Sometimes good sometimes bad

5 8
Avatar for Joewest24
3 years ago

I remember when I was little, I often times wished I was dark skinned, not because I didn't like my skin colour, but living in Africa especially in rural areas and being fair don't go together at all.

Walking through the streets, I would hear the locals making jest of me that I'm different, I was very fair, I am still light skinned by the way. I felt really bad that time, I didn't tell anyone. Whenever we wanna play football, I won't be chosen because they all thought I was feeble and weak, I didn't have the strong African bones needed to fit in. My childhood was really bad. I struggled to get my spot and get my place. I even forced myself to learn what is called "pidgin English" in my country, even though I wasn't trained that way.

I survived the scrutiny till I began highschool. In highschool, the whole story changed. I was the talk of the whole middle school. My skin colour made me stand out everywhere and it was a plus to me. I had the attention of the girls and ever gone wanted to be my friend. Someone once walked up to me and asked, "are you half caste"? I just smiled and shook my head. So the light skin was actually a blessing, some people just didn't see it that way.

What do you possess that some people think is evil but majority think is a blessing?

Leave your comments

3
$ 0.06
$ 0.06 from @Telesfor
Sponsors of Joewest24
empty
empty
empty

Comments

It is unfortunately the case that many people don't like people who looks differently or even those who think differently like themselvs. Many want to be among themselves. They even mock each other or, at worst, attack each other.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I know so many people like that. That's racist on their own small way

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for upvoting

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Wow. Nice piece of writing and Nicely compiled. Skin color has nothing to do with a persons nature or beauty. Allah God creation is beautiful

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's sad that a lot of people will judge you if you are different. But it is always beautiful to be different and unique..

$ 0.00
3 years ago