Writing Prompt #15: Beauty

Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

We've all heard the saying, "Beauty is in the eye of the beholder."

And it is. Each of us finds different objects, ideas, and people beautiful.

I wasn't sure what to use for my prompt this week. So I opened my photos folder. I have photos going back through 2008.

I searched for "art" but a bunch of other photos appeared.

The lead and first images are of my husband using an app from my first ever smart phone. I can't remember which app it was.

I find my husband's tattoos very beautiful. I was with him when he got his first tattoo. I hated it. It was some evil looking wizard dude.

He has had that one covered.

I began scrolling through to see what other beautiful things I could find. I'll include images I find beautiful for one reason or other.

I find many things beautiful. Every day objects arranged a certain way.

Some arrangements make a political or societal statement. I collected a bucketful of spent ammunition. I placed a flower in the bucket. I liked the dichotomy of the objects symbolizing death and the object symbolizing growth together. It made the flower than much more beautiful to my eye.

Used bullets and shell casings with a flower

I believe I approach beauty ideals differently than most people do.

Most people fall into the societal norms, whatever those may be. I see beauty everywhere and usually in things society sees as ugly, gross, or horrifying.

A stain on my bathroom floor

I can find beauty in stains. This stain, to me, looks like a little girl. I picture her getting all dressed up in her foofiest, frilliest dress to go play outside in the mud.

I find beauty in death. I keep the skulls of animals. Sometimes they are skulls I've found and sometimes they belong to animals who've died whom I loved so much.

Lamb skull found in the field.
Rodent skull. Probably from a pack rat.

I like to make art from the bones and skulls I've found or kept.

I'm planning on painting and otherwise decorating the many random skulls I have. I suppose I can sell them on Etsy. Or Amazon.

Cow skull in the snow

Of course I create other kinds of beautiful things.

Art piece I made from carved sheetrock and melted crayons.
Nontraditional Christmas card I made on commission.

This week's prompt is about beauty. What's beauty in your eyes? Is it what society tells you it should be? So you find beauty in traditional settings or do you find beauty in the nontraditional settings?

Photo credit: DANKIMREDMANGO

The rules are simple.

  1. Write anything about Beauty

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Write at least 600 words

  4. Tag me @JonicaBradley

  5. Submit to PromptlyJonica

  6. Have fun

Links:

PromptlyJonica community

All the prompts linked in order

Some notes:

  • The onus is upon the writer to ensure no plagiarism.

  • Please keep religion to a minimum. Those types of articles and stories fit better in a spiritual community.

  • There are no time limits to respond to the prompts. You can write on any prompt at any time as many times as you wish forever.

  • Please try to proofread your piece. Run it through Gtammarly.

  • Give as much as you get. Be generous with your upvotes, comments, and tips. For example, I try to tip every first comment at least 3 cents. It used to be 5 cents, but I'm finding myself faced with many more expenses.

  • Read other's work. We're in a community for a reason.

  • Consider sponsoring people. I personally sponser as many people as I can. Even a penny a month is something. And it encourages not only the writer to write but also the readers to read when they see the little squares in the sponsorship bar.

That's it. Go write!

All photos are my own unless otherwise specified.

28
$ 9.85
$ 9.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.06 from @Pearlkel
+ 12
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

I will definitely try this. I kinda like it,

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's an interesting topic, thank you for these prompts and your work in this community, you help me think of a topic to write about. Today is a beautiful day and I might go out and about, by the canal and write about the natural beauty in nature. 😊🌿

$ 0.03
2 years ago

We have different insights about it which makes the word itself BROAD and UNFATHOMABLE. Everything and everyone is a beauty due to its quality.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I agree one can find beauty in even the ugliest of people and things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Beauty is in front of you in everything... I'm gonna try this

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I look forward to it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Beauty is everywhere, it depends on how we appreciate it. I will write about this prompt, thanks for this:)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Beauty is also subjective. Even if others find some things I perceive as beautiful as not, I don't care. To me, it's beautiful, and period. Let them think what they want but my opinion is my opinion.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Perfect.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. And I really agree with that. We have different perceptions about this matter and maybe that makes everything around us more attractive and beautiful in each individuals sight 🤗

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I will write something about this, thanks for the prompt. I find the skull fascinating as well, it looks a perfect art at its normal appearance.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I am fascinated by how you perceive beauty and the cool personality you have.

For me, beauty is all over around us, we just need to see things creatively and positively. I would love to try this prompt and discover the beauty of everything. :))

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I just wrote on beauty before this.....this is interesting. The word cannot be fully over emphasized cuz it's just personal preference or love for nothing. Only if we look deeper we would find that thing that we can call a beauty. I love the image

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. I am similar to you in so far as I can see beauty in things that would appear to others as ugly or even mundane. Skulls are fascinating, I used to have mice and rat skulls when I was a child :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I love skulls. I would really like some of those flesh-eating beetles so I could clean them better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That would be cool, and wouldn't damage them cleaning the skulls.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

They are a wee bit pricey. Especially for now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me, beauty is in my mother's smile, on a quiet day observing the strange shapes of the clouds. I definitely want to elaborate my publication with this topic, even if it is in Spanish I am going to do it. I really liked your definition of beauty, it is interesting to see through the eyes of others.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Beauty remains beauty in all ways. We see differently and extremely exceptional. So, the things you saw today to be beautiful, may be see in someone else's eyes as ugly and vice versa.

There is beauty in the eyes of many.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I liked the image in second frame, to me the flower among the bullets indicates that there is always redemption waiting irrespective of circumstance and that there is life after death. Two meanings I gave it. I liked the christmas card too. I'd finish your last sentence by saying the world without art is boring.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

My beauty isn't your beauty. Everyone gives definition to beauty according to how they perceive it. The ultimate here is to find your beautiful. I have found the real essence of what accrues to me as beauty, and I hope to share in the article soon.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Everyone poccess beauty either outwardly or inwardly. Inward beauty is very difficult to find

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Beauty are those things that satisfies my eyes, and that can make me feel good and happy though it may seems odd to others, and that I think justifies beauty is in the eyes of the beholder.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Agreed!

$ 0.00
2 years ago