Writing Prompt #21: Wildlife/ Wild Life

Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Wild life. Wildlife.

Whether we’re talking about nature or our daily lives, living itself can be pretty wild.

I’m inspired to issue this wild challenge by a skunk currently residing in my garage. Though my dogs harass it every chance they get, it hasn’t sprayed anyone. Yet. (As I was finishing writing this, I heard a loud bark from outside and smelled a distinctive smell. Our big dog, Angus, got himself sprayed. He also got himself nights in the doghouse instead of the bedroom!)

I’ve been trading wild animal stories with a friend of mine lately and was reminded of a sticky situation.

I’d been painting outside for hours. I was using oils and turpentine. I felt my cat brush up against my jeans and reached down to pet him. He had something sticky and bristly all over his back. I looked down to see what he had gotten into and froze.

I had just petted a skunk. All I could do was say, “Nice Flower. Don’t spray!” I went back to painting and the skunk went back under the house.

I prefer wildlife over most human life. We already know that. We also already know I lived a fairly wild life. I was up to shenanigans at a very young age.

This week’s challenge is all about taking a walk on the wild side. Whether you write about wildlife or wild life is up to you.

Keep reading until the end of the article. I've included some videos for extra inspiration.

Just remember to follow the rules and guidelines.

Rules

Only 5! Number 2 and number 5 are the very most important.

  1. Write anything on Wildlife (nature) or Wild Life (lifestyle)

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Join and submit your story to the PromptlyJonica community

  4. Tag me @JonicaBradley

  5. Have fun!

Guidelines.

These aren't rules, they are suggestions. But they are strong suggestions.


  • Read the PromptlyJonica community rules

  • Write at least 600 words so Rustly will reward you

  • Caption and accredit every image (even your own) - make sure you have the right to use the image. Sometimes an image search on Google will yield images that are license protected. That means it is against the law to use them. Try finding images from Unsplash, Pixabay, or Wikimedia Commons

  • There are no deadlines or time limits. You may write on any prompt, any time, as many times as you want, forever.  Here's a list with all of the writing prompts linked and in order.

  • This is a prompt community and as such will only approve prompt response submissions. I love a lot of the stories that come through but have to reject them because they aren't prompt related.

  • Keep in mind read.cash is a worldwide community and as such hosts writers and readers from every culture. Please save your religious text quotes for spiritual communities geared toward such.

  • Please do not copy and paste other writers' work. If it is just to include the rules and guidelines, that is fine, but don't take credit for someone else's hard work.

  • Use Grammarly or another editing software to check your grammar. Grammarly is free and user-friendly. Unless you have perfect grammar and spelling (if you do, you are the only person in the world ever) you'll need to at least re-read what you wrote. Try reading it out loud. That's how I catch most of my errors. (I need to practice this last one more, myself.

    Here’s some more inspiration:

Lou Reed

The Troggs

Mutual of Omaha Wild Kingdom Intro Theme

Lead and first image Photo by Bryan Padron on Unsplash

20
$ 6.19
$ 5.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @fantagira
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 12
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Thank you very much for inspiration and interesting topic. I wrote an article and I submitted it to your community. The songs at the end of your article also inspired me to write.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh I'm glad someone watched/listened to the songs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this new topic on which I am going to write today,as I was already out of ideas.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're welcome!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now here's A prompt. Your prompts always keeps me going on the platform. Now let's talk about wildlife🙂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

When you make thousands of dollars on your children's books, you can give me a cut!

Or you can hire me as an editor or illustrator. I work for crypto!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also love wildlife and animals, and I always grieve for them because they are so innocent and oppressed and helpless in front of humans.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We got some nontoxic pellets to spread around in the garage that's supposed to drive it away. We also put the dog food in the house so it isn't hanging out in the all you can eat buffet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Owww nice entry. Hmmm thinking about my dog named dark hehe. But if i will submit a entry i think i will think of snakes hehhehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

There's also a prompt on darkness. And a prompt on pets. Many prompts can kind of cross over each other.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Will definitely try this prompt. Already saved it for reference. :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Also, you can look in the article to find the link to ALL the prompts

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's an interesting prompt, I like what you did there, Wildlife/wild life haha.. that's cute.. I neither visited wildlife or had a wild life to write about but am gonna wish everyone who participate good luck because I love your prompts :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

There's always fiction.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

well okay then, will try to come up with something :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How funny about the skunk. Good thing I didn't spray its scent on you. Today my post is about the nature in my garden and I don't think there is anything wild there. Hahaha. A toad is wild?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Have you ever read The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame? There's a part about Mr. Toad taking a wild ride. It became a ride at Disneyland after they adapted the book into a movie. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Wind_in_the_Willows

So, yes. Mr. Toad is wild.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok, I get the point. Hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think now I can write about snakes. 😋

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Serpents! In the TV show, Riverdale the Serpents are a biker gang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago