Writing Prompt #18: If I Were . . .

Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

I sometimes wonder what I would do if, for some reason or other, I was cursed by an evil wizard and woke up as a dragon. Naturally, there would be a way to break the curse.

Here’s where things get interesting.

I imagine I would never want to break the curse because I was a motherf**king dragon, yo!

I could scorch the earth and eat cattle and fly so high and grab the moon in my claws. I could kidnap princesses. I wouldn’t, though because they are too whiny. But I might keep a hobbit as a pet. Maybe two. 

I’d befriend dwarves and start a gambling ring for goats or something. I’d shun the uppity elves unless they made me cookies in a tree all day. 

If I were a dragon, I’d fly across oceans and make love to dolphins and merfolk. 

If I were a dragon I would be in love with myself so hard. But I’d be way smarter than Narcissus. No drowning in my own reflection. 

I would LOVE to wake up as a dragon. So, screw you evil, incompetent wizard!

My imagination soars just as high as I would if I were a dragon. 

For this prompt, I want to try something a little different. I would like you to start your story with, "If I were . . ." and fill in the blanks. Go wild. Imagine you are something completely different to what you actually are. It can be anything.

  • If I were a man/woman

  • If I were an animal

  • If I were rich

  • If I were American

  • If I were a prisoner

  • If I were cheese

  • If I were a dollar bill

  • If I were a cryptocurrency

  • If I were in love

  • If I were a tree

  • If I were a computer program

You get the idea. It doesn't matter at all what you choose as long as it is different to your real self.

And afterward, I'd love you to challenge some people who aren't yet involved in PromptlyJonica or some people who read the prompt stories but haven't written for our community. Make sure to include our rules.

  1. Write anything about distraction

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Join and submit to the community PromptlyJonica

  4. Tag me,@JonicaBradley

  5. Have fun!

Lead and first image license free from Unsplash

*This is the 18th prompt I've written, but there is a wonderful guest post by @CoquiCoin. Visit her profile for her prompt: Lies. Or just follow the writing prompts link.

31
$ 9.89
$ 9.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @Kushyzee
$ 0.05 from @Meyzee
+ 17
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Me parece una propuesta realmente interesante, la apuntate para escribir al respecto. yo sigo una #Dinamicaenespañol pero he visto que otras personas que la siguen también escriben o son parte de otras #Dinamicas. Estaré intentando esta. Gracias por compartir esta excelente idea.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will join this prompt today. Hihihi. Today I will try to make my entry about "If I were..." Hope I am not late for this. Hehehhe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Never too late!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I'm done writinh my entry and I already published . 😊 Thank you so much. 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would be joining very soon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay! Can't wait

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was already short out of ideas, and then I came here to find out an idea to write upon, and find this interesting one.Thank you for always helping us in this way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad that you are now back big sis :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am but I won't be around very often. I have sweet myself a deadline to have a completed first draft of my novel by March 27, 2022. So I'll be doing a lot of writing, just not necessarily here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, good luck with that novel!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you! I will need it. I'll let everybody know when it's ready to be beta read. I'm going to need readers who will read it and give me honest opinions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That would be awesome :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm about making my own If I Were...and Wish to publish to your community later. Hope my brain will cooperate with me hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I look forward to it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow If I were a dragon I just... Fly! I want to have that feeling, I wouldn´t be that destructive so I´d be a friendly dragon unless people piss me off, that way, I will bring hell to earth, but I think I should try to think more about it.

PS: I need to start writing in the community, for real.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Come play with us!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

challenge accepted!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

After careful consideration I'm about to submit my entry to this prompt! Sorry, I was scared to join in lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't be scared!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a fun prompt to write about. Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're very welcome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For sure if it really happened , the wizard would just cry in disbelief and turn you back to human again. I can already imagine that you'll demand the witch to turn you into a dragon again. LOL!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Definitely!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll definitely try to join on this prompt. Mainly, the article about distraction doesn't yet published since I'm a bit lazy to transfer it here. I wrote it on my notebook first, you know.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Writing in notebooks is great. But transcribing it...oof. I don't like that part. Transcribing my hand written stuff did give me the basis for my novel, though

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I were a magician, I will curse this covid-19 virus so we all luve freely as before

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's a good one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I were a plane I will fly to the whole continent..lol The Dragon caught my sight, but its pretty cool, it just an imagination and with the way I'm seeing this , its gonna be an interesting prompt.

I've not joined in your prompt before, but I will give this a trial, yiip expect my article on this 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Looking forward to it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok...nice article!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will join in this prompt, it's very interesting

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Great!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I were a dragon for sure my mother would be Daenerys Targaryen and she would be looking for me ahah

$ 0.02
2 years ago

First of her name.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

An idea just come up to my mind for my future Article. Thank you very muchhh

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are very welcome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"gambling ring for goats", this cracked me up 🤣 I certainly love the idea for this prompt, I will work on my own version of this later. But seriously, dolphins? I need to unsee that line 😆

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Dolphins are dragons of the sea.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What should I desire to be? Looks like Lucifer himself wants to be some majestic..... Lucifer the Devil

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Or, you know, God.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But I really prefer to be Devil. It’s the final concept.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course you do

$ 0.00
2 years ago

After reading this I am almost happy you are not a dragon. lol. Good prompt. It will be interesting to see what people come up with.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It was the dolphins, wasn't it?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Maybe it WAS the dolphins. I mean, such docile and benign creatures that actually enjoy human interaction. Of course you DID say you were a dragon... but still. Who doesn't love dolphins? 🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

If I were a dragon, I would LOVE dolphins.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Many thanks for this idea once again. All of us has If I were in our thoughts...

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Agreed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago