennies would be better.

I promise you, you will get back what you put into this platform.

All images license free from Unsplash

QUESTIONS

At least 600 words.

GO!

50
$ 48.90
$ 46.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @Vibration101
$ 0.50 from @Pantera
+ 23
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Thank you so much for inspiring us to write and read articles. I have already published 2 article because it's inspire me to write any stories weather experienced or stories. For now im doing my 3rd article but is not easy for me for I am not really good in writing. If it happend that you click and read my article please reconsider my grammar and constructions of word coz I'm not good at it. Now I am interested about this prompt, but I will gather all my ideas first or I will finish first my article. I hope I can publish it as soon as possible. 😊😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are such an inspiration.....I can't even begin to describe. I've been reading posts on here all day, asking myself the exact same question you posed to yourself. Your article gave me the same 'boom' moment. Thank you for pulling me out of a rut. I'm overjoyed to include myself in this new writing prompt. You mean a lot to me, and I'm grateful for you! :D

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you! It's Monday morning here in Texas. I'm working on the next prompt. How you enjoy that one, too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I'm certain I will!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Joining your Writing Prompt for the first time. Hope I can publish it tomorrow. Hehe

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yaaaaaayyyyyyyy. I hope I get to read it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Writing what if's and why's of my life 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You sure have a lot of questions (pun intended) I try to keep my mind clear of the clutter. You see thoughts do come and go leaving behind footprints. We follow the footprints looking to know where they take us and mostly the water jusy washes it away. I try to channelise towards more practical ones, and ofcourse it's a struggle. I focus on ones where I can do something or create value of some sort. Questions that just tire you down or eat you up aren't worth draining yourself with. Time solves most of them and if it doesn't, it wasn't worth your struggle anyway. Love the piece and your writing style. Cheers

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you. Most of my questions just sort of fly through my brain. The lingering questions, the ones as you say that tire me down, those are the questions I try so hard to avoid. I only ask them out loud when I am in therapy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Writing is pretty therapeutic in itself. At least I can vouch for myself. And yes, we are all good enough. Those are the questions which you should maintain distance from. Happy writing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Writing can be therapeutic, but it can also trigger emotional flashbacks for someone who has gone through a life of trauma as I have. It's about 50/50 whether or will be therapeutic or worse.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sorry to hear that. I know it's not easy to get rid of the demons from the past. We all have our battles. I have had mine too but life is beautiful. For what it's worth, I thank life for the present and accept the past. Traumas can leave deep scars which don't fade so easy. Writing may help to share some of that but remembrance is hard. I wish it only brings you therapy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much, Jonica. These prompts are very helpful in giving us topics to write about. I just posted mine on this. But I wanted to ask you a Question. ;) Why don't you consider creating a community where we can publish the articles related to the prompts? It would be great to see them all in one place.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would LOVE to create a community and, in fact, have tried on several occasions. I have been unsuccessful. I get an error message each time. I only try one a day, several days, even weeks apart. I get the error message, "You are attempting to create communities too quickly."

I'll make a deal with you. If you are able to create a community called Promptly Jonica, and make me Moderator, I will reward you well.

I've contacted hello@read.cash, made comments under the making communities by read.cash. Other people have also tried.

I have been unable.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've tried to do it, but I was unsuccessful as well. I got the same error message. Meanwhile, we could use a topic. The downside is that you can't moderate the articles. But at least, there will be a way to see all together in one place. In the case that you like the idea of using the topic. I've created Promptly Jonica. All my articles are already tagged there. https://read.cash/t/promptly-jonica

I don't expect to be rewarded for this. Your prompts have been very helpful for me. And make me wish to write. That is more than enough :) Have a good night, dear! ♡

$ 1.00
2 years ago

I haven't thought of making a topic. I'll go add mine too the topics.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the alert, Jonica.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You bet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Already done Writing mine 😃

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I'll read it soonest!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll make sure to make an article of this prompt.💕.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I am not finish yet with your last prompt because I'm out of words and now, there's new. I admire every articles you published. It's like I'm reading a book that have thoughts of my mind and never been said to anyone. Plus, I am somehow demotivated right now because of some problem I am facing through that's why I can't finish my next article. Thanks for this! Another great work :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Wow. That's quite a compliment. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I saw many articles about this and i decided to write also 😅

$ 0.05
2 years ago

So many questions but left unanswered in my mind, but i dont know if i can since im new here, but i will try to be in

$ 0.05
2 years ago

And now am thinking a lot of questions. 🤣🤣

$ 0.05
2 years ago

This writing prompt series is a great help. Just like now, I'm not that motivated enough to finish an article. Then I saw your prompt. Now its done. And new ideas popped up as I wrote my article for this prompt. Thanks.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

As i read this article of yours lot of questions are running into my mind. Good idea! Im excited to write and find answers to my questions. Thanks for this idea!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Although I can't answer your all questions. But I try my best to predict the reason of 1st Question. I think Question Word has close relation with Cigar and Whisky. Un splash just like Facebook has analysis of people thinking. I mean you can see the ads and pages on Facebook that we like. The reason behind they analyses all the search report of people on unsplash. As many people relate Question word for Whisky and Cigar brand might be it happen with Unsplash.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I am in already for this. Reading this prompt word, I already have an idea of what to write and I will surely publish. Thanks for always motivating us. Most times, I keep waiting for your prompt word as I wouldn't know what to write on but suddenly I get something to post.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I'm in for this... lots of questions which has been ringing in my mind about life and people. I need to put them to writing.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

So many unanswered questions, it was fun to read, thank you very much, I even managed to laugh with the image of the glass and the tobacco and your question because it appeared if you were looking for something else.

I will join all your challenges, today I will start with the first one and this week I will be up to date with today's challenge.

I've been procrastinating like most everything else in my life, and that's my biggest question why I choose to do things for later if the timing is perfect to do it. Thank you very much excellent week to you.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I always read pennies wrong. Ahhaha 😆😆!

I definitely have many silly questions like,

Is the mosquito whispering something? Ahhaha 😆

Rawr. Thank you!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I'm sooo excited to write an article about this. This will be the first writing event that I will be joining after being inactive for months. :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Another prompts is here and I will make an article for this .

$ 0.05
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

I have tons of questions in my mind right now jonica and most of them left unanswered. I would love to write it soon. Thanks for the prompt 🥰 God bless

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I failed to join the last prompts, let me think if I could find questions worth sharing and write the next day. I'm still busy as of now, so I hope this time I could join. 😄

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Haha I have a lot of this too. Hmm, which ones should I put there.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Count me in.. have a lot of weird questions in my head.. let's see what I can figure it out from.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Wow, am in for this

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This is such a fun prompt. Was thinking for another topic and I suddenly saw this and questions are just popping out in my head right now.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

This one I think is more fun. I love the idea. I remember the song lyrics my uncle used to play with his cassette.

Starting to gather some questions here.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

OMG! new one!! Suddenly, questions cane rushing to my mind. Thanks for this. :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I hope to read your questions and answers, is you provide them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really good read! Apologies for not having time to write the one I said I will do... life keeps me busy

$ 0.05
2 years ago

No worries. You have priorities. Football. Family. (maybe not in that order)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Drum rolls hahaha. So many questions. I love the idea of this and let get get right to work 🥰🥰🥰. Thanks mama.

Stay strong.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Can't wait!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Done 😊😊😊

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Calm down Olacircle hehehhe. I know you've got a lot to write about and ask lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahaha I sure do. I wrote about them already and had to stop so as not to make the post lengthy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. I can imagine searching for images on Unsplash and it will give me what I didn't even search for lol. Images on free sites are limited, more reasons why it has a mix-up of other things lol. By the way, I also have a lot of questions in my head too. Most times rhetorical ones and also ones that are answered later on or some not even yet answered. Nice prompt for this week, I guess I will wrap my head around it before the week runs out. And yes we know you have other work outside read.cash and you also have a home to take care of so it's understood. But if someday this gets huge and you need a team member or help, you can count me in, lol. I will be glad to help. But for now, we enjoy doing what we love doing and that is writing. Happy new week!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

If I ever do get a community made. I'll need help moderating.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure!. And you can use my hand as well 🤭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have tried creating a community here just for the prompt series, but it seems I cannot. I keep getting the same message. "You are creating communities too quickly". I've emailed the team, but no luck.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ouch! I wonder why it is so. Haven't they given you any positive feedback or response?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've gotten no response. Positive or negative. I might try again later today and see if the same thing happens. I'll take screenshots and send another email.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh alright you should do. All the best

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Heya! Another prompt is up! And I love this thing about questions. Definitely gonna join this prompt again. :)

This prompt, it's like a bomb i'm waiting weekly. Can't wait to see this prompt trend again and to the perspective of others about it.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I love reading all the different ideas people have on the same concept.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me too! Aside from i'm enjoying, it's widening my perspective.

$ 0.00
2 years ago